Kindle Price: $3.99
kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Specimen: A Novel of Horror (The Riders Saga Book 1) by [Kahle, Pete]
Kindle App Ad

The Specimen: A Novel of Horror (The Riders Saga Book 1) Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 190 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
eBook
"Please retry"
$3.99

Length: 512 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.
  • Similar books to The Specimen: A Novel of Horror (The Riders Saga Book 1)

This month's Book With Buzz: "The Silent Corner" by Dean Koontz
A dazzling new series, a pure adrenaline rush, debuts with Jane Hawk, a remarkable heroine certain to become an icon of suspense. See more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

WINNER - 2014 Kindle Book Awards (Horror/Suspense) - The Kindle Book Review

"I do not recall reading such an epic debut novel, since I first discovered Terry Goodkind's Wizard's First Rule... I am so glad that [Kahle] decided to finally unleash his twisted mind upon the world. Fans of Brian Lumley and Richard Laymon will be all the better for it!" - The Mad Ravings of an Entertainment Junkie.

"For a first time novelist, Pete Kahle certainly does not lack for ambition. He boldly goes right for the jugular in constructing a millennia-spanning tale... This interesting riff on Invasion of the Body Snatchers - which also shares some attributes with Richard Laymon's novel, Flesh - is epic in length for a horror novel... By the end of the novel, there's much to like about The Specimen. It crosses the divide between sci-fi and horror (with plenty of thriller elements thrown in) very well."  - Horror After Dark

"[Kahle] ...does a good job of crafting scenes. Each one is well written and really puts you in the middle of the situation. The creatures are plenty creepy, otherworldly, and disgusting as they burrow into a person's back with their spiny tentacles. The Specimen is an action-filled story... [that] will hold your interest and keep you entertained." - Horror Novel Reviews

About the Author

Pete Kahle has been dreaming and talking about writing novels since his teens, but after flirting with the idea in college, he spent 25 years working in a variety of careers before he finally stopped voicing his wishes and started putting pen to paper and fulfilling his dream

He has lived in New York, Arizona and Spain, but now he resides in Massachusetts with his beautiful wife Noemi, his two amazing children Zoe and Eli, one dog, two hamsters, two guinea pigs and two frogs.
Pete is a voracious reader of horror, thrillers and science fiction novels and he writes in the same vein. He is also a rabid fan of the New York Jets, despite living deep in the heart of enemy territory near Gillette Stadium.
His first novel, THE SPECIMEN, is an epic tale of unrelenting alien terror. Recently, Pete also solicited the contributions of 47 other authors and put together WIDOWMAKERS: A BENEFIT ANTHOLOGY OF DARK FICTION to help fellow scribe, James Newman, in a time of need.
His next novel, BLOOD MOTHER, is due out in the spring of 2015, followed by THE ABOMINATION, the 2nd novel in the Specimen Saga... and that's just the beginning.
There are many other twisted tales percolating inside his head, and now that the dark closet in his subconscious has been opened, the monsters are clamoring to come out for a visit.

Product details

  • File Size: 2060 KB
  • Print Length: 512 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Bloodshot Books; 2 edition (April 8, 2014)
  • Publication Date: April 8, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00JKDBLYC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #271,739 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on April 18, 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 21, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Specimen: A Novel of Horror (The Riders Saga Book 1)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Specimen: A Novel of Horror (The Riders Saga Book 1)