Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 210 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 272 reviews
on May 13, 2013
Sorry, Wrong Number is a film that I remembered watching in my youth on TV and I purchased it to see it again. To have recalled how suspenseful it was, after all these years, says something about its impact. Barbara Stanwyck plays a wealthy, spoiled, selfish woman who is used to getting what she wants and becomes ill when she doesn't. Her domineering father (Ed Begley), has her convinced, since her youth, that she is not well. He also dominates her relationship with her ambitious husband (played by Burt Lancaster), whom he disapproves of but controls by making him an executive in his firm. Burt's character wants a chance to prove he's worthy of his heiress wife, but knows he'll never get ahead under his father-in-law's heavy thumb. So, he gets involved in a dangerous scheme that ultimately endangers his wife. As the story begins in the present, Barbara's character is an invalid, alone at home in bed, waiting for her husband to come home from work. When he doesn't show, she makes a call to his office, only to overhear an outside conversation on the line, wherein the callers seem to be planning a murder. Eventually, through other phone calls she makes, she realizes that she is the murder target. Much of the story is told in flashbacks, paced briskly enough to stay interesting and, at times, gripping. The suspense builds as the tale unfolds -- right up to the chilling conclusion.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
I liked it, but I didn't love it. I'm a Barbara Stanwyck fan, but this isn't one of her best movies - for those I'd go with The Lady Eve for romantic comedy or Double Indemnity for film noir. She seems to be overacting the part in this one, but part of that is definitely due to the script. If you're a Stanwyck fan it's worth paying to watch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon December 6, 2007
My fellow reviewer M. Dalton perfectly sums up SORRY, WRONG NUMBER by calling it a "nightmare noir". This darkly tense and truly disturbing movie stars Barbara Stanwyck (who could always be trusted to deliver the goods), in a top performance.

Filthy-rich invalid Leona Stevenson (Barbara Stanwyck) picks up the phone during a sultry New York summer night, and overhears a plot to murder her. Could it be her husband Henry (Burt Lancaster), convieniently "out of town"; or someone out to settle the score with her former best friend Sally (Ann Richards)? As the night unfolds, a series of phonecalls guides Leona into a web of murder, drug theft and extortion. Who can she trust...and how will the bed-ridden Leona defend herself from a mysterious assailant?

Barbara Stanwyck delivers a perfectly-pitched performance, as the movie unfolds and the character of Leona grows more desperate and panicked, the sheer artistry and talent of Stanwyck comes bubbling to the surface. Burt Lancaster is also fine as the husband who may or may not be part of the plot to murder his wife. Australian-born character actress Ann Richards (not to be confused with the brunette American jazz singer), is a delight to watch as the jilted girlfriend who might also have an axe to grind with Leona.

Based around the popular radio play by Lucille Fletcher (which launched the career of Agnes Moorehead), SORRY, WRONG NUMBER benefits greatly from the added visuals of the motion picture. We can observe the way Leona visibly changes and crumbles during the course of events, and thanks to some well-shot flashback scenes, Ms Stanwyck can leave the bed and play Leona during her courting days with the Burt Lancaster character.

Clipping along at a brisk pace, SORRY, WRONG NUMBER will be a must-see for classic noir fans as well as admirers of Barbara Stanwyck. This is a tour-de-force from the amazing star of "Stella Dallas" and "Double Indemnity".

The DVD also features the trailer. (Single-sided, single-layer disc).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
Great Product!!! Awesome seller!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2014
I ordered one for myself, and others to give as Christmas gifts; I like the old black and white movies and have friends who also like the older movies. Meets expectation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
I love Barbara Stanwyck and this is one of my favorites of hers although she does get a bit whiny toward the end. Lots of good tense moments, with a fine Burt Lancaster keeping his cool, barely, as he struggles to be the boss's son-in-law, at the mercy of the man's wealth and the daughter's careless dismissal of his own manhood. Atmospheric and taut. Not Stanwyck's best but a good chiller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
Love oldtime movies and stars. They had to have talent, because there were less special effects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
This is a superb film Classic. What's not to love! This film has all the elements you need to hold your attention until the very last moment. Barbara Stanwyck is at her best. You like her, hate her then feel sorry for her. Much like her husband Bert Lancaster. You can watch this film several times in a row and still feel the same tension at the end you felt the first time you saw it. Timeless story of a marriage forced to the brink, great film execution and perfect casting. You can't ask for better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2009
I saw a remake of SORRY, WRONG NUMBER that starred Lonnie Anderson and was made for TV. Anyway, that show stayed with me all these years and so when I learned that it was a remake of this psychological thriller starring Barbara Stanwyck and Burt Lancaster, I just had to check out the original. And it does not disappoint!

The movie is about a bed bound woman who over hears a plot to kill someone at 11:15 at night when her phone lines get crossed with another party. Through a serious of phone calls and flashbacks, the story builds as it pushes the viewer towards the edge finally unfolding in horrific fashion.

I really enjoyed the tension in SORRY, WRONG NUMBER and must say that it was fun to watch. Stanwyck is great as the nutty, spoiled rich wife and Lancaster is cast equally well as the hunky and kept husband.

The black & white movie is shown in full-screen format and I believe it falls under the film noir category. It also includes the trailer.

Anyway, it's a cool and creepy film! Perfect for fans of psychological thrillers and suspense movies. Watch it on a dark and rainy night with all the lights off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse