Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 36 reviews
on October 8, 2014
It is not news that Walt Whitman has something to say to those you read poetry for fun or to learn more about poetry. This book is being used by a class on-line that is free from Univ of Pennsylvania www.coursera.org. It is a study of Modern and Contemporary American Poetry from 1850's to 1950's. Whitman was one of the primary poets used to introduce us to Modern Poetry starting to unfold in the USA.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2014
I like the cover of this book, and the idea of this poem published by itself, but a huge red flag went up for me when I saw a typo on the back cover. "Song of Myself by Walt Whitman is one the must read Walt Whitman poems." There is no copyright info or publisher info within the book. I'm now wondering if there will be other mistakes within the text. If I'd known this, I would have chosen to buy another version. The book would be better with some editing and publishing information.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2016
I read Song of Myself a year ago during an an online Modern Poetry class and again the year. There is so much to take from his poetry.

The verbal written visuals of nature, people, the reflections of his world are the successes of his Poetry and so much more.

He is the turning point along with Emily Dickinson as the Birthers of Modern Poetry. This is a great read, time after time, after time. 😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
I've had this pocket edition of SOM for at least 25 years. It has held up beautifully and the acid-free paper has kept the pages looking bright white. It is a wonderfully conflated version of several editions of SOM. Its small size makes it easy to follow Walt's encouragement to "read these leaves in the open air every season of every year of your life".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2013
I was delighted to find a "carryable" copy of my favorite poem in one book. I plan to commit the work to memory, so having a light, single poem copy makes it easy to take everywhere I go . The cover alone was worth the price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2015
LOVE THESE LITTLE BOOKS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
Whitman's writing is nothing short of miraculous! He captures the connection between himself and Everyman describing metaphorically the great chain of being.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
Excellent! Just read it in one go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
Walt Whitman was such a beautiful poet! This book shows his readers how much he was influenced by the world around him. It's a truly remarkable read and I'm glad that Dover is making it accessible to everyone at such a great price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
The book came quickly and in EXCELLENT condition, but the book itself was not very pliant and made reading comfortably difficult. Reading is not about comfort though, it is a commitment to something greater than that, so overall, very nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse