Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 171 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 295 reviews
on April 10, 2017
Holds up well for a 22-year-old flick. Henstredge, Forest Whitaker, and Madsen, are on their acting game in this nicely done, intensively paced, science-fiction movie. Then science gone awry, it came from outer space, and woman as fearsome, devouring monster. Happy viewing~*
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
Sci-fi horror film, B-grade movie with A-class cast. A government science experiment that uses DNA info from a message from space to create a hybrid human, a new species. The hybrid human matures at a very accelerated rate and becomes a beautiful blonde woman (with a monster inside). She escapes the government facility and is driven to mate with a human male. No lack of volunteers. There is a final search and destroy mission by the eclectic team. Mostly a formula movie, but some interesting twists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
Classic sci-fi movie, I'm a movie buff and I only wish hollywood went back and created more flicks like this one , I know it's not the best F/X compared to the Mummy, but these days today's films are lacking so much, that I don't know where to start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2016
Dated and a little hard to follow at times but it was entertaining and suspenseful enough that we watched it all the way through. It was a bit formulaic for my tastes and the characters really did not get to make much use of the talents that got them picked for the job - so that was a bit strange. The very last scene was dumb and did not match the explanations that stayed true through the rest of the show - it would have been just fine to end the movie without that last scene and it could have been a bit more believable and conceivable - but whoever threw that in there just ruined the whole story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2011
Moderately entertaining sci-fi with transparently commercial premise: alien in form of astoundingly gorgeous and frequently naked Natasha Henstridge mates with humans to create hybrids which will destroy the planet.

The biggest mystery is how they EVER got Ben Kingsley involved in what is ultimately a cookie-cutter role as the team leader who tracks the alien down.

"Species" probably isn't one of Forest Whittaker's proudest moments either, although he does a competent turn as the psychic and "empath" who can read the alien's mind and sometimes anticipate her moves.

Bottom line: If you like women, Henstridge in the starring role is worth the price of admission by herself. She's almost as beautiful as Grace Kelly in "Rear Window" and every bit as sexy as Elisha Cuthbert in "Girl Next Door," even during the approximately half of Natasha's screen time where the script calls for her to have her clothes on (hint, hint). Richly deserves the "R" rating.

Hey, they don't ALL have to be Shakespeare, right?
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2016
Circa 1995 'scary' film. I enjoyed it. Reminds me of films I'd see at the drive-in with my buddies back in high school. You get to see Natasha Henstridge topless several times and her well-proportioned all natural form instantly makes any scene interesting. Hey, I'm just a dude, after all! I thought it interesting too that the little girl version of Sil at the beginning of the movie looks just like Kate Upton. Turns out this actress' name is Michelle Williams but the resemblance is profound. I also enjoyed seeing the likes of Ben Kingsley, Alfred Molina and Forest Whitaker from that long ago. Michael Madsen plays the exact same kind of guy he is in every film I've seen him in.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
Oh man this was bad! It started off okay. But then it was like the writers went out for a smoke -- and it wasn't tobacco. The timelines started getting really messed up. It just became stupid.

There were a lot of boobie shots - most completely unnecessary. But I am a hetero female so that wasn't enough to hold my interest.

I see that there are two sequels to this. That is sad!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
Roger Donaldson simply isn't a very good movie director. Let's take the final sequence when the team pursues Sil into Los Angeles' sewer system. For some strange reason Forest Whitaker's psychic abilities fail him for the first time after a good track record up to that point. No explanation for this. And for some strange reason Ben Kingsley has a snit fit and goes off chasing Sil, expecting Whitaker to follow him. Whitaker acts like he's in a daze and does not follow. Hence Kingsley gets killed by Sil. This behavior on the part of both men makes no sense.

Another thing that makes no sense is why is Sil hanging around Los Angeles? Everyone thinks she's dead and she ought to be relocating elsewhere. But instead she actually visits the team in their hotel - why? Who know? and this leads to her death.

Bryce A, Sudrow
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
Great special effects and a decent story line.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
I really enjoyed the first film in the Species series. Love Natasha Henstridge. Think she does.good job of playing Sil. Basically she is created in a lab with dna sequencing information sent from outer space. Sil grows at an accelerate rate so does her appetite for reproduction. Lots of good visual effects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99

Need customer service? Click here