Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$38.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 182 reviews
on December 26, 2015
Well this may be the worst but best in the franchise. What makes this game bad is the lack of modes, mainly story mode which forces you to play 2 crappy characters. The story itself becomes boring and drags on but its the only way to unlock the other characters and stages. Halfway I lost interest in story mode. It was the worst move Namco ever did on the series. I hope they learned from this mistake in the future. As for character creation, this is a massive improvement from IV. IV kinda forced you on picking out the clothing because of the stats (which I found really dumb) IV lacked on variety of custmization. V did it well which almost reminded of Soul calibur 3. So namco did nail this part. Theres a few mechanics added in the game (like the ones everyone here has already mentioned) having armor pieces come off was a bit weird almost as if your character is getting stripped haha. Honestly this one isnt as strong. Even IV wasnt as strong either but had a few more modes and challenges to keep you busy. 3 is still the strongest in the series with a much better story and your created character having a story. V introduces many new characters with no background. V really lacks on introductions. Even when you want to learn more on these characters you simply cant because namco messed up on not doing so making half or more than half of the roaster forgetable. Theres a level system where you can play online or offline (similar to tekken only as a level system. The more you progress the more stuff you unlock for character creation. This is kinda great which is like the main thing of the game but itll become tiring after a while. The gameplay is making it okay to get if its less tham 20 dollars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
The character customization mode is great, but that's the only great thing about it. The tutorial is awful, the difficulty spikes will drive you to insanity, and the story mode... The story mode centers around two characters, and you don't even meet half of the others, they use sepia colored stills instead of cinematics, and the so called "hero" is arrogant, a murderer, has absolutely no redeeming qualities and there is no character development at all.

And Pyrrha... She is the daughter of Sophotia who, from the moment she was born, was life's punching bag, so much so that it turns her into someone that shouldn't even exist in a fighting game. And I'm pretty sure the game developers made the relationship between her and Patroklos semi-incestous.

All in all... Three out of ten.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
Soul calibur 5, is a very enjoyable game from a gameplay perspective. I also find the character creation very amazing, giving a variety of options for your character. I honestly bought soul calibur 5 Just because of Ezio but the game is very enjoyable, despite missing some character's from part 4 but still a good game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2016
I bought this game solely for the purpose of creating characters of my own, and this alone has kept me entertained for hours. In my opinion, the story mode was pretty bad--most of it was just static pictures with dialogue--but considering how great the variation for creating characters is, that can easily be overlooked (at least for me, as I earlier stated that my main reason for buying this game was to create characters). I'm not much of a gamer and know nothing about what's typical for games nowadays, but to me the animation looks very realistic, and it's a very pretty game :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
...by a long shot!
This franchise has not been the same since the 2nd entry.

Characters are boring & plagued by a sloppy and underdeveloped main story.
This game was such a disappointment!
I could forgive the stupid story line (most fighting games don't a a strong plot anyhow) but what really makes this a bad game is the extra content... Because there really isn't any.
Ok you can change a color on an outfit ... Yippee! **cough**

It still maintains its strongest point within the fighting but compared to SCIV this is just a prettier game than its predecessor essentially.

Boringgggggggg
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2012
Gameplay:

It's definitely different from the older games. Overall I have found it solid and unforgiving and that's how I like my fighter games. Unless it's a brawler like Super Smash Bros I feel most fighter games need to be this unforgiving and relentless in order to be a proper tournament worthy game. As a casual gamer who enjoys the tough games I give this game 4 stars.

Story:

Bad but I enjoyed the anime light show at the end. Pretty much there is no story for every character. It's all one solid campaign that can be beat in a day. Broken down by episodes which is pretty much one fight each.

Customization:

There are limitations that weren't in the other games. If you have your custom character wear a jacket or full dress then he/she can't wear a skirt or skirted belt like armor. However with the options they added to it, being able to add patterns and symbols, I don't really miss what they took away aside from the annoyance of seeing that I can't stack on an article of clothing because it would layer over something I already equipped.

NOTE: Last thing, Mitsurugi no longer has his battoujutsu techniques. The attack from sheathed sword stance, however most of the moves that were initiated by it are still here. Just something specific since I was a big Mitsu user back in the SC II and III days. Just fair warning that many of the characters are missing some of their extra movesets. I actually enjoy that they cut out the fat and stuck purely to making the game balanced even though there are still characters who are lower and higher tier I have met players who are skilled with the supposedly low tier characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
Soul Calibur Team Continues to disappoint. this game is awful. Pointless re-skin of 4 with little to no innovation and even less content to go with it. The story mode is one of the laziest thing Ive seen a video game do in a long long time. Still frames with voice overs. and not even pretty stills or even finished in some frames. JUST SAD......... save your money and buy something else
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
I've play the other SC series, I'm a tournament player, so my impression is that this game was released at 50% of its development, because does not have the common playing options of the previous titles, the addition of the Brave Edge from Soul Edge, its quite cool, along with the meter for specials and supers (brave edge). If you are a hardcore fan, buy it, if not... mmm play SC4, if you are Soul Calibur 2 fan... you better keep playing it because this game is not for you.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
Pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2016
Good game. Online gaming works fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here