<Embed>
Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership.
Buy new:
$11.83
List Price: $14.20
Save: $2.37 (17%)
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
Arrives: Saturday, Dec 12 Details
Fastest delivery: Thursday, Dec 10 Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com

Sold by
Amazon.com

Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2021
For the 2020 holiday season, returnable items shipped between October 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2021.
Spider's Web (Magdalena S... has been added to your Cart

Other Sellers on Amazon
$9.96
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: ---SuperBookDeals
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Spider's Web (Magdalena Series) Paperback – November 30, 2018

4.6 out of 5 stars 11 ratings
Book 3 of 4: The Magdalena Series

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$11.83
$9.96 $13.31

Books with Buzz
Discover the latest buzz-worthy books, from mysteries and romance to humor and nonfiction. Explore more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review


"The third book in Shannon Condon's popular Magdalena series, Spider's Web follows the titular character Maggie and her team of special ops, as they take on new missions from the safety of the Grid. Three years have passed since Maggie's near fatal injury, but the memories and the scars still haunt her. Unfulfilled and depressed at home, Maggie is determined to reenter the field, whatever the cost. But she's unsure of who to trust, and equally as unsure of the real world she's kept herself away from. Before she even has time to plan her next move, Maggie finds herself kidnapped by an unknown foe while on holiday. With old enemies lurking at every turn, will she ever be able to escape the deadly web of her own making?
With plenty of twists, turns, and double crosses that will keep any reader guessing, Spider's Web is a fast paced novel, part spy thriller, part crime fiction, and part character-driven drama. There's enough action and adventure to keep mystery enthusiasts happy, and enough turmoil to keep contemporary fiction readers turning the pages. As much about Maggie as it is her kidnapping and the odyssey that follows, the Magdalena series' third chapter proves Condon's ability to entertain and enthrall, drawing us into the characters and the world she's created. 
Peripherally, Spider's Web is a spy thriller, but Maggie is the core of the story. We learn more about her past, her family, and how all the pieces come together for her. Described as female James Bond, Maggie is an intriguing and complex character, whose hardened interior hides a soft, vulnerable core. Whether her anxieties and her panic attacks humanize her or isolate her, depends very much on the reader. For those that like their characters well rounded, if not flawed, Maggie will be a welcome relief from stock action heroes. But those uninterested in bouts of melancholic wallowing, may find that the heavy dialogue bogs down the storytelling at times. Less of a flaw than a marmite situation, Maggie makes or breaks the work, depending on which side of the fence you sit on. 
Spider's Web
 contains an involving story and some fine writing that is a satisfying read."
Pages: 406 | ASIN: B089QKY87S

LITERARY TITAN ★★★★


Spider's Web
Shannon Condon
"Events in the tragic past and dangerous present spectacularly collide in Condon's fast-paced second Magdalena thriller. After a brush with death three years before, special ops agent Magdalena "Maggie" Curran is now helping covert missions succeed from the safety of her basement operations center in a quiet Virginia town. Restless from being sidelined with "safe" duties, Maggie longs to get back in the field despite the danger and the family she loves. She struggles to reconcile this urge with her desires to continue her musical training and her difficulty conceiving a second child with her husband, fellow agent Bernardo. When the son of an old enemy with ties to the Russians reappears and past truths are revealed, Maggie must uncover subterfuge, betrayal, heartbreaking losses, and danger to reclaim her life."
"Finding Magdalena introduced Maggie as a teenager in a harrowing tale of love and loss. Now readers get to appreciate Maggie as an adult: agent, singer, mother, and wife. The dialogue can sometimes be stilted or trite ("I need to remember that a lot of women don't even get one baby"),but the emotions underneath it are real. Domestic issues including fertility problems, jealousy, and mental illness intertwine and juxtapose with dangerous enemies including the mysterious group known as the Brotherhood, and loved ones become collateral damage when covert operations go terribly wrong, showing the tragic humanity in the espionage world. Condon's wonderful heroine is a survivor above all else. The story boasts a rare mix of daring spycraft and the domestic life of an extended family, though this sometimes leads to uneven pacing and an overextended plot. There's much to enjoy as Maggie outwits kidnappers and Russian operatives while facing her own fears and demons. Both new and returning readers will appreciate the promise of this unique series and be eager to follow Maggie wherever her dangerous, fulfilling life takes her next."

"Takeaway: A tough heroine with strong family ties brings adventures galore to thriller readers wishing their ordinary lives could be just a little more exciting."

Great for fans of David Baldacci's King & Maxwell series, Dan Fesperman's Safe Houses.
Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: -
Editing: B-
Marketing copy: B+


BOOKLIFE

About the Author

Shannon Condon is an award winning writer and has been writing since her early teens. She graduated Phi Kappa Phi from the College of Journalism and Communications at the University of Florida. In 2014, she had the opportunity to become a full-time writer and the result is the Magdalena Series. It follows protagonist, Maggie Curran from a newly orphaned fifteen-year old to an adult with a family and career as a black ops assassin. Shannon loves to write suspense/thrillers and crime mystery. Keeping the reader on the edge of his seat with unexpected twists and turns is what motivates her. She is currently taking a hiatus from the Magdalena Series to explore a new genre. Her upcoming book is a YA paranormal thriller. Shannon is excited about the change and hopes to give her readers chills! She likes to travel to the locations where her books are set whenever possible to immerse herself in the culture and bring genuine details to the settings.

Shannon is a mom to three amazing boys and after living in different parts of the country has been in North Carolina for twenty years. Watching her sons live their dreams is a constant inspiration for her.

Product details

  • Item Weight : 15.5 ounces
  • Paperback : 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1911569902
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1911569909
  • Dimensions : 5 x 0.92 x 8 inches
  • Publisher : Rowanvale Books (November 30, 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 11 ratings

Book Subscription Boxes Book Subscription Boxes

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
11 global ratings
5 star
70%
4 star
18%
3 star
12%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on February 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on May 31, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on July 21, 2019
Reviewed in the United States on December 9, 2018
Reviewed in the United States on February 12, 2019

Top reviews from other countries

Love
5.0 out of 5 stars A suspenseful page turner!
Reviewed in Canada on October 28, 2019
Verified Purchase