Kindle Price: $6.49

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Southern Fire (The Aldabreshin Compass Book 1) by [McKenna, Juliet E]
Kindle App Ad

Southern Fire (The Aldabreshin Compass Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle Book
$6.49

Length: 512 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled
  • Similar books to Southern Fire (The Aldabreshin Compass Book 1)

Best Books of the Year
See the Best Books of 2017
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for the best books of the year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

British author McKenna, already known for her Tales of Einarinn series, is bound to earn plenty of new fans with her U.S. hardcover debut. Although the folk of the vast Aldabreshin Archipelago live by portents and auguries, they fear magic, to the point of executing those felt to be tainted by it. After brutal magical attacks from the south push the Archipelago's citizens to near panic, fair-minded warlord Daish Kheda strives to forge an alliance with his fellow warlords, but petty squabbles stand in the way. When another warlord attempts to murder Kheda and his family in their sleep, Kheda disappears, letting his enemies as well as allies assume he's dead. An original and intriguing setting, impressive world-building and compelling writing set McKenna's work apart from a field thick with far less ambitious fantasy works. Fans of Rosemary Kirstein and Robin Hobb will enjoy this book.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

"When a talented writer makes fiction seem like history, the book becomes an event. The world Juliet McKenna has created within the Aldabreshin Archipelago is carefully developed, layer upon layer, giving it the reality which is the hallmark of outstanding fantasy. She writes very visual prose, enabling the reader to see every scene in great detail. Her characters are colorful and believable; love them or hate them, you won't forget them. I certainly won't. Kheda, Risala, Dev, and many others linger in my mind, awaiting the continuation of their story."--Morgan Llywelyn on Southern Fire

"Juliet McKenna is too intelligent to deliver a dour extruded plot-coupon quest, the type of series to which the deathly phrase 'In The Grand Tradition of The Lord Of The Rings' is applied in a desperate attempt to conceal its essential lack of ideas: she's the thinking fantasy reader's writer, and the stuff she writes is dangerously addictive."-Charles Stross on Southern Fire

"British author McKenna, already known for her Tales of Einarinn series, is bound to earn plenty of new fans with her U.S. hardcover debut. . . .An original and intriguing setting, impressing world-building and compelling writing set McKenna's work apart form a field thick with far less ambitious fantasy works. Fans of Rosemary Kirstein and Robin Hobb will enjoy this book." -Publishers Weekly on Southern Fire

"Juliet McKenna's world creation is deeply textured and strongly resonant of the middle ages without sounding like Tolkien rehashed. Her characters are well-developed, strongly motivated, admirable, and yet have a normal array of human weaknesses. I find her work engrossing."--David Farland on Southern Fire

Product details

  • File Size: 4460 KB
  • Print Length: 512 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Wizard's Tower Press; First digital edition (October 21, 2015)
  • Publication Date: October 21, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B016ZT02B6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,451,367 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 6 customer reviews
Rated by customers interested in
Fantasy Books
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Cat Supplies
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Literary Fiction
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on December 8, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on August 26, 2013
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
VINE VOICEon December 1, 2005
Format: Hardcover
6 helpful votes
7 helpful votes
|
on July 27, 2013
Format: Hardcover
1 helpful vote
|
on December 1, 2008
Format: Hardcover
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
on October 25, 2005
Format: Hardcover
3 helpful votes
4 helpful votes
|

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Southern Fire (The Aldabreshin Compass Book 1)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Southern Fire (The Aldabreshin Compass Book 1)