Bubble Witch Saga 3 Check out Santa's new ride Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Cyber Monday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheBigSick TheBigSick TheBigSick  Echo Show Cyber Monday Deals: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
40
Songwriter
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$16.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on April 15, 2017
Can't go wrong with willie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2017
I have wanted this movie since I was a child! Wonderful news for me Amazon sold it! Kudos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised by Songwriter. Kris and Willie give great believable performances and there is a lot of real "musician" humor in the story of these two dysfunctional musicians. The songs are so-so and obviously just written for the movie, but there are some high points. Much better than the average "musician" movie, and if you love Willie and Kris like I do, then you will have a pretty good time with this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2013
This has some famous (Willie Nelson, Kris Kristopherson) country musicians who can act. The writer, Bud Shrake, is a Texas boy hisself... he worked with the actors to develop their roles. Most distinctive is Rip Torn, as a corrupt promoter (wait till you hear what he says about sheep) who was often given his head to improvise. Everyone in this movie except for Honey (Willie's wife) is corrupt, but whose side are you on? the promotors or the creative artists?
The movie was narrowly released and sunk without a trace. Now's the time to catch up with it and laugh yourself sick. The music is great too--all written by Willie and Kris
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2017
Horrible movie. Was expecting so much more from two of my favorites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2015
Love this movie! Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson are easy to watch and listen to. The rest of the cast is so strong and helps the viewer get totally immersed in an accurate story of the country music business. The humor is clean and inventive, the script is crisp and accurate. A must have for every music lover's DVD library!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2012
didnt get to watch it came broken and was unable to watch.very unhappy with my purchase and i really want this movie
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2011
If you love Willie and Kris this is the flick for you, just good old fashoined rowdy fun. Fix yourself a drink and enjoy the show. It makes me smile everytime. Nothing earth shattering here, just a good way to spend a few hours enjoying some escapist entertaiment. Willie and Kris are national tresures and the great performance of Rip Torn can not be underrated. Hell fix yourself 2 maybe three drinks and be prepared to laugh your ass off. If you don't enjoy this flick your fun meter is broken !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2012
I loved this movie when it came out in 1984 and loved the music that went with it. (then an 8-track and now a CD). Willie and Kris were the "Outlaws" along with Waylon and Jessi. The acting is o.k. and the story is fun. If you never understood why people always followed Willie and Kris and have only heard them sing now - give this movie a try. You will know why and probably order the CD also - I know I did!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
This is a great story about the inner politics of country music in the 80's. Fairly predictable plot: corporate executives - Bad; artists & songwriters - Good, but look who's in it - Kris & Willie! Lesley Anne Warren also gives a great performance as the "rising star" (& looks as beautiful as ever!). Rip Torn is fantastic! Great movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse