Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: A Song's Best Friend - John Denver Remembered
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Joseph Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
90
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 4, 2005
Of all the bio's or rememberance documentaries done on an artist, I have to say this was the best of all that I've seen! It was very insightful covering what inspired John to write certain songs, what was happening in his life during the times he was writing them, and gave a well rounded perspective of his life and career taken from his own narratives as well as those who knew him personally or worked with him through the years. A definite "Must have" for any John Denver fan!!!
11 comment| 156 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2005
John Denver was a special musician and tunesmith who wrote and sang his music in such a pure form that it's almost critic proof. This doc is not full of info or even told in a linear fashion but is more a remembrance of the feeling John Denver created in those who knew the man and loved his work. While watching it I was instantly transported to a much more innocent time in my life. Denver's music has always struck a spiritual cord but is never dogmatic. It's the kind of spiritual that anyone can partake in and wind up feeling more human. This is a must companion to any John Denver collection.
22 comments| 184 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2006
Overall I liked this production/documentary of John Denver's life. The DVD chapters aren't chronological, but rather each attempts to address a different aspect of his career (for example, some of the chapter titles are "A Steward of the Earth," "The Embodiment of Love," and "The Showman"). There are also many interviews with the people who knew JD best, and this helps to weave the chapters together.

However, I did realize eventually that this DVD covers mainly JD's RCA career, which ended around 1986. That might be because the vast majority of his hits came from the 1970s, but even the concert footage included on the DVD (four songs) are from the 1970s and early 1980s. There is nothing here from 1986 to 1997 (the year he died). While that's not absolutely necessary, I suppose, it felt to me like it was lacking something.

Still, despite this, I enjoyed the program. And most Denver fans will too. Artists like Denver don't come around very often.

Four stars.
0Comment| 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I believe "Take Me Home, Country Roads" was the first song I ever heard John Denver sing. Or it may have been "Sunshine On My Shoulders." For a lot of us of Denver's generation, we remember the first time we heard a particular song, its association with friends, some long since dead, others a long time missing. Many of the biggest hits are here of the man who exemplifies the best of America. He warmed us with his beautiful music; he cared about the earth. Surely he was the great O Positive. Who else would have been so at home singing with artists as different as Johnny Cash and Placido Domingo?

In addition to footage of John singing, there is also commentary by him about his songs and his love of nature as well as interviews with John's wife Annie, some of the musicians who played with him and others in the music industry. In a particularly moving segment Annie remembers all the unusual places she has heard "Annie's Song," from a square in Venice to an elevator in Japan. Someone else comments that Wagner had one piece of wedding music while John had two!

Looking at this DVD once again, as always I am amazed at how John Denver seemingly never aged. Of course now he belongs to the ages although he left us far too soon. It is useless to speculate about how many other great songs he would have written as he became older and more venerable, the elder statesman of the folk/pop world. Near the end of this not-to-be-missed tribute to John Denver, his wife comments softly that "we miss him." She speaks for thousands of the rest of us in that nostalgic, sad moment.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2006
It is still difficult to realize that a voice that helped define music of the 70's and 80's was silenced so tragically. What a loss! This retrospective video does justice to who John was as a person and a musician. It will be especially appreciated by his many fans. If, like myself, John Denver--his work and his humanity--meant something to you, you will want to own this video. I recommend it.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2005
A very special presentation of an excellent musician,performer and humanitarian who touched so many lives so deeply. I never tire of watching this dvd over and over again and remembering the joy that John Denver gave, and continues to give, to the world in his music.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2005
the best JD documentary out there. the history of the songs is brought to life by annie and those who worked closely with john denver, and john denver's own narration. video clips of performances from the 70s and 80s flow almost seemlessly together. we have been waiting for this one.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2006
The music in this DVD brought back a flood of memories of the times and places I heard the songs originally. John Denver was a truly gifted singer / songwriter. The best part of the DVD (besides hearing wonderful versions of the songs) was discovering the stories behind how the songs were written. I will watch this one more than once!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2005
a welcome addition to my john denver collection and a must for all denver fans very informative about johns career and music unseen footage is a must, good picture gallery as well
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2011
I am a die hard fan of John Denver and his music and as such,
I'm baffled by all the "5 star" reviews of this DVD; very bad
quality video footage, interesting interviews (especially of Annie
Denver), a ridiculous 7 pic photo gallery, a horribly incomplete
discography, a short but interesting very, very quick visit of John's
Sanctuary in Colorado...it's not that this DVD is bad so much that it is
way too short and incomplete; I suppose you could do hours of footage
and still miss some of his extraordinary career, but 50 minutes to cover
such an important (on many levels) musical giant is almost an insult
to his Legacy; if you buy this DVD knowing it will be a blink of his
masterful career, then go ahead, it's worth a look, but don't expect too much
out of it; for the same price, you can get his awesome Nature Conservancy
concert, very HQ, with tons of good quality video commentaries by John Denver himself;
I hate to pan anything that has to do with John Denver but the producers of this
so called documentary were in a rush to make money or were terribly lazy.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse