Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Songs From Turkish Kurdistan "You Are My Eyes

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, August 20, 2002

Editorial Reviews

With the intention of providing a new and refreshing resource for people who wish to experience the strength and beauty of the distinct Kurdish culture in Southeast Turkey, we have published this new collection of audio recordings titled "Chavê Minî - You are my eyes: Songs from Turkish Kurdistan." This CD is primarily composed of field recordings collected in Turkish Kurdistan during the Summer of 2001 and is supplemented by archival recordings donated by Kurdish record companies in Istanbul. It includes 22 tracks (an approximately 60 minute running time) and a twenty-four page color booklet rich with liner notes and expressive photographs from the region, which provide a beautiful and honest reflection on the music, land, and people of present day Turkish Kurdistan. While the CD presents a selection of diverse musical styles (including various songs of mourning, political songs, and wedding songs), the bulk of the recordings highlight the distinct Kurdish tradition of the ‘Denbêj’ singers, or "Bards of Kurdistan," who have fulfilled their social role of collecting and reciting the history of the Kurdish people for centuries.

This CD bears witness to the beauty of the Kurdish people and supports and advocates their right to speak, sing, write, and learn in their own language and live freely in their land. We hope that our work will lend support to the undeniable distinct and unique nature of the Kurdish people and their culture.

All profits from this CD support the work of Cultural Cornerstones.

The mission of Cultural Cornerstones is to preserve and publish the ethnic traditions of at-risk cultures for use in education and advocacy worldwide. We use arts as a tool to give a voice to the unique beauty of under represented cultures and the struggles they are facing. Through our publications and advocacy campaigns, we aim to encourage awareness, activism, and compassion in the public consciousness to value and protect these people and their threatened traditions.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Dengbej Ismael (Hakkari)
  2. Gede Dino (KOM Records, Serhed)
  3. Dengbej Fadil (Merdin)
  4. Wez Teyr IM (KOM Records, Serhed)
  5. Dengbej Kade (Dilan Stran, Cizire)
  6. Amplified Dilan (Batman)
  7. Field Workers Politik (Diyarbakir)
  8. Cendirme (Urfa)
  9. Erbane Freestyle (Adiyaman)
  10. Dengbej Ewasha (Dargecit)
  11. Dengbej Ewasha (Dargecit, Mourning song)
  12. Bitege Qerejdax (Urfa)
  13. Recordings from Botan
  14. De Bila Bet O Robare (Uludere)
  15. Hat Karwane(Uludere)
  16. Eysha Cane(Uludere)
  17. Eman Sikraye (Ayse Shan, Isa Berwari, Arif Cizrawi-Ciwan Records Istanbul)
  18. Ay DIl " "
  19. Memir Memir " "
  20. Dengbej Ismael and Abdullah (Hakkari)
  21. Dengbej Ismael and Abdullah (Hakkari)
  22. Dengbej Ismael and Abdullah (Hakkari)

Product details

  • Audio CD (August 20, 2002)
  • Original Release Date: August 20, 2002
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • ASIN: B00006JHTN
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,255,974 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

March 22, 2005
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse