Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 70 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 84 reviews
on August 3, 2016
This is an excellent resource for someone looking to improve their general physical preparedness (GPP). The program is designed around the 300-rep workout used as a benchmark for the actors in the movie 300. Each exercise in that workout is a different kind of movement (upper body pull = pull ups, upper body push = push ups, lower body pull = deadlift, lower body push = box jump, etc.). Of course, if you did that six-exercise, 300-rep workout every day, you'd be either bored or hurt. Spartan Warrior Workout allows you to develop each of those exercises through related exercises (so the fourth exercise, box jumps, can be replaced with bodyweight squats or lunges). It is also programmed so that if you do a heavy day in one particular exercise (like floor wipers), you take it easy on the floor wipers the next day. There are also several different levels for each exercise, so if you can't quite do 50 pushups, you can do a couple sets of high planks instead. This is a progressive exercise program, and it really will develop strength, endurance, and a well-rounded, athletic foundation for your fitness. I have what I like to call Workout ADD, so this program takes a month or two in my larger fitness lifestyle alongside Pavel Tsatsouline's kettlebell-based Simple and Sinister and Eric Cressey's powerlifting-based Maximum Strength. essentially, this program bridges the gap between the lighter weight, high intensity kettlebell lifting and the heavy, less-cardio-stressful powerlifting.

I bought the Kindle version, but I would recommend a hard copy. It would be easier with a hard copy to flip to the exercise tutorials from the workout program pages. Some of the exercise equipment can't be found in an average gym (like sledgehammers), and can't be stored in an apartment (like truck tires), but if you really care about fitness and you don't need to be spoonfed your exercises, you can easily substitute things like medicine ball slams or tosses, pushups and situps to improve on military PT tests, etc.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2016
This book is very comprehensive about workouts, choices in workouts and illustrating them. If you need that then this is great. The minus is that really everywhere today so much of this book will be duplicated if you buy even one more book on the subject of "spartan" workouts. I wish he had focused on what was unique about his workouts or his workout plans. Current research (as of 2016) says that the variety (as illustrated in his workout plans that some find confusing) isn't really needed. Just the "Mark Rippitoe" method of keep doing a bit more every week. So he could have made this a lot easier to wade through. But for those who like to micro manage their workouts there is plenty to do here. He gives a mere 3 pages to nutrition. Everyone knows you make abs on diet and not crunches. So I think he did a disservice by not either going into more depth or pointing people to books or people that he approves of. I picked up this book in 2010 and used it at first then put it aside to only use when I was looking for something different to do in the gym or to use a new piece of equipment. So based on this I give it 3 stars. Its good but its missing a few items and it needs an updating. I think this is a better 2nd book than primary one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2012
First of all, in response to the guy complaining about training every day and seemingly knowing it all about workouts, apparently he couldn't be bothered to actually READ the book. It clearly states that you should do FOUR workouts per week. Regardless of the breaks or consecutive days, no more than four.

This is a very well thought out book that has a great deal of good information as well as a plethora of individual exercises and workout routines. The instructions are fairly clear for the exercises, and the diet principles are sound. My only real issues with this book are that some of the exercises are a little bit ridiculous and the charts are somewhat open to interpretation.

The exercises: tire flips, sled pushes, sledgehammers, etc. all require special equipment. Some real-world alternatives to these exercises would've been great since not everyone lives on a farm or has a giant MMA gym in town.

The charts: some of the charts aren't very descriptive. There are some sections that designate multiple sets, but the exercises are per-limb. I.e. does 6 sets of dead cleans mean 6 sets per arm or six overall (3 sets per arm). Also, some exercises are listed in sections right after one another, and I'm unsure if these are to be done in supersets or just consecutively. I guess the charts could benefit from a little better description.

Other than that, this is a solid book that will totally destroy you. I'm ten days in and loving every second of it. If you're not looking to work hard, find another book. This is like an extreme P90X but without all the wasted time and overhead. Very well done.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Physical fitness has always been an important part of my life. I have searched and incorporated numerous fitness programs in my own personal workouts. I have practiced various armed forces programs such as the Army special forces and the U.S. Navy SEAL fitness workout programs. I found the exercise routines in this book to be just as intense and challenging as most of the other warrior workout programs I have practiced. This program is the same one that got the actors who played in the movie 300 into great physical shape.

This excellent book is broken down into four parts. The first part explains the Spartan warrior workout program. The second part gives an overview of the actual programs. Third third part is the longest and shows the numerous exercises in this Spartan workout routine. Body weight exercises, as well as equipment (Weights, Dumbells, Kettle bells, and Rubber stretching tools) exercises are demonstrated. There is enough variety to keep you motivated. The final part is the appendix and covers general physical preparedness, warm-ups, and cool-downs.

In conclusion, if you desire to get into fantastic physical shape this is a book you will want to own.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Martial Art Myths)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2015
This is a very well-constructed book that presents a wide variety of body weight and kettle bell techniques, but it is also exceptional from the standpoint of basic movement and safety. It has a very nice section on stretching. I regularly use many of these exercises with clients in group training sessions, and the author has represented them well with a nice attention to safety and kinesiological detail. His choice and description of the exercises are both easy to understand and represent a solid, safe progression. I found a few new techniques/approaches I could add to my classes, and was nicely reminded about some safety issues in ones I already use. I would like to have seen the additional approaches in the appendix (tire flipping, sleds, sledgehammers, etc.) worked into the primary schedule, but perhaps he will do that in a future book. This is a really nice book to introduce one to functional exercise. Will it get you in Spartan shape in thirty days? I guess that depends on the individual and how bad they want it. As a great teacher once said, "If you pay the price, you cannot be denied." All the basic information is certainly here. I am currently a group fitness trainer, and I have a degree in health education/cardiovascular fitness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
Really, this is a book on cross-training. i suppose if you followed the plan outlined you would get ripped in 30 days. However, you need to be aware that would work if you are already in basically good shape. You have to approach a book or plan like this and say "Could I do this now?" If your workout, with minor tweaking could allow you to get in better shape, then this book will give you ideas for those tweeks.

Why do I give it four stars then? Because it is true to its word. If you followed the author's plan, you could get ripped that fast. However, I use it as reference book. I look to it when I want to try something new or target another exercise. Lets face it, doing the same exercises every day would be boring, and this is a great reference book for new ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2016
what?????

I can't understand the charts - guess I will have to read it again because its pretty convoluted (like some others say) I wanted to return it but its 6 bucks to send it back on a 13 buck book....that's nuts.

anyone have any insite on this book?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2017
This is a good routine and one that has enough variation to make it enjoyable throughout the course of the same however, you will either need some to a lot of specialized crossfit style equipment or you will need to do some substituting and tweaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2015
Good overall basic summary for a workout routine but there are better books out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2011
This book provides a great blueprint to get you going on the road to functional fitness. The workouts are basically a build-up to the 300 workout used by the actors in the movie 300 to get into shape. Each exercise is well described and includes pictures to show the technique. If you can't do a certain exercise, there are progression exercises to help you achieve it. Obviously, you can customize it to your needs but as it is, the workouts are very good. It really shows what can be done with a few free weights (kettlebells)and your own bodyweight. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse