Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning ballerss3 ballerss3,
image-map-link=rect  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 122 reviews
on December 17, 2013
What can you say? Neither of these guys were musicians, and I'm sure they got put up to making these recordings by producers who wanted to capitalize on the popularity of Star Trek to move as much merchandise as possible. Of the two, Nimoy's attempts seem the most straight-faced, and he probably could have had a steady, if undistinguished career as a folk singer, had he wanted to.
It's harder to tell with Shatner just how much tongue is jammed into cheek here, but I hear a good deal of humor in the effort, other than the fact that his singing, like Tiny Tim's, is just so bad that it's good in its own way. Despite the cover, I don't know that Shatner actually plays the guitar on any of these tracks, but in any case it's his singing that captures the show. You haven't lived until you've heard him Sprechstimme his way through a jingle as if he were doing Shakespeare, only to culminate by screaming "Mr. Tambourine Man!!!" like Stanley in "A Streetcar Named Desire" bellowing "Stella!!" as he weaves down the street.
Wish I still had the vinyl disks for these, but all the content is here on the CD. Big fun.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
Wow, does this album peel away the years and put you right back into the late 60s. We remember how we used to excitedly scurry down to the record department of Hess Bros. to check out the latest from Nimoy and Shatner. All of your favorites are incorporated into this one CD - including Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds, If I Had a Hammer, and the memorable Bilbo Baggins. A must-have musical compilation for any die-hard Star Trek fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2016
I bought this CD as a holiday gag joke for my brother who himself has a quirky sense of humor.

Only song I had heard previously on this compilation was Shatner's 'Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds'. That was off of the Rhino 'Golden Throats' Volume 4 of Beatle covers. Interesting that the one on Golden Throats had a brief & bizarre spoken word intro by Shatner before LSD even starts, this is missing on this 'Spaced Out' CD. But 'Mr. Tambourine Man' & 'It Was a Very Good Year' are absolutely hilarious.

The Nimoy stuff is almost as bizarre, bad enough the Spock related stuff is pretty camp. But the interestingly bizarre ones by him are the country covers. They don't really sound like him at all and are very subdued takes....remind me a bit of Gordon Lightfoot's songs, but even more slower & murkier.

If you appreciate vintage nostalgia, mixed with a heaping doe of bad taste, and sprinkled with a pinch of chutzpah....then this compilation is for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
Again, For Nimoy and Shatner fans only....and trekkies, trekkers whatever. I personally LOVED it, Less than 10 bucks....brings a smile to my face during my commute. Overall, just the perfect blend of strange and WTF?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2015
Let's keep this brief: Leonard Nimoy sings a bit flat, but at least he can carry a tune. William Shatner can't sing to save his life, and thankfully he doesn't try much. Instead he delivers lines from Shakespeare and Beatles tunes as if he were James T. Kirk again and each line were the one which would save the Enterprise from certain destruction. Some of Nimoy's folk cover tunes, Spock bits and the like are actually decent tracks to listen to, but the Shatner tracks should only be listened to for their sheer train-wreck entertainment value. Thankfully Shatner grew out of this phase of his career... somewhat. Anyway, definitely worth picking up for sci-fi geeks and aficionados of strange or just plain bad music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
Talk about fun! Have to love it! Kind of kooky, but fun! Will share with my Star Trek TOS friends!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
i am told by nearly everyone that this album is stupid and totally terrible and maybe because of that i love it. it's hilarious. i never really watched the old Star Trek--it just always seemed boring and outdated to my young eyes--but this album makes me want to go back and watch them all. this album gives me a glimpse of why so many people are so freaking crazy about this show and the associated culture.

it's true; some of the tracks may be technically terrible, some of them are genuinely good, but they all have their charm. Shatner is clearly just having fun and screwing off. Nemoy is genuinely trying to create legitimate music. both of them have absolutely stolen my heart.

if you shall be in attendance at any of my highly fashionable soirees this season, expect to hear this album playing as the evening gets loose.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2017
You've never experienced Shakespeare until you've experienced Shatner's Shakespeare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2007
Let me be clear from the outset: get this album only if you are the kind of person who enjoys the bizarre. It is incredibly strange to hear Leonard Nimoy sing - actually sing in a deep, almost baritone voice - about the hobbit Bilbo Baggins. His rendition of Peter Paul and Mary's Hammer Song (If I Had a Hammer) is hysterical. And Shatner, oh, Bill, what were you thinking? This album takes campy to new heights.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
I mainly ordered this because I wanted my girlfriend to here "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds". I was actually surprised to find some of the spoken word tracks to be interesting and Nimoy can actually hold a tune. I am not saying these tracks are under-rated. There is nothing here worthy of a Grammy, and the back up band on most of the Shatner tracks sounds like the same bunch that did the music for the original Star Trek show, but you may find yourself listening to it several times. The two stars of the show are definitely Shatner's renditions of "Lucy" and "Mr. Tambourine Man." Both of which are un-believably awful. The sample tracks provide a pretty good idea of what you are getting. Enjoy but don't expect to laugh yourself into tears of every track.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here