Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts spring Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 27 reviews
on April 19, 2017
The movie was alright I thought there would be A few more killings though the cast for the most part were alright. I did like the personnel issues and some romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
The set is frankly distracting...and the main character is cute but very killable. it is a TRY HARD picture...it tries hard to fulfill its horror legacy but is all a fantasy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2009
I know that a lot of people hate this film, I mean, there are a lot of things to hate it for, but I keep going back to it to watch it. Maybe it's the overall cheese factor with this film. It's really not that good but it's one of those movies that I like to watch again and again.

The plot, what little there is, is about murders happening on a school campus. Let's look at the good and bad as far as I see it:

Pro's:
1. Good gore effects
2. Horrendous acting and dialogue (it's seriously laughable, at least I did)

Con's:
Everything else. Seriously, this movie was shot on 16mm then blown up to 35mm. It has no redeeming value and is a slow mover but the gore is entertaining. The mistakes are left in, it's like they could only do one take even if an actor screwed up their lines.

I don't love this movie but if I'm heading off to bed from time to time I like to pop it in. It's a stupid, insipid flick but I still like it!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 16, 2013
SPLATTER UNIVERSITY is a pretty inept film, yet I love it.

A young woman takes on a teaching assignment at a "university." The sets look more like a bottom-of-the-barrel community college to me. Actually, it looks like a high school building, but I suppose it could pass for a low rent community college.

A previous teacher had been killed last semester, and now the killings start again. Students as well as teachers are killed. There's not much more to the plot. It's a slasher film. There's a body count of stupid victims. What more do you need?

The acting is awful. Many of the lines are delivered in wooden tones. Some actors chew the scenery. I don't think most of the cast performed in anything else, though the lead actress went on to host a lot of infomercials under another name.

The special effects are not very special. Mostly just blood tossed about. When a knife goes into a victim's body, the body looks like a sandbag or sack of flour, with a blouse over it. That is to say, the "body" looks very stiff and shapeless. Obviously not a human body.

But that's okay. That's what suspension of disbelief is for. I can overlook the poor effects and accept that it's a human body.

The DVD's visual quality is acceptable, but not that great. It's kind of grainy. But this is because the film was shot on 16mm, so it's likely the best you'll ever see of this film. Happily, the film's graininess supports the story's "streets of New Jersey" grittiness.

SPLATTER UNIVERSITY is very entertaining. I've seen it many times. Shot in New Jersey, it's full of strong New Jersey accents and stereotypes. Many of the guys sound Italian (of course, there's one named Tony), and they're always making sexist remarks toward their girls. One of those girl's has HUGE HAIR, the sort the 1980s were famous for. She also wears 1980s punk leather clothing.

That's another fun aspect to SPLATTER UNIVERSITY. It's a time capsule of politically incorrect, fashion catastrophe, 1980s New Jersey.

SPLATTER UNIVERSITY was Troma Film's contribution to the 1980s slasher bandwagon. I'm not a big fan of Troma films. Most of them have too much lame humor. But SPLATTER UNIVERSITY and Mother's Day are my two favorite Troma films, because the horror elements are able to hold their own -- the humor is merely some added spice (unlike in some other Troma films, where the humor is so pervasive, it overwhelms the horror).
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 15, 2008
This movie wasn't bad. It's just about a psycho who escapes a mental institution and kills primarily women at a catholic univeristy.

The movie moves along quite nice, but doesn't really get into the reason behind the why this psycho kills poeple--guess cuase he's just plan nuts!!

I like the grainy ealy 80's look of the film and the clothes and hair are laughable--what's more laughable is that this flick must have been on a real tight budget--for days and nights go by and many of the characters wear the same clothes everyday!!! The gore is typical for the time it was filmed, stabbings, throats slashed and lots of fake blood everywhere....

If you like old type B / Drive In Flicks and can get it cheap, it's worth picking up to watch occasionally with some popcorn.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
This low budget film is soo bad…..it’s good. The film was shot for around $50,000. The film fans will even be able to spot the film cameras in some scenes. Really bad acting. Really gory death scenes. Weak ending. The annoying rock song played through out the film. Heck, even the director is in the film in one scene. After all that, I love this film because of the cheesiness of the film and that Troma distributed, and the cheap FX. I really enjoyed this film a lot. Definitely check this film out if you love cheesy horror films, Low budget films, Slasher films, or 80s slasher films. Give this film a watch, have a few laughs, and sit down and relax!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
This was a great remaster from the early troma film seen this way back in the day cool lil low budget slasher and a good story ,for fans of dead dudes in the house or class of nuke em high or even sleep away camp 2 and 3.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2016
For me this had no real horror aspect or gore. It's a typical 70s type movie complete with stop action scenes. The plot was a bit thin and the antagonist was quite clear to me. Not one of my favorites.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2007
Glad to have bought it. I love old slasher flicks and its great to have such a large selection to choose from.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
this was a great movie have looked for this for a long time was very excited to find this very good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse