Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno

Spirit Bound (A Sea Haven Novel)
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$5.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(3 star). See all 278 reviews
on October 14, 2016
I feel almost the same way about this book that I did about Turbulent Sea, though I like this one a little better.

The writing wasn’t all that great here, I didn’t feel the same way I did about Water Bound. The cover is alright, though maybe it could have had something to do with what she loved to do, painting instead of looking like the picture described on a jail cell wall. Like Rikki on her cover. It was in the sea and set the tone for the story. This one…not so much.

It’s always going to be interesting learning about the brothers and the girls past but I just couldn’t seem to lose myself in this book. It was rather slow paced for the plot and the ending with the bad guy was a bit anti-climactic. I’m not really sure what to write about this book.

Even when there was action, it felt tame. There was a lot of talk about emotions in this book and maybe that’s one of the reasons I didn’t really feel anything for it? It was a good book, don’t get me wrong, I just didn’t really feel anything.

I know the author writes about the couple that speaks to her the loudest but I feel like this one should have waited? Introduce all the single elements first and then the one that binds them?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2013
I have enjoyed most of the stories I have read by Ms. Feehan (my favorite being "Dark Fire"). I also enjoyed this story, but there is a similar story by the same author that I liked better: "Turbulent Sea". Unfortunately, both these stories had an element I hated: The hero is trained sexually to seduce women into telling all, and uses his skills as methodically ruthless as his other fighting skills, in his under-cover missions. This aspect of both novels disturbed me. That is why I only gave "Turbulent Sea" 4 stars.

However, I found the hero's sexual training to coldly seduce women, more objectionable in "Spirit Bound", because he actually employs such "skills" on the heroine. Despite his instant attraction to her, he uses her (at least it felt that way to me), and he definitely deceives her in a terrible way. And worse, when he finally comes clean with her, she TOO EASILY FORGAVE HIM. TRIPLE YIKES!!!!! Thus, my 3 star rating for this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2012
First let me say I have read all of the Sea Haven books, these last two for this series are not as good as the other books. I think this author needs to build these charaters like she did the Drake sisters, so much time is spent on how they look physically that you never really get to know the characters inside. Of course if I had not bought the first two Drake sisters books I would have stopped at the first one, the writing was terrible and the story was so short. But the more the stories un-folded the better her writing was and you grow to love these characters.

All and all she needs to include the Drakes and their families into to these books as well, since they both take place in Sea Haven and suppose to be related.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2012
This second book in the Sea Haven series is an improvement over Water Bound but still not as good as the Drake Sisters series. There is too much repetition of minor details and not enough action. This heroine is a more sympathic character than Rikki but Ms Feehan did not develope a strong enough tie between the Russian brothers other than the 2 living in the compound with the element bound "sisters". Because Sea Haven is a common thread, it would be great if the element sisters interacted with their witchy Drake counterparts and if the men developed a relationship, as well. The background info is important but there seems to be more past than present in this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
I have been a fan of Christine Feehan since I purchased my first Christine Feehan novel. Her "Dark" books are among my favorites. However, this new series has somewhat disappointed me. First, we have an autistic diver (I really couldn't get into her character, the way she was written) and now we have a super sensitive Judith attracting a super tough like Stefan. There were lots of places in this book where you have to just "go with it", like Jonas not being as intelligent as we know him to be, citizens not calling 9-1-1 when hearing gunshots, and like another reviewer pointed out, the bad guy not showing up with a full entourage of bad guys. Oh well, Christine can't always be perfect. Unfortunately, that is what her readers are coming to expect from her. I gave this book only a 3 because the potential was there, but the book didn't live up to it.

Did anyone else catch that the oldest sister knew the priest? Are we to learn that she is married to another of the brothers? Are we going to see all the women married to the brothers? If so, Christine, please have your editors pay more attention to the things in previous books. Your characters should stay true to themselves, even in follow-up books.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2012
Summary:

Stefan Prakenskii and all of his brothers are one of Russia's dirty little secrets. As a young child his parents were killed in front of him and his 6 brothers and they were all shipped off to orphanages/military installments to teach these kids everything that they should never been taught.

Now one of Russia's top agents he has been tasked with recovering a vital microchip containing Russia's defense system. For five years he has been tracking the chip and all trails lead straight to Jean-Claude La Roux. Now, after five years Stefan almost has La Roux in his clutches, he is sharing a jail cell with the terrorist in France. Stefan knows the way to catch La Roux is to break him out of jail and interrogate him. Stefan knows La Roux's weakness is a young beautiful woman that La Roux literally has hundreds of photos of around his cell.

Five years ago Judith was a young art student in France when she met Jean-Claude La Roux, and was swept off her feet by the handsome influential Frenchman. Ignoring all the red flags was the most fatal mistake Judith ever made and it cost her brother his life. Five years later Judith is an artist coming into international fame and is living in Sea Haven with her "sisters". She cuts herself off from all emotion because she knows the power she holds and how dangerous it can be. She is almost drowning in her own emotions when another entirely different successful business man enters her life looking to buy an art gallery; Judith is to broker the deal as the art gallery's general manager.

Sea Haven seems to be coming up a lot in Stefan's life lately. It is where his youngest brother Ilya settled and where his other brother reportedly died when a ship sunk. It comes as little surprise to Stefan, when his orders change and he is sent to Sea Haven instead of integrating La Roux to babysit Judith on the off chance La Roux will come for her. Stefan has a feeling this is really about his brother Lev, their handlers don't really believe he's dead. In fact neither does Stefan. Stefan, dusts off one of his deep covers even Russia doesn't know about and heads to Sea Haven as Thomas Vincent a successful business man looking to buy an art gallery.

What Stefan wasn't expecting was Judith. The first time Judith looks Vincent in the eye she knows something big just happened... her spirit connected to someone's else's spirit for the first time and merged with his and for a Spirit Element that is a big deal. Judith knows for that same reason she has to stay far from Vincent even as she is drawn to him. Bad things happen when her element gets involved. When "Thomas Vincent" looks Judith's eye's for the first time it is Stephan that knows his life has just changed; life as he always known it is no longer going to be enough. Now all he has to do is win over Judith, save his brother's life, kill Petr Ivanov, find the microchip and find a way to "die" so Russia doesn't decide to "retire" him. Easy Pezzy!

Review:

I have to say I was looking forward to this release for months before it came out. I love the Prakenskii's, especially Ilya! Well I mean who doesn't love Ilya?? And Lev is yummy in his own right, so when I saw that Stefan was going to be our next Prakenskii I have to say I was excited. Now I have to say I disappointed with this installment of the Sisters of the Heart Sea Haven installment. Why was I disappointed you ask??

*Insta-Love: In the first half of this book I was about choking on the insta-love between Stefan and Judith. I know that with the Prakenskii's it's a soul mate deal and they know when they have found their woman; but there is insta-love done well and there is insta-love done horribally wrong. In this case it really rode the fine line. I wasn't turned off enough to give up on the book; which I have done in the past but it was definitely enough to roll my eyes several times. I mean in less than 24 hours they are both thinking in terms of forever. Even as Judith is saying "No, this can't happen, I'm too dangerous" she is sucking major face with Stefan. Talk about "No, mean's Yes! Take me NOW!" LOL.

*Repetitive statements: Feehan, kept repeating herself over and over in the first half of the book. She was basically re-writing the same few sentences in different ways over and over and over again. I was like ok, we get it already, move on.
Hypocrite Much: Stefan was pretty hypocritical in the first half. I dislike a blatant hypocrite. It gets better in the second half.

*Know your characters: It didn't seem like to me that even Feehan had a firm grasp of who her characters were as people; Judith especially. Judith seems under developed. Who is Judith? I don't feel like I could give you a good answer to that question after finishing this book. I know that Rikki is a controversial character due to her autism, but you knew who she was as a person, she had a distinct personality. Maybe the issue with Judith is Feehan was trying to do too much with her, spreading her in too many directions.

*Spirit Element: What in the world is a spirit element?? I'm not sure I can even give you a full answer on that. Ok, so she can draw on people's emotions and project her emotion onto others that I get. Now how does that translate to weaving other elements together and boosting powers? I don't get it. Am I an idiot am I the only one that didn't really get that one?

