Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Nina Nesbitt PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
33
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 33 reviews
on May 7, 2017
Nkvak brings together the basis of our society as envisioned by the Enlightenment and our founding fathers. The three legs of the stool being democracy, the free market, and Judaeo-Christian values. Although not a perfect system, he argues, it is by far the best man has ever devised for governing and improving himself. Novak lays out his premise and then, for the most part, does a good job of proving and defending it through empirical and philosophical evidence. Good read on America's foundation principals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
A Must Read for anyone planning a career in the business or government community. Outstanding book to help modern society understand that Capitalism is not an "evil force of repression" but a valuable economic method of exchange. Democratic capitalism as defined by Novak provides the best opportunities for societies to grow & the people w/in those societies to flourish. Religion, charity, jobs, personal growth all advance due to economic democratic capitalism which provides opportunities for all people at different levels of education or skills, & provides those people the best chance of advancement & financial security.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
Mr. Novak presents a strong case for the merits of capitalism, and one that should be considered by any student of economics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
Novak's work is a major attempt to reconcile modern discussions of economic and democratic structure with Christian theology. Outcome based, Novak demonstrates why Capitalism is superior to Socialism because of its connection to true democratic thought.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
I never read books on economics, but this seemed perfect for me as the author relates how the economic, political, and moral/cultural systems intertertwine, and check and balance each other. It definitely puts a Christian/ Jewish faith at the core of its values, but it does not overconcern itself with religion even though the author admits to this being his framework and most important part of his life. It is more about looking at capitalism in a new light, especially for those intellectuals who still look to socialism.
It is an especially important book for me because I grew up despising the American culture, the consumer culture, and our imperialistic culture. There are still very real problems with our culture, but this is a great examination into the ideals we were built upon and why capitalism is the best system humans have been able to come up with to save us from ourselves.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2017
This should be required reading in schools and also should be required by all politicians to review what this country and economy is all about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
A tough read sometimes, but a marvelous history and theory and facts regarding Democratic Capitalism. Highly recommended for anyone that has a serious interest in national and international political systems and cultures.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
Gives me talking points for discussing with ultra liberals in my family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
excellent read; very informative. A very good writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
This book is an intellectual masterpiece. For those who have spent decades wading through harsh moral critiques of capitalism and its core dynamics, Novak offers a meticulously researched, sweeping and elegant counterweight. Among the best books I have ever encountered.

dh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse