Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Acoutsic Christmas Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Soul Calibur V - Playstation 3
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$37.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 3, 2017
Soul calibur 5, is a very enjoyable game from a gameplay perspective. I also find the character creation very amazing, giving a variety of options for your character. I honestly bought soul calibur 5 Just because of Ezio but the game is very enjoyable, despite missing some character's from part 4 but still a good game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 23, 2016
Only reason i bought this is for the graphics and the character customization. Not for storyline or extra game play modes or for replay value. I want to make sword wielding, bikini clad babes. Ok:)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 17, 2012
Gameplay:

It's definitely different from the older games. Overall I have found it solid and unforgiving and that's how I like my fighter games. Unless it's a brawler like Super Smash Bros I feel most fighter games need to be this unforgiving and relentless in order to be a proper tournament worthy game. As a casual gamer who enjoys the tough games I give this game 4 stars.

Story:

Bad but I enjoyed the anime light show at the end. Pretty much there is no story for every character. It's all one solid campaign that can be beat in a day. Broken down by episodes which is pretty much one fight each.

Customization:

There are limitations that weren't in the other games. If you have your custom character wear a jacket or full dress then he/she can't wear a skirt or skirted belt like armor. However with the options they added to it, being able to add patterns and symbols, I don't really miss what they took away aside from the annoyance of seeing that I can't stack on an article of clothing because it would layer over something I already equipped.

NOTE: Last thing, Mitsurugi no longer has his battoujutsu techniques. The attack from sheathed sword stance, however most of the moves that were initiated by it are still here. Just something specific since I was a big Mitsu user back in the SC II and III days. Just fair warning that many of the characters are missing some of their extra movesets. I actually enjoy that they cut out the fat and stuck purely to making the game balanced even though there are still characters who are lower and higher tier I have met players who are skilled with the supposedly low tier characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2012
I must say that I am shocked to see so many 1 star reviews of this game. Yes the story mode is way too short, but let's get past that for a second shall we? This is a fun game! Don't get me wrong...it's no Mortal Kombat. There are no concept art unlockables, no crazy combat modes, no cinematic driven story, but it does manage to get a few things right.

1. The fighting is smooth and fluid.
2. Online play is fun and the lobby is great! You can watch matches prior to fighting opponents.
3. The creation mode is very deep and you can create virtually anything you can imagine.
4. Some interesting new characters.

However, there are also things that the game doesn't get right.

1. Virtually no meaningful unlockable content.
2. Story mode is way too short and overall pretty boring. In the 1 1/2 hrs. of play time, they used about 10 minutes of cinematics tops.
3. Lack of variety of offline modes.
4. Game gets very boring if you just play offline against A.I.

Overall, if you want to play this game online against real players around the world, it is a good purchase. However, if you are looking for something to play around the house offline, and don't plan on playing against friends, etc. I would not recommend buying this game. Quite a disappointing offering from Namco overall, but they were just jumping on the bandwagon after the success that Capcom had with SFIV.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2017
Not very good. Replay value isn't great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 9, 2014
I've play the other SC series, I'm a tournament player, so my impression is that this game was released at 50% of its development, because does not have the common playing options of the previous titles, the addition of the Brave Edge from Soul Edge, its quite cool, along with the meter for specials and supers (brave edge). If you are a hardcore fan, buy it, if not... mmm play SC4, if you are Soul Calibur 2 fan... you better keep playing it because this game is not for you.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2017
Pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2017
OK game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 16, 2016
Good game. Online gaming works fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 23, 2014
Story is horrible told trough story board images and less quality than story board pictures , when you do get CG graphics they do look amazing and pretty but theres very few and far between . Game play is Soul Calibur quality which is great and pretty and fluent smooth fighters . The characters have changed not all but most , customizing is insane with so much to unlock and a lot of possibility . Not great in story mode but everything else is fun and pretty and smooth .

Characters now have Finishing moves wich are pretty and add fun to game play .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here