*Prakenskii Talents: So Lev can use animals to do his bidding and look through their eyes, he can heal and plant memories. Stefan displayed opening locks and telekenisis and that's it, and the 2nd didn't even come out until the 2nd half of the book. Ilya only displayed some control of the weather like Hannah, considerable healing powers similar to Libby, Spell speaking like Joley and make himself unnoticeable. Ilya is supposed to have all the gifts but displayed more Drake like skills then Prakenskii like skills and this inconsistency kinda bugged me. (inconstancies is one of my biggest pet peeves).

*Bonehead Decisions: Judith really makes some seriously stupid decisions a few times in this book. To the point I was going WTF! Seriously, damn that was stupid, what are you thinking?? And there was one scene that was just a big cluster ....
No Ilya: So the entire reason I picked up this spin off from the Drakes was to see Ilya again. I was disappointed that he wasn't in the first book, but Lev kind of made up for that. But here I am again wishing for a glimpse of Ilya but again he is absent. Erg! You do a teeny tiny bit of Jonas and a micro second of Alexsandr. If I couldn't have Ilya I could have lived with more Alexsandr but even that was so fleeting it was just a tease.

*Second Half: Just about everything of importance comes toward the second half. The first half is almost entirely made up of Stefan and Judith and their insta-love.

So I don't want it to seem like this book was all bad, the second half does pick up. Most of the issues above are in the first half and you just have to chug through it. Stefan and Judith kind of calm down on the insta-love and find some more medium ground. Actually, Stefan kind of pushes through and becomes more likeable in the 2nd half and you get more of a feel of who he is aside from a covert agent who lives in the shadows. His attempts at figuring out relationships are quite comical and make you smile. This leads into there is more Stefan and Lev interaction. In fact some of the best parts of this book are Stefan and Lev interacting. I really liked bringing these two together. Stefan may have been older but it was Lev that ended up guiding Stefan a lot. He was basically Stefan's guide into the world of women and emotions and it was kind of endearing as far as brother moments go. A lot more action happens in the second half, almost making it seemed rushed but that's okay, at least something happens. You get a hint at a future story and it'll probably be a dozy! My curiosity is definitely aroused with this small glimpse and no I'm not telling what this small glimpse is. Read the book!

So should you read this book? I'd say yes if you are planning on keeping with this series. There are four more Prakenskii brothers lingering out there and single and just waiting for their story to be told. Because let's face it we all started this series for the Prakenskii brothers not so much the "sisters" although a few of the sisters have also intrigued me. All you have to get through is the smothering insta-love in the beginning and then the rest of the book reads more like the other books of the Drake/Sisters of the Heart books. And if you don't mind or actually like insta-love then that won't bother you.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
Again, Feehan has a creative story and developed intrigue, but with too many pages devoted to "bedroom scenes". Good, but pages and pages of the same thing?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2015
Good read, but the sex scenes were a little much for me and took away from the reading. It flows with interest and then it seems to infuse pornography nut sensual love scenes like the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2012
Like many who have left reviews I've been looking forward to Ms. Feehan's newest book. I've read all her books, and still find the Dark series my favorites. With that being said, I fell in love with the Drake Sisters and how closely they remained in each other's lives and supported each other.

Ilya was a fresh slant on the Seven sisters story that intrigued me and opened up a new direction with a similar theme for Seven brothers. I was thrilled with the idea of Water Bound's plot line of continuing the possibility of the brothers banding together and being reunited. I was definitely disappointed that Ilya and Lev didn't have a stronger bond or a similar support system as the Sisters, and I find it slightly implausible that each of the women on the farm will end up with a Prakenskii brother. Blythe 'may' be tied to a brother, Lev and Rikki, now Stefan and Judith?

The premise seemed to have incredible potential, but very few of the potential tie-ins were discussed or developed. Some areas of tie-ins (like the potential for Levi being ostracised by the Drakes) were put in almost as an after thought. Some areas of disucssion seemed pointless and didn't propel the plot line or the purpose of the book. Like I said it was close to being a really good book, but fell short. Water Bound I felt wasn't terrific but it was because it was laying potential foundation for future books, so yes some areas were left open, but if I thought Spirit Bound would help tie up or open more avenues??? it fell short. I can't say that I'll never read a Feehan book again, but I can say that I'll be very careful before jumping into another purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
As with the first book I thought this one would be just the same, but I did find myself putting the book down more than reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse