Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on April 21, 2013
There's less emphasis on the strange (often bad) "joke" cuts that tended to ruin things for me last time, resulting in a sadder and less tightly-interpreted collection of mayhem-packed piratical sea songs (and river songs, and boat songs). This is the kind of thing you know Hal can do but generally only get most of the time on a particular project of his: evocative and well performed interpretations, music for adventurous, intelligent listeners (of a cetain age demo, I'm guessing) featuring many of our musical heroes. Marianne Faithful, you are completely great and can "sell it" like few others are able to. Sean Lennon, good job, you surprised me pleasantly (I've heard other music of yours...stick with Hal) and Ivan Neville, you nailed it perfectly. Many tunes sent me to look up the lyrics. A few wistful selections deal with the loss of a loved one, be them lovers or bosuns, rather than the outright murders and rapes from volume 1. Another bonus is the way the songs appear to be written by them scallawag seamen that lived the life and freely throw the pirate slang around like empty rum jugs (and after a few listening sessions you start talking this way). I thoroughly enjoyed this CD and consider it his best project in years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 9, 2013
The first Rogues Gallery set was a mix of unknown, oddball, and a few big-name musicians doing classic and original sea chanties. It was excellent, and rumors abounded that Johnny Depp and crew had enough material for a second set to back up the first. This is that second set. It's top-loaded with famous talent, losing the quirkiness the unknown and regional artists brought to the first. With that said, this is a real gem. Beautifully produced (not over-produced, and I'm sure it was a strain for the producers to restrain themselves, I'm just glad they did), great songs. Sort of the professional fillip topping off the looser first set. Highly recommended--no household should be without!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2013
In a era of overproduced mass-market music, it's a joy to run across a CD (actually a 2-CD set) that incorporates real music, performed without reverb, backup dancers or pyrothechnics. A distinguished cast of performers give us simple, earthy renditions of songs of the sea, sung as they might have been back in the day of sail power.
While Tom Waits' rendition of "Shenandoah" alone is worth the price of the album, most all of the other songs paint a tableau of life at sea that are easy to listen to while working around the house, but engaging if one wishes to listen closer.
Son of Rogues Gallery is one of those eclectic gems that you'll occasionally pick up, smile as you look at the jacket, and enjoy listening to often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 27, 2015
Really interesting album. I like the modern treatment of classic sea shanties. There are some true classics on it. Rolling Down to Maui by Todd Rundgren, Leaving of Liverpool by Shane McGowan, Wild Goose done by Broken Social Scene are just a taste of the great versions on this record.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 3, 2013
The artists on this are an amazing line-up, and there are certainly a few standout tracks (the Tom Waits is superb). However, given my high expectations based on the first volume, this doesn't measure up. Perhaps it's just a slow grower -- perhaps it's that there are a couple real misfires -- perhaps it's just that nothing could top the many instant classics on the first album. I'm happy to have picked it up, but the urge to listen and re-listen just isn't as strong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 3, 2017
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 22, 2013
This great 2 cd set has so many great artists..Shane MacGowan ,Patti Smith,Tom Waits with Keith Richards,Iggy pop.Michael Stipe& Courtney Love,Marc Almond,Dr.John,Todd Rundgren,Robyn Hitchcock,Beth Orton,Richard Thompson,Marianne Faithfull,Johnny Depp,Frank Zappa,Ivan Neville and more!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 31, 2014
Not as much fun as the original
No regrets on the purchase
But the 1st one I know by heart and play
Loudly in the car as I sing along
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2013
I bought this item because my family attends "pirate" camping events. Played it in the car on the way there, and played it in a boom box while setting up camp - other camp members liked it as well. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2014
If you liked Rogues Gallery you will enjoy this one. And you will enjoy some of the top musicians in the business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse