Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 281 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 425 reviews
on January 12, 2014
About a third of the way through this book, I started wanting to stick my finger down my throat..kept wanting to tell "Sam" and "Remi" to "get a room"...adventures, yes, reality no...wandering trough a maze of tunnels, at night in the rain for hours, and they find their way out using her "sense of direction and hearing"...urrrrggg...although this is the first "Fargo" adventure I've tried, I doubt seriously that I'll try another...have read all of the Dirk Pitt, Oregon Files, Numa Files (Kurt Austin), and finally ran out of titles, so thought I'd try a "Fargo" book...I can deal with fantasy, impossible escapes, and intrigue, but this was too much...I'll finish the book just to see if it gets better, but can't read more than a couple of chapters without stopping...which is generally NOT true of the others...Cussler tried too hard on this one and failed...even to the point of including himself (ala Dirk Pitt books), but it was so obvious that it was going to be him, I actually laughed...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2012
I'm a big fan of Cussler books. This series is a different direction than most of his other series. What's different?

- It's a husband and wife team and not a government backed team or organization.
- The villains are not bent on ruling/destroying the world. It's much less grandiose.
- It focuses so much on the treasure hunting. Cussler's other series had bits of history and treasure thrown in, but as a sidestory. Now it's THE story.
- There's a back-story to the main characters, but basically, it entertains a question everyone in the world asks themselves at one point: What would you do if money was not an issue?

What's the same?

- It's a page-turner and a great story. Firefights! Explosions! Exploration! Ancient Ruins! Treasure! Bad guys! Travel!
- The characters have fairly predictable personalities and are not too deeply developed, but developed enough to make a connection.
- It's a great book to have for a long trip where you want some entertainment and don't want to work to hard to get into the story.
- This particular story has everything thrown in from Persians and Spartans (duh), to Napoleon and Nazis. Oh, there's also a particularly psychotic villain who has a lot of money and also wants the treasure. BOOM! The story is born and the action begins.

This book will be fun for everyone to read. If you're already a fan of Cussler books, this will be just as good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
THIS WAS MY FIRST FARGO NOVEL BY CLIVE CUSSLER AND GRANT BLACKWOOD AND THOUGHT IT WAS GOING TO BE A NAZI NOVEL,
BUT WHAT SURPRISE. IT WAS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT TYPE OF STORY. WITH TWO MATCHED CENTRAL CHARACTERS SAM AND REMI FARGO TREASURE HUNTERS. ONE AN ENGINEER (MCGARVER) AND OTHER AN ARCHEOLOGY SPECIALIST.
THE STORY STARTS WHEN FARGOS ARE ON ANOTHER TREASURE HUNT WHEN THEY SPOT A NAZI MINI SUBMARINE FROM THERE
THE STORY LINE TURNS TO NAPLOANE BONPARTE AND TWELVE BOTTLES OF WINE WITH A RIDDLE ON LABEL AND BUG ON THE BOTTOM OF WINE BOTTLE. THE VILLIAN IS RUDILIOUS AND A STEP BEHIND THE FARGOS ALL THROUGH OUT THE STORY.
FIGURE OUT THE RIDDLES AND FIND A BUG MARKING THE SPOT AND YOU HAVE A WORTHY CLIVE CUSSLER ADVENTURE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Adventurers Sam and Remi Fargo hopscotch around the world seeking a treasure hidden by Xerxes I the Persian King who invaded Greece 480 B.C.E. Napoleon Bonaparte found the treasure. and put together a string of clues, that he hoped his son, Napoleon II, would follow, but Napoleon Jr. for whatever reason didn’t follow through.
It’s now modern times and besides the Fargos, a Russian mobster searches for the treasure. The Fargos could get killed, and not just because they visit some dangerous places.
This is a smart adventure. The clues are clever and putting them together requires a vast knowledge of history.
The downside of this book is that some transitions - those from one location to the other and from one danger to another - tend to be boring. The story is sometimes more travel brochure than adventure story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
This is the first of Cussler's novels that I have picked up, and most likely the last. Brought up on a diet of Wilbur Smith's adventuresome epics, I found that Cussler's heroes are just too much to be believable, Mr and Mrs. James Bond could be a better name for them. All too slick, the plot full of holes, and the tie in between cause and effect is not in the bounds of possibility. Not easy to stomach, and definitely something you can put down without that tickling urge to find out what happens next.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2015
The Fargo couple , Sam and Remi match wits with ruthless killers to find something everyone is sure may be the contents of the fabled, lost, liquor cabinet of Napoleon I. As as in any Cussler story you get history lessons, close calls,gun fire and plenty of action! I really am looking forward to the next in the series..
Thanks, Mr. Cussler for a great read!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was the first Cussler book that I read and I don't know if others are like this but it feels to me like the Fargos' solutions to their problems and escape methods seem a little too easy. A deus ex machina is forgivable from time to time, but it seems to happen every time they get into trouble. The couple repeatedly uses less than lethal actions and unlimited resources to outsmart hordes of armed gunmen, and it seems unrealistic. Once they finally achieve their final goal, it rings hollow. I want more Tom Clancy, and less hardy boys.

On top of that, Cussler seems to think it is necessary to name drop unnecessary brand names within his writing. It doesn't matter to me that a character is wearing a Patek Phillippe watch if there is no purpose in divulging the brand name other than to let the reader know how insanely wealthy the character is. If the brand name adds nothing to the story, just say "watch." Otherwise, it removes the reader from the story, and we don't like that.

I did like that the historical aspects of the book seemed to be interesting and well researched. It was a compelling storyline that kept me interested despite the previously mentioned flaws. I will give the next book in the series a go, hoping that Clive adds a little more realism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
Another enjoyable round the world treasure hunt with the Fargos. But this one seemed laced with more trivia about their surroundings than previous Cussler books. I found myself skimming several paragraphs, and then pages, of detail that didn't further the plot so I could stay with the story.

Some readers like that level of detail. If you want a description of each course of every meal the hero and heroine eat, this is the book for you. But if you're one of those "less is better" people, you might want to pass up Spartan Gold. .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2011
Clive Cussler is recognized as one of the leading authors in adventure fiction, and in "Spartan Gold", he introduces two new characters: Sam and Remi Fargo.

The book starts out in the time of Napoleon. While Napoleon and his army were crossing the Alps, he stumbled upon an amazing discovery. Unable to transport it, he set about devising a unique mapping system on twelve bottles of rare wine. Each bottle contained a unique riddle which would lead to the location of the next, and so on. Upon Napoleon's death, the bottles disappeared...Until now.

Fast-forward to present-day. Remi and Sam are hunting for treasure in the Great Pocomoke Swamp in Maryland when they come across the wreckage of a World War II era German midget submarine. Located inside the submarine is one of the bottles of wine. Immediately, Remi and Sam set off in search of the remaining bottles, but, unknown to them, they are not the only ones searching.

On the other side of the world, Hadeon Bondaruk, a kingpin in the Russian mafia, is also searching for Napoleon's "Lost Cellar". What is about to begin is a world-wide chase that will pit the Fargos against Bondaruk and his henchmen. There are chases, shoot-em-ups, and riddles to solve thrown in as well.

I've read other books by Clive Cussler, and I have enjoyed them all. "Spartan Gold" is full of action and intrigue, and Cussler's new duo of Sam and Remi Fargo are easy to like and root for. Cussler has done a good job of developing these new characters, and I enjoyed the thrilling nature of the story. I did find the story to slow down a little in some parts, but these minor lapses do nothing to take away from the overall story.

The Fargos have instantly become favorites of mine, and I'm looking forward to reading their next adventure, "Lost Empire".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2017
Love Clive Cussler! Go on Good Reads and read at least the first dozen in order. Once he started writing with others the books lost a bit of their zest but are still good and do no follow in any order. If I want an escape, I read Clyde Cussler!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse