Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$4.30
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: The item shows wear from consistent use, but it remains in good condition and works perfectly. All pages and cover are intact (including the dust cover, if applicable). Spine may show signs of wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. May include "From the library of" labels.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Southern Charm: A Novel Hardcover – May 1, 2012

3.7 out of 5 stars 65 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$2.98 $0.01

Literary Summer Reading
Bright, Precious Days: A novel
Bright, Precious Days: A novel
Bright, Precious Days: A novel
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A pink Ladurée macaron of a novel.” (The New York Times)

“Readers will delight in watching Minty sweetly take on the Big Apple.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Tinsley Mortimer's first book, Southern Charm, is just that: CHARMING! It’s like a mint julep—sweet, sassy and with a kick, all set against the glittering backdrop of the New York social scene—a modern day fashion fairy tale!” (Carson Kressley)

Southern Charm will remind you of who you were before you became a jaded New Yorker.” (Kelly Rutherford)

“A delicious journey. . . . It was exactly the escape I was looking for. In the vein of Plum Syke's Bergdorf Blondes, Southern Charm gives a pinhole into a world most will only dream of or read about in Page Six.” (Examiner.com)

About the Author

Tinsley Mortimer grew up in Richmond, Virginia and is a graduate of the Lawrenceville School and Columbia University. Known for her self-proclaimed “girly girl” style, Tinsley has since been featured on the pages of Vogue, WWD, Harper’s Bazaar, and Marie Claire magazine, to name a few. She is frequently featured in celebrity publications, such as Us Weekly, OK!, Life & Style, and In Touch. Tinsley has also served as a “Beauty Ambassador” for Christian Dior and helped to create a lip gloss called Tinsley Pink for the brand. She designs a line of handbags for the Japanese company Samantha Thavasa and is currently working on her own ready-to-wear line available only in Japan. She has starred in the reality television show High Society, and has appeared on Dr. Phil, America’s Next Top Model, Extra, Access Hollywood, E!, E True Hollywood Story “Society Girls,”  Bravo’s The Fashion Show, Gossip Girl, Germany’s RTL, LXTV, Good Day New York, Good Day LA, and CW11 Morning News.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (May 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451627475
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451627473
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (65 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #425,546 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
This was a great, fast read. It will be perfect for the beach this summer. Southern Charm is not my typical genre of book, but it was recommended to me by a friend and I devoured it in a day and a half. You will root for Minty from the very first page and be sad to leave her when the book ends.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By KP on March 16, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
It's quite ironic how the title of the Second chapter is called "smile through the pain" because that was exactly what I was doing. I threw the towel in at 16%, before I had to start deducting points from my IQ. There's a difference between a book that builds up to a climax and a total flop, and this one is a FLOP. From the get-go there's nothing even the slightest bit engaging that makes you want to know more about this character. It reads like a sorority girl rehashing her day to her shallow girlfriends, not like a story being told by an accredited author. In the first 15% there is already a string of unrealistic coincidences that just make you want to roll your eyes. It's like the non-socialite' s (sorry couldn't refuse the cheap humor.. I blamed this book) Devil Wears Prada.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The biggest requirement I have of a book I read for entertainment is that it's believable, I don't mean it can't be fantasy, but that the premise fits the storyline. I gave up on "Southern Charm" pretty close to the beginning because it started falling apart fast. Minty is a well- to -do girl who grew up in the South, with a moneyed family with a good genealogy who made many trips to New York with her mother to shop. So with that kind of background you would think that when Minty goes to New York to live, she would be familiar with the city, and know how to dress and would not be amazed at the pace, and even the food.

Yet when she gets there it's like she's in a foreign country. She helplessly calls her friend Emily to find out what to wear to a lunch. "When I walked into Saks, I felt like a kid in a candy store" was how she described a shopping trip. I thought she had been coming to New York to shop since her mother brought her as a little girl, yet she seems as clueless as someone who has never been away from home.

I lost interest pretty fast. It was starting to not make much sense.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This was a fun read, I could picture everything that happened-Kind of a mix b/t the E! show with Dianne Von Furstenberg + The Hills (when they were in NYC) and Southern Charm the Bravo show-

I liked the character but sometimes I hated her b/c her life was so easy-Like everything was so easy for her and things just fell in her lap-

Yet it's a light read, cute, fashion and silver spoon story line-
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I am truly a sucker for a cute book! And this book was no exception to that rule. I'm not sure whether it was because the main character in this book is from Charleston, SC or because the cover was amazing, or perhaps it's because it was written by Tinsley Mortimer, but it was such a great read!

There is a whole sloppy mix of reviews on this book, some bad and some good, but mine is a good one. Promise! I feel as though someone looking for a good, sweet, short summer read would really love this book.

Minty Davenport, main character of Southern Charm and daughter of Scarlet Davenport, is from Charleston, SC. She grew up on a true Southern plantation and like any other southern belle was a debutante. After graduating from a well known university, her long time boyfriend Ryerson breaks her heart and Minty finds herself following her dreams of becoming a fashion designer right up to New York City.

Minty's obsession of the City began as a child when her mother took her on a surprise trip to Manhattan. Minty, like any other eight year old girl, was on the hunt to find Eloise, her favorite fictional character who lived at The Plaza, right where Minty and her mother were staying on their trip.

After being in NYC for only a short amount of time Minty finds herself being photographed and on the pages of Women's Wear Daily. Not long after landing a job for a ruthless PR vixen does Minty find herself face to face with long time ex-lover Tripp.

The relationship isn't easy, especially when Minty becomes an "It Girl" in New York society. Her photos begin frequenting Page Six and it's not much after that that the rumors begin swirling about Minty and her newly rekindled love with Tripp.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book is average summer quick beach read. The story in itself is a cutesy, teen movie plotline and very easy to get through. As another reviewer mentioned, follows the same footprint as other Plum Sykes books. I'm indifferent about this book but found it entertaining. The character development was at a bare minimum, but I could follow the story. All in all, meh. It would have been better as one of those .99 reads.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is low rent chick lit. I wanted to give Ms. Mortimer some credit for being able to write her way out of a paper bag--Columbia graduate that she is. When I found out that she had a "friend" help her write this book, I was rather disgusted. The one kind thing I had to say about this novel was that it was written surprisingly well considering the weak content, character development and plot, but since Ms. Mortimer appears to have outsourced that task, I consider this a total fail. A collection of Ms. Mortimer's Page 6 and gossip rag exploits would have been more entertaining. If she wasn't going to write the book herself, scrap-booking the thinly disguised "real-life" inspirations for this novel would have provided the reader the same experience...with the added bonus of being able to actually see the designer clothing she rambles on about incessantly.
2 Comments 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: urban books paperback