Spring Deals Automotive HPC Amazon First Reads New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Fire TV Stick: $29.99. Offer ends 3/26/18 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno

on February 28, 2010
My son doesn't like this game disc at all - he played it a few times when it first arrived but it hasn't seen the light of day since ... we're going to trade it in for points at GameStop.
1010 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 26, 2017
NIB great game, daughter loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMEon February 13, 2009
There's been Sega collections before across various platforms, but none as vast as Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection. Featured here are 40 great Genesis games, as well as nine bonus unlockable games from arcades and Sega's Master system. Sure we get those tried and true classic games seen before on other Sega compilations, such as the Sonic series, the Golden Axe trilogy, the Shinobi, Ecco, and Vectorman games, Altered Beast, Columns, Kid Chameleon, and other old favorites besides; but there are a few new additions here that will definitely hold your interest. Playing the Streets of Rage trilogy, E-Swat, Fatal Labyrinth, the Shining Force games, Alien Storm, Dynamite Headdy, and the always underrated action/RPG Beyond Oasis are all here, and are all still incredibly fun to play. And yes, even though Comix Zone and Phantasy Star II, III, and IV are here again, they're still some of the absolute best examples of what the Genesis had to offer. Even though there are still some omissions that I would love to see on a Genesis compilation like Eternal Champions, Outrun, the Toe Jam & Earl games, or the amazing Gunstar Heroes (though I'm not sure if Sega or Treasure own the rights there), this collection is still spectacular regardless. Bonus unlockable games include the arcade versions of Altered Beast and Shinobi, the arcade smashes Zaxxon and Space Harrier (still no After Burner) as well as the original Phantasy Star from the Master system among others; and there's a wonderful amount of extra material and a lovely presentation as well. All of the games are brilliantly emulated, and play and look as good as they did way back when. All in all, you can't go wrong with Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection if you grew up owning a Genesis or owned one back in the day, and at this bargain price, this collection is even more of a steal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2014
I'm going to go over each game, and give my opinions of each game

Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle: 3/10

Not that fun, kind of frustrating!

Alien Storm: 4/10

Mah, this game is a mediocure beat em up, all right but nothing special, at least it's better then the next game.

Altered Beast: 1/10

This game is really terrible! Unplayable and frustrating, i'm surprised people like this game. Seriously this game is truely terrible/

Beyond Oasis: 7/10

A pretty fun Zelda clone, not the best but it's still pretty fun.

Bonanza Bros: 4/10

Another game that was orginally a arcade game i think, i'm saying that because it feels like a game that was really ment to quarter crunch. Below Avarage.

Columns: 5/10

It's a Tetris clone, mah...

Comix Zone: 5/10


Decap Attack starring Chuck D. Head: 8/10

A true classic, you play a mummy who shoots his head at werewolves and ducks. A real clasic, though it is quite hard.

Dr. Robotnik's MBM: 9/10

Now this is a clasic Tetris clone, this is part of the Puyo Puyo series of games.

Dynamite Headdy: 6/10

This is a very strange little game, it's pretty good, not great but just pretty good.

Ecco the Dolphin 4/10

I used to play this as a kid, guess what? It hasn't aged well at all. Interesting concept though.

Ecco II: The Tides of Time 5/10

Slightly Better than the first, the music is pretty good.

E-SWAT 5/10

It's like Shinobi, but you play some wannabe Robo-Cop. It's all right, but it gets frustrating quick.

Fatal Labyrinth 1/10

Not fun, this is one of those Roulge type games, but unlike Toejam & Earl it's not fun. Fighting monsters is a real pain. I Don't reccomend playing it.

Flicky 5/10

Avarage arcade sort of game. It's all right, but it pretty insanely hard pretty quick.

Gain Ground 4/10

I used to see this game at a video rental store as a kid, never rented it. But i was always cureious about. Turns out it's nothing special. It's sort of slow paced and sorta weird. Not very good.

Golden Axe I 4/10

I don't get the love for this game. It's super cheap and frustrating! Seriously what's the point of having a mount if you can barely ride the thing because the monster keep knocking you off!

Golden Axe II 5/10

Slightly better then the first game, but not by much!

Golden Axe III 8/10

The best of the Golden Axe games, but it's not up to snuff with the Streets of Rage games.

Kid Chameleon 7/10

A pretty good Marioesqe platformer with some pretty interesting game idea's. A pretty good platformer, plus it's got tons of levels.

Phantasy Star II 4/10

A sci-fi themed Final Fantasy kind of RPG. Too bad it's feels sluggish and clunky. It has some pretty arcahic game play. I'm not a big fan of it.

Phantasy Star III: Generations of Doom 4/10

This game had some interesting idea's, but it's not all that great to be honest.

Phantasy Star IV: The End of the Millennium 10/10

OH YAH! Now this one is the classic Genesis RPG! It aged much better then the first 3 games.

Ristar 6/10

Pretty good game, though i find it a little confusing.

Shining in the Darkness 4/10

A dungeon Crawler, and a fairly all right game. Too bad it gets confusing unless you mapped were you are going otherwise you will get so lost and killed!

Shining Force 6/10

Pretty good, though it's not as great it's sequal

Shining Force 2 9/10

Much improved from the first, but REALLY REALLY hard!

Shinobi III: Return of the Ninja Master 7/10

Pretty good, controls are a little off.

Sonic 3D Blast 7/10

It's not as bad as some people make it out, the 3D effects are not up to modern standerds, and the controls are a little off. But still it's pretty fun

Sonic and Knuckles 8/10

Much like Sonic 3, but much harder and longer.

Sonic Spinball 4/10

UGH! I used to play this alot when i was a kid, it's not really bad though i do find it below avarage.

Sonic the Hedgehog 7/10

Pretty fun, level design is not up to stuff. Some levels are a little overly frustrating. Classic music

Sonic the Hedgehog 2 10/10

Now this game is a really classic, it improves everything from the first game. This game also introduced us to Tails.

Sonic the Hedgehog 3 6/10

Pretty good, but UGH!!! That second half of the Carnival Zone! Ok, but i don't really care for the music.

Streets of Rage 8/10

Classic beat-em up fun, not as good as the TMNT games, but it's still loads of fun.

Streets of Rage 2 9/10

A much better version of the first game, reminds me a little bit like Final Fight,

Streets of Rage 3 9/10

Much like the second game, it's a bit harder. Really fun.

Super Thunder Blade 4/10

Reminds me of After Burner, not very good... It's an early Genesis game so what do you expect.

Vectorman 6/10

Sorta fun, but vastly overrated

Vectorman 2 5/10

It's just an avarage platformer, nothing special.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2009
The games? Good. I still own many of the Genesis carts. But I don't like the updated graphics which are basically adding aliasing and "blur" to the image. That doesn't increase the resolution - just makes everything look fuzzy and washed-out. They were designed for Low-definition 320x240, with visible square pixels, and that's how they look best. (In fact the pixels often act as yardsticks for gamers to estimate their jumps. No pixels == mistakes and lost lives.)

*Just as you should not colorize old black-and-white movies*, or reedit classic films (Han fired first), neither should you make the old classic games look blurry. A totally-revised remake like Metroid Zero is okay, but the original versions f these 8 and 16 bit games should also be included as the director/programmer created it.
77 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 15, 2015
Not what we were expecting.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 30, 2016
Didn't work
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2015
I have a SEGA genesis but sadly my dad never found it in our garage witch lead me with none. SEGA never released any hardware after the dreamcast witch lead me with no SEGA system... forever. But when looking around amazon I soon found this. I have heard that it comes with 50 games for the genesis. I got the game and soon I knew this was my answer to having no SEGA system. So, if you want to have a genesis collection right away or pretend you have a SEGA this is your answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 22, 2012
Talk about nostalgic gaming! This disc is awesome. The only thing negative I have to say is that these games make me feel old! I can't believe how bad some of these games were and I paid $40 for them in the 90s. Oh well, this game rules anyways.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 30, 2017
Number one game to play for a five year old that has 1 million questions every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 38 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here