Spring Deals Automotive Children of Blood and Bone Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Prime exclusive: $24.99 for a limited time Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Dot Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno

Spaceballs Blu-ray w/ Icons Fp
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

I wouldn’t rank Spaceballs up there with the likes of Blazing Saddles, but it’s a vintage Mel Brooks spoof with a great cast and plenty of comedic elements. I don’t think anyone else could get away with making so many really bad jokes, but Brooks always makes them work. Obviously, the film is a take-off of Star Wars, with its hero Lone Starr (Bill Pullman) and his sidekick Barf (John Candy) trying to rescue Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga) from the evil clutches of Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis). The planet Druidia has all of the fresh air they could ever need locked inside a planetary shield, while Planet Spaceballs is quickly running out of breathable air. President Skroob (Mel Brooks) plans on kidnapping Princess Vespa and using her to blackmail the king of Druidia into revealing the combination to the planet’s air stash. That’s the plan, anyway. The satire doesn’t stop with just Star Wars, though – there are countless in-jokes and spoofs taken from a wide range of other movies (e.g., Alien, The Wizard of Oz, Star Trek, Planet of the Apes, etc.).

You know, you really can’t describe a Mel Brooks film and do it any justice. You pretty much have to experience all of the one-liners, corny jokes, and physical humor for yourself. When it comes to Brooks’ personal brand of humor, you’ll either love it or hate it. For fans, there are some really ingenious bits playing off the craft of modern filmmaking and the marketing of film-related paraphernalia. There’s even a high-brow joke or two that some viewers probably won’t “get.” Mostly, though, Spaceballs is chock full of good old-fashioned, corny jokes. It’s the type of comedy that should hold up quite well for many years to come.

I think Rick Moranis pretty much steals the show as Dark Helmet, but Brooks’ depiction of the all-wise Yogurt is pretty hard to forget, as well. I also enjoyed listening to Brooks’ director’s commentary, as he talks a good bit about the writing, production, and casting of the film. I even learned a few things I didn’t know – such as the fact that Dom DeLuise supplied the voice for Pizza the Hutt. It’s an amazing cast of characters – and a very funny movie.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2014
Spaceballs, another classic spoof comedy by Mel Brooks
extremely funny from the first scene to the end credits, i still love watching the film after 30 years
first released as a 2 Disc collectors edition DVD by MGM about 7-8 years ago now
which was a good Digital remaster of the picture and audio
and loaded with all new special features, 40mins making of Documentary etc
Now on blu-ray as the 25th Anniversary edition
and the picture and audio look and sound much better than the 2005 MGM DVD release
beautiful HD transfer of the film with a new Master audio 5.1 mix
the picture quality looks fantastic on blu-ray much better than the old dvd
plus MGM have released a new exclusive interview with Mel Brooks just for this blu-ray release
goes for about 20mins
plus all the special features, every single extra from the 2005 dvd release
are on this blu-ray aswell
all the Documentaries & featurettes, Photo Galleries & commentaries are on this 1 Disc blu-ray, incredible
so Definitely time to upgrade and get this new 2012 blu-ray version
which has all the special features from the old dvd release
plus an all new interview with Mel Brooks just for this blu-ray release
Definitely worth the cash
5 stars for the film, 5 stars for this new blu-ray
by the way MGM have just reissued again another blu-ray reissue of SPACEBALLS
SPACEBALLS YOUR HELMET IS SO BIG EDITION, this 2015 release has the same content as the 2012 release
only difference is the front cover art & this new edition offers a Digital copy
apart from that they're both the same
5 stars for both 2015 & 2012 blu-ray reissues
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2016
1 of the best spoof movies of all times. Anyone that grew up in the 80's should definately pick this movie up if u dare call yourself a 80's lover.ehhehehe There are plenty of Star Wars reference or Spoof moives but I have to say SpaceBalls does the best and in a very creative way compared to todays comedy movies that dont seem to have any direction and meaning. Dark Helmet was cool, Lonestar was cheezy, princess should of joined Rolling Stones, and the RV was Badass. Ludricous Speed .eheheheh Cant wait to see this with the kids and relive why i love movies.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Top Contributor: Batmanon February 15, 2018
I forgot how funny this movie is. Brooks is getting past his prime in this one, humor wise, but there are still some really great lines. His role as Yogurt still gets me in stitches ("God willing ,we will all be back in SpaceBalls 2, the Search for More Money") Always want Pizza hut after seeing this movie, I don't why, lol. It may not hold up with younger audiences, because they were not around when all the Star Wars and Star trek stuff really took off in the 80's, so it may seem dated and hokey to them. Not that they may not find it funny, but the humor is of its time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2018
This movie is so great! I'd recommend it to any Sci-Fi fan, specifically those of Star Wars. Everything about this movie is just so clever and creative and it certainly goes down as a classic. I watched it with my friend who is a die-hard Star Wars fan and she couldn't stop cracking up the entire time we were watching it. I wouldn't say the humor is for everyone, it's very exaggerated slapstick at some parts, but there is definitely something in this movie for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2017
This is a great movie. What a classic. I am a product f the 80's and this a go-to comedy for me. My wife actually loves this move and she is by no means a fan of Mel Brooks films. My kids are into star wars now and I recently had them watch it and they thought it was hilarious. There are so many good one-liners from this movie that I use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 4, 2017
Yet another really fun one from the great Mel Brooks. When he's on, his parodies can't be beat. He manages to poke some good fun at Star Wars and Alien, while coming up with some really clever "advances" in SciFi (would you believe instant video?), all of which leads to some laugh-out-loud silliness. All this, and John Candy as his own best friend. Classic!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 23, 2017
No sir, I didn't see you playing with your dolls again. I really hate this movie; FOOLED YOU. It's ultra-quotable and quite the classic. A great escape from the everyday grind of life. Of course knowing all the references to the other movies Spaceballs nods to helps, but it's a nice goofy yet witty comedy that'll put a smile on your face.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Mel Brooks had already parodied everything else -- westerns, Hitchcock films, spies, silent movies -- by the time he got to science fiction. The result: "Spaceballs," a painfully punny and deliriously wacky little spoof of Star Wars. It's probably Brooks' goofiest movie (it has a character called BARF!), but it's still loads of fun.

The Spaceballs -- led by Colonel Sandurz (George Wyner) and Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis) -- are planning to steal all of the peaceful planet Druidia's air. So they try to capture Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga), who has just run away from an arranged marriage to a narcoleptic prince (along with her faithful droid Dot Matrix). Their plan: blackmail the king into turning off the Air Shield, allowing them to suck away the atmosphere!

But the princess and Dot are rescued by the rakish mercenary Lone Star (Bill Pullman) and his faithful mog, Barf (John Candy). The unlikely little group soon finds themselves on the sandy planet of Vega, where Lone Star begins to learn about the mystical Schwartz from the merchandising know-it-all Yogurt. But is his Schwartz enough to defeat Dark Helmet's?

For the record, this is the least subtle movie Mel Brooks has made. I mean, he's never been a subtle director to begin with, but this movie has so many puns that you can literally see them coming a mile away -- when the President of the Spaceballs starts yelling that he wants them to comb the desert, you know exactly what you'll be seeing in two seconds.

And it's pretty darn funny. Brooks takes hilarious pokes at "Star Wars," "Star Trek," "Aliens" ("Oh no... not again!") and "Planet of the Apes," and there are plenty of fun in-jokes that reflect it (the transporter accident that causes the president to end up, um, facing the wrong way). It does have a few comedy scenes that fall flat, such as when Helmet and Sandurz watch a videotape of, um, their own movie.

Brooks also has plenty of fun with the constant merchandising jokes, and he... well, "breaking the fourth wall" is too gentle a term. Smashing the wall to pieces and dancing on its remains would be more descriptive ("God willing, we'll all meet again in Spaceballs 2: The Search for More Money").

You pretty much know what to expect with the characters -- a Han Solo/Luke Skywalker amalgam, the rogue with a heart of gold and a mysterious past; the feisty (whiny) princess ("Ith her oyal igness' atched uggage!"); the annoying droid, and the shaggy sidekick, as well as slapsticky characters like Yogurt and Pizza the Hut. And of course, the villains -- Brooks has a smallish role as a frustrated president, and Moranis is loads of fun as a dweeby supervillain who still plays with dolls.

"Spaceballs" isn't Brooks' best work, but it is a hilariously goofy sci-fi farce that deserves plenty of watching. Use the Schwartz!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2017
My boys enjoyed it (10 and 12). a few laughs out loud from them but what do you expect when you have to explain most of the references...I don't recall there being so much cursing.... still worth the $$ and the laugh!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse