Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sports Illustrated The Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years of Football
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 21, 2010
Last week, I was fortunate enough to receive an advance copy of the soon to be released "Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years Of Football" by Sports Illustrated.

Now I've read my fair share of books on the Dallas Cowboys over the years, but this is the first one that I immediately cherished as a collectors item. Believe me when I tell you, that once you get this fine book in your hands, you'll find it very difficult to put down, and I'm not kidding you either.

The book is loaded with some of the most sensational anecdotes and articles about the Cowboys as brought to you by the some of the best sports writers in the country.

I love the way they broke it down into decades.

The photography is stunning and the book is loaded with a vast collection of unforgettable shots that captures the entire history of this historic franchise.

Here is some additional information from the publisher:

Sports Illustrated will release `The Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years Of Football' on August 24th.

The rich heritage of the Cowboys is captured in this extraordinary collection of stories by the finest sports writers in the world, including Peter King, Tim Layden and Dan Jenkins, a spectacular selection of images from the best photo archive in sports, and a mind-boggling array of stats, anecdotes and memorabilia. It is the ultimate celebration of the Dallas Cowboys.

Sports Illustrated The Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years Of Football gives fans an insider look from Sports Illustrated senior writer, Peter King, whose in depth access to "America's Team" includes a three-city scouting trip with Jimmy Johnson to a training camp sit down interview with Tony Romo to discuss his personal life in the off-season.

From the teams humble beginnings to emerging in to a franchise for which winning, and winning it all was expected. Eight Super Bowl appearances, five Super Bowl victories and the glory and the glamour that has surrounded this team. Sports Illustrated The Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years Of Football revisits the names that leap out of NFL history: Dandy Don Meredith, Bullet Bob Hayes, Ed "Too Tall" Jones, Thomas "Hollywood" Henderson, the lineage of head coaches is a Who's Who list - Tom Landry, Jimmy Johnson, Barry Switzer, Bill Parcells and the Hall of Famers who could fill their own wing - from Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Roger Staubach, Tony Dorsett, Troy Aikman to Michael Irvin.

As you can see, this is an incredible book that any Cowboys fan would be proud to own.

Hopefully, all of you have already registered for our contest as we are giving away 25 free copies of these stunning hard covered books. You can still register by going here. [...]
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2011
I bought this book as a gift for my friend who is a die-hard Cowboys fan and was blown away by everything about this book. Being a Vikings fan, I really had no interest in a book about the Cowboys, but started skimming through the pages anyway. Well, I couldn't put it down! It was a wonderful walk through time via awesome photos and narrative. I would HIGHLY recommend this book for any football fan.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2010
Sports Illustrated The Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years of Football is an attractive "coffee table" book for any faithful Cowboy fan and dare I say, any true fan of Pro Football in general, especially fans that experienced those exhilarating Seventies and Eighties with the Cowboys.
The book covers the complete history of the Cowboys from the team's creation in the Sixties until the present. It appears the editors of the book took great care in choosing interesting and evocative pictures which pulls the reader back into each particular era. As I perused the book, I found myself happily reminiscing and remembering great moments of Cowboys history. Oh, so many unforgettable playoff moments! There is the legendary Sixties Ice Bowl in Green Bay, which obviously should be included in any respectable Cowboy chronicle. But as well, and perhaps not as remembered by some, are the Seventies miracles such as the incredible comeback against the San Francisco 49ers at Candlestick Park, and of course, the unforgettable Roger Staubach to Drew Pearson Hail Mary pass and reception in the closing seconds against the heavily favored and hated rival Minnesota Vikings. Any true Cowboy fan knows exactly the games I am talking about; and then there are all the Super Bowl victories. So many books like this are often merely pictures with a bare minimum of words. The photos would have been enough. They are taken by renowned sports photographers who seemed to snap them at just the right nanosecond to capture the true essence of the moment. They are stirring and memorable and perhaps that would have been enough for the true Cowboy devotee. However, as an added extra, and what I most enjoyed, were the stories that complimented the photos. Many of the stories were the original ones that first appeared in the pages of Sports Illustrated. One must remember that much of the Cowboys great history occurred before the Web, Blogs, and ESPN. SI was the holy grail of sports magazines in the decades of the Sixties, Seventies, and Eighties and all the best sports writers of the time wrote for them. This I believe is the great selling point of these tome. For us older Cowboy fans it is a chance to remember with stirring meticulousness all the great moments, and for young and future Cowboy fans, it serves as an excellent primer.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2010
Review: "Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years of Football", edited by David Bauer

Sports Illustrated The Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years of Football

Bauer, David (ed). Dallas Cowboys: 50 Years of Football. New York: Sports Illustrated Books. 2010 192p, illus. 29.95 (list) ISBN 978-1-60320-114-8

My first impression when opening this book was "it's big, very big". Not by page count, but by page size (11 x 12 inches). It is easily larger than the other Cowboy histories issued so far this year by Aron, Housewright and Miller. My second impression: the photographs are stunning. Coming from Sports Illustrated I would've expected no less.

This book follows the successful format established by "The Football Book" (2005; revised 2009) and "The College Football Book" (2008): lavish