Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sonic Adventure DX Director's Cut
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 10, 2004
There's a lot going on in this game and so many devices and sub-games to keep you addicted. Not so much a DX than an updated version of the Sonic Adventure, from the now obsolete Dreamcast, with better graphics, new missions and loads of extras.
You play the game as seven different characters: Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy, Big the Cat, The Robot Dude and (much later) Super Sonic. The Sonic, Tails and Knuckles levels are the best. The Big the Cat levels are really boring and slow. Each character has their own story and their own power-ups, all happening at the same time. The result is almost an RPG-like game. If this were taken a few steps further who knows how great the game could have been. Though it's still brilliant as it is.
The structure is also genius and easy to get to grips with. As whatever character, you run around massive levels like Station Square and The Mystic Ruins which leads to many different action stages. The action stages can range between casinos, snowboarding, racing through sky-high circuits, go-carting, flying around in Tails' red bi-plane, flying through wind tunnels, chases across the city rooftops and racing across sandy beaches. As always the Sonic world (curiously earthlike and nothing like the planet Mobius from before) is absolutely gorgeous with an exotic feel, eternal sunshine and the bluest of skies.
What I like best about the game are the Chao. The cute little creatures you hatch and raise between levels. They are so great they became my reason for getting through the game. And as a bonus all Sonic games from the old Sega Game Gear are included. Each one is unlocked after every 20 emblems collected (1 awarded after each mission complete and others scattered about levels).
Some parts of the game can be awfully repetitive. Certain FMV sequences were used more than once and there was no point in that. And intros to certain parts of the game took too long and became quite annoying when losing a life and starting again.
The self-controlled camera was cool and useful. Though in cramped quarters it seemed to get stuck and being unable to see the character due to the spasming camera sometimes resulted in the loss of a life. That was quite annoying.
The music is great and I strongly suggest you get all the soundtrack CDs (I did). There are brilliant, fun-loving themes that totally carry the action along. The voices however, were a bit off from the original Japanese lip movements.
A totally brilliant game that you simply must get. Sonic Adventure DX will keep you entertained for ages.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2003
NOTE: This review is based off the purchasable GCN Preview Disc SADX demo, meaning some things may not be in the final version as they are now.
Lemme, just correct what the editor's notes said. The 6 characters are E-102 Gamma, Sonic the Hedgehog, Amy Rose, Knuckles the Echidna, Big the Cat, and Miles Tails Prower. E-102 Gamma, targets and destroys things, Sonic has to go through action stages, Amy has to escape a robot, Knuckles has to find pieces of the Master Emerald, Big has to fish for Froggy, and Tails has his own little action stage.
Graphics:9/10
The graphics are very astonishing. They may not be Metroid Prime graphics, but they still look nice. The character models were given a shine, and look much cooler. Knuckles seems to have a smaller head than he did in SA, which is good. E-102 looks the least improved, but still looks nice.
Controls: 10/10
The controls are solid. You learn them quickly and easily. I had no trouble with any of the characters.
Story:10/10
The story in SADX may not be as deep as SA2, but it is still kick [butt]. The story is that Eggman has created a new monster, a monster that runs off the power of the Chaos Emeralds. Without any Chaos Emerald power, he is simply called Chaos 0. As he gets more and more chaos, he gets higher in number. Now, Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, and the rest of the gang have to stop Eggman from destroying everything.
Gameplay:9/10
The gameplay is very nice. There is a bit of slowdown in Sonic's levels, but it is still good. There are some collision problems tho, which are when a character slams into, say, a wall and goes stright through it, sometimes sending you to your doom. But, as stated beforehand, this was in the demo version, probably made a month ago, so it might be different in the final version.
Overall:10/10
Rent or buy: I'd say buy. With better graphics and control, it should already be on your buy list. What's that? You want more? Well, SADX also comes with 12 Sonic Gamegear games, and 60+ missions. Key word: Missions. Not levels. This is a HUGE upgrade over the DC version.
Well, that is it for this review. Now, I gotta get back to playing some SADX demo!
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2003
Originally released for the Sega Dreamcast, Sonic Adventure was a pulse-pounding thrill-ride through a stunning 3D world. With 6 characters to play as you progress through the game, each character had his or her own style of play - Anything from flying between sky scrapers and engaging the gigaintic Egg Carrier in a mid-air dogfight as Miles "Tails" Prower, scaling the side of an active volcano in search of missing Chaos Emerald shards as Knuckles The Echidna, to taking on the city-sized water monster Chaos as Sonic The Hedgehog.
The graphics in Sonic Adventure DX have had a face-lift, and now look even better than they did in the original. In addition, word has it that every one of the Sega GameGear Sonic The Hedgehog games will be included in SA:DX as a bonus. The music to this game is also a joy to hear, and is some of the best in the series.
All in all, if you liked the original then you'll love Sonic Adventure DX. If you're new to the Sonic series, this is a great game to start with. I'm a long-time Sonic fan in my late teens and see Sonic Adventure as a worthy sequel to the previous games, and the children I babysit love playing the game on my Dreamcast just as much as I do. It's just good, clean fun, and an excellent choice for a parent looking to buy a game for their child.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2003
You will never get sick of playing this game.I guarantee it.I used to have a Dreamcast with Sonic Adventure 1 and 2.But this takes the cake.Its absolutely amazing to see how good this game is.Its almost perfect.Its a masterpiece.Every character has about 6 or so levels and there are new mini games this time around. It is a lot more substantial and breathtaking than Sonic Adventure 2 is. This game is the best reason to own a Game Cube.Some might claim Zelda and Metroid as the best but let me tell you this game is the most fun Ive had ever doing anything.Its hardly ever frustrating and even when it is you have those gorgeous graphics to feast your eyes on.Also theres a rumor thats out that there are Sonic Game Gear games on here.That would be excellent and even if its just a rumor the game SA DX is above so much else.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2003
Sonic's newest game will keep you coming back for more with jaw-dropping graphics,special power-ups, and hidden stages. The 12 extra GAMEGEAR games are a really big bonus to the game. Sonic looks like the fastest he has ever been. There are also six super duper stories plus one that is secret and you have to unlock it. The mission mode is a great bonus because there never was a mission mode in Sonic Adventure for DREAMCAST. This game is very fun and I encourage other people to play it too.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2004
Actually, at first I was bumbed about the 2 player action only being choa races and that stuff. Don't get me wrong this game is still really a good game, just the 4 stars meant it's not the greatest. It is worth your money. But I thought it was one of the best games ever when I found this out. O.K. 1) play a 1 player game with Sonic that has tails hanging around him. 2)If U plug in a controller in the 2nd slot, and just play around with it, U finally figure out that you're playing Tails! 3) Tails is almost indestuctable this way, so U can help out 1 player. Just stay close to Sonic( or U can't see yourself on the screen) and when he's in trouble, U can collect him rings, fly in hard 2 reach places, and fight of bad-guys.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2005
Well, first of all, I'd like to let you all know, this is my mother's account and she gave me permission to use it. Also, this is my first review ^^"

Anyway.... This game, is awesome. The graphics are decent, even though I think they could have done a bit of a better job, comparing this remake to Sonic Heroes, that is. I loved the Sonic and Tails levels, and I basically liked the rest of the levels to death (I was raised a Sonic fan from the depths of Sonic Adventure 2 Battle... Which is still my favorite because it still challenges me sometimes :) ).

Sonic, is obviously the blue spiked speed demon of the whole thing, main star and most fun levels. His story is the usual good guy beats bad guy, even though those storylines are usually fun anyway, since you get more views and inputs from the villians (Eggman/Robotnik rules!!).

Tails, has been with Sonic since the second game. In SA, he is learning that he can indeed do things himself, and that he should start being more independent. I personally think his story is good for the younger people.

Amy's story, is that she finds a cute little bird (in the earlier games it would be considered a "Flicky") and learns that it had been seperated from its family. There's also a big robot thrown in that chases you throughout the levels wanting you and/or the bird (I think the bird's name is Lily). Her stages are somewhat like Sonic and Tails', except she can't do homing attack, and you're avoiding a robot called ZERO.

Big the cat... He must have one of the most out of place storylines of them all. Throughout the whole thing, his pet frog (named Froggie) had swallowed his "lucky charm" (a chaos emerald) along with Chaos's (one of the "bad guys" even though in the end-- *slaps mouth shut* nope, not giving anything away! Hee hee) tail. All of his levels are fishing for Froggie to try to get him back.. Big's levels I'd have to say are for those who can adapt and figure out the stinkin' fishing controls and/or be patient enough to wait for something to bite.

Finally, there's E-102 Gamma, who is the 2nd robot created out of Dr. Eggman's E-series robots. Gamma meets Amy at a cerain point, along with Lily, and realises that Eggman is not a good person and he should be good as well. Thinking of his fellow robots, he sets off to free the innocent animals that were incapsulated into the robots. His levels have time limits, but with every target you shoot, you get more time.

Ah yes, now to move on to the music. AWESOME. I myself am a fan of progressive rock (it's what got me officially addicted to Sonic so that I could be obssessed between game releases having beaten everything else ;D) and the songs on here match the characters, as well as my favorite songs. I'm not going to go into detail, since I guess that's for the Soundtrack if they have one. If not, well... you'll just have to buy the game and listen to them that way! Since you don't have to unlock ANYTHING to listen to them. ('Dun listen to any songs about last bosses or anything you'll regret listening to before beating it though!!)

Infact, the worst part of this game would have to be graphics, camera angles, and occasionally glitchy controls. The graphics in some of the cutscenes, I admit, are awesome. But I think they could have done a better job in the actual game as well as the other cut scenes. (For instance, one of them have a strange thing where Knuckles looks bigger than Eggman when he walks up to him lying on the ground... How could anybody be bigger than Eggman's belly!? 0_0')

The camera angles... I got mad at them when it comes to the levels where you're going in all directions (Big, Knuckles, Amy, KNUCKLES...) But otherwise, they're fine if you're good with the L and R triggers.

Finally, the glitchy controls.. Normally, it doesn't bug me.. But on the last boss (Not going into detail since you have to figure it out for yourself ;D) I kept losing because I would keep getting stuck behind pieces of road or sides of buildings..

However, when it comes to the things that matter the most (Gameplay, Story, and Music) it's a sweet game. That, and for those of you who are new Sonic fans... it will explain, A LOT. Ok then! That's the end of my review!

THANKS FOR READING AND I HOPE YOU GET IT!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2003
well first off i would like to say that the story is fully brilliant and fun at the same time, and easy to follow. but.. the voice overs are a bit lacking.. now i am a HUGE fan of sonic adventures and this was great. the graphics are good. the gameplay is ok... and the controls are really simple and overall entertaining. the main story is trying to stop a monster called chaos who the more he eats emeralds the more powerfull he is.
now.. about CHAO. chao are creatures like tamagotchi.. if you think you will only buy this game for chao then buy sonic adventure 2 battle if you have it already then get this one. SADX is good for raising chao. they react to your actions for example throwing them against a wall :) but there is no chao kindergarden or doctor and you cant fight or learn karate. you can only race. both games feature the ability to transfer chaos to gameboy.. so if you have both it is great to teach in SA2B and learn and raise in SADX.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2008
This review is will ONLY tell you the DIFFERENCE between the gamecube version and the dreamcast version so if you never played this game before, please don't waste your time reading this review as I made this review for the people who played the dreamcast version as well. Anyways lets get started shall we?

List of different things in this version.

1) Graphics: this version's graphics are far more superior than the dreamcast's version. The landscapes which include the waterfall and the grass area in the Mystuic Ruins are more releastic. In addition to that the train looks different and the hotel which is located in Station Square has a red carpet which makes you feel that you are entering this hotel as if you were doing so in real life. The levels graphics are also superior where I can hardly describe it. Youtube the gamecube version and you will notice the difference yourself when playing this version.

2) Sound quality: I'm really disappointed with the sound as you can hardly hear what the characters are talking about while your playing the game, as the music is far more louder than the character's talkings. I also noticed a difference in the music when you play through the levels. This version's sound is better than the dreamcast's version, however, the dreamcast's version music is more beautiful.

3) Controls: same as the dreamcast version so there's nothing to add here.

4) Camera: The dreamcast's camera angel is better than this version's camera, however, in this version you can choose between auto to free camera.

5) Story mode: Story mode remains the same, nothing changes unless couple of words from characters which I shall give examples in the near future.

6) Game speed: I was really impressed by the loading speed of this version. In the dreamcat version you had to wait like 60 seconds to load from Station Square to Mystic Ruins, however, in this version if you count only to 5, then the loading will be finished!!!

7) Changes: I will add the chao features changes later when I have the time.

FAQs:

1) Would you recommend this version or the dreamcast version?

Absolutly this version! The graphics and game speed are far superior than the dreamcast version. In addition to that when you raise your chao and hit him a lot, he will not die likme the dreamcast version.

2) Why did you buy this version when you had the dreamcast version?

My dreamcast has exploded over 2 times and I do not wish to purchase a 3rd console so that it will explode on me again over time so I decided to give it a try with this version and boy!! I'm so glad I bought it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
There was a lot of potential for this installment of the sega to nintendo transition for sonic how ever they did ever so poorly with this installment of sonic, the graphics are way below what they should be and the previous game being adventure battle two was amazing with great game plays a unique and diverse selection of levels with a solid story line and the chao garden had immense depth in what you could do to you chao where this one it doesn't even make sense. The camera angles are poor and buggy always auto correcting them self's and 80% of the time too far away. I', a huge sonic fan but i have to say this is the worst installment next to sonic heros ive seen them come out with and i'm very disappointed in it. I don't really recommend this game to anyone older then 8
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

$39.96

Need customer service? Click here