Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Prophets of Rage Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 292 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 410 reviews
on August 1, 2016
I loved the insight in behind the scene happenings in the First Family.

Who would have imagined that the President himself must pay for the food when they have friends/family in to dine. Oh and by the way,here's the lowdown on all the do's and don'ts before meeting heads of State or traveling to a foreign country that you need to know and remember

Insights like this that made this book so much more interesting.

It truly was written "from the heart" and well worth the read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2011
In my mind's eye, there was one bright light in the eight years of the Bush administration and it was, indeed, Laura Bush!! This small-town Texas woman is exceptionally intelligent, caring, and, extremely private. Yet, in "Spoken From The Heart," she opens up to all of us who so admire her...and writes with the skill of an award-winning author.
Ms. Bush's sweeping descriptive language made this reader feel as if I were traveling through her life in the Texas heat alongside of her. Her reliving of the horrible car accident, in which she was driving, that led to the death of a high school classmate, touched me deeply. It is easy to see that, at age 17, this disturbing incident transformed a carefree teenager into a mature woman with great faith and a remarkable ability to forgive and forget the foilables in others and to embrace all people who have moved through her very full life.
I highly recommend this superb memoir to readers of all political leanings. You will not receive a treatise on politics within these pages, but a beautifully told story of a life. I am so glad I bought this book in hardback as I have added it to my "reread often" stack of my favorite books. "Spoken From the Heart" is a masterpiece which makes readers reflect on their own attitudes and lives.
Simply put, this book is a home run and I hope to see Mrs. Bush back on the page again soon!! Bravo to one classy lady!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
I have met this wonderful lady in person when she would come into the store I worked in. She was a classy gal then and after watching her in the public eye and now reading her story, she stands heads above almost every lady around. this book was easy to read and made me feel like I am one of the family just listening to stories, hanging around the family. Great reading and a must re-read book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
This book covered the details of the time the Bushes were in the White House and before. Absolutely amazing to find out how much Laura Bush travelled and the amount of goodwill and friendships she encountered along the way!!
She had just the right of humor and also entertaining information making this book delightful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2010
Laura writes from her heart... as a woman, a wife, a mother, a teacher, leaving no doubt about her priorities in life. A refreshing and informative account of one woman's journey through trying and joyful moments of a varied and busy life in the public eye. It is always with the thread that life is just that... a journey. To be strong to face difficulties or challenges takes a discipline and a willingness to try and being true to oneself without exception. This is that lady... and I say "lady" with conviction. She is kind to others in this book, when others weren't kind to her or to her family. She credits those who have inspired her and disparages no one. A learned person who thrives on learning and is joyed to help promote that desire to learn in children and in others worldwide with lesser opportunity to learn. This book bespeaks a person who lives honestly and who inspires others to do the same. I would love to meet her some day and tell her that her book is exceptional and thank her in person. She has written herself into the pages with a quiet, subtle way and emerges as a woman of substance and a good heart. Reading her book, one learns things more important to the people of this country than any politician could hope to spout off about. We should all be so open and straightforward...and kind.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was pleasantly surprised of the warm details Laura Bush includes in this book/audio version. The first two discs are about her early years in West Texas; she doesn't meet George until the end of the second disc. And that is fine, as her life is just as interesting even without George in it.

Narrated by Laura herself, the audio version is a lovely narrative of life in Texas and then being the president's wife. The two almost contradict each other, because as soon as she becomes the Governor's wife and later the President's wife her story becomes George's story and some of that charm is lost. Yet she never loses her passion for life, never has a discouraging word to say about others, and she never loses her love for George. All that is quite honorable from a woman who had so many fans and haters while serving as First Lady.

I thought this was a wonderful memoir from a First Lady. I found it much more enjoyable (and more believable) than Hillary Clinton's version. Having Laura narrate it adds a nice Texas charm.

And before I get bashed, let me add that I definitely did not vote for Laura's husband either time. This book and its honesty, however make it hard to dislike Laura. She remains a classy woman despite the serious presidential flaws of her husband. People who bash this memoir really ought to read/listen to this with an open mind. Although she reveals no secrets, her insights provide nice stories about life in the White House and her duties as First Lady.

A great addition for anyone who enjoys presidential books or First Lady narratives.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
I have always admired and respected Laura Bush for her work, before and during her White House years. She is graceful, witty and doesn't take herself to seriously. I appreciated the fact that she felt being in the White House was a distinct honor and was very humbled, I don't remember many who shared in that sentiment, except maybe Hilary Clinton. She has remained true to her early values, and is very protective of her family. This was evident during the book when she spent a great deal of time defending her husbands political decisions, not surprising that she would do this. I would have liked reading a little more about her her actual day to day activities in the White House. But overall, I really enjoyed the book!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
My father was career military, Texas has many locations of bases I was raised on. Laura Bush mentions a few places I remember in my childhood. The other amazing thing reading Laura's book - what a delightful person. She weaves decades of history and people making up the history into her writing. Her title part 'from the Heart' - this is a book that will touch your heart, it has certainly touched mine. If you are a Texan or have experienced Texas and Texans - the great flavor of Texas is woven through out this book. Thank you Laura for writing words 'Spoken from the Heart' - what a gift sharing your beautiful heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
Great Read. I'm more progressive than most but really liked Mrs. Bush. George definitely married up. A lotta class here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2014
The research for this book must have been overwhelming. The author includes so many stories of people who would be considered small and unimportant by many. It is presented with honesty and is inclusive of others without partiality. Mrs. Bush is a great example of what an American woman should be..... , loyal to family, a person with genuine values, loyal to country, lover of children, a worker on behalf of women around the world ...and a most exemplary Texan! IIt was a pleasure to share this book with granddaughters. Pat Wallis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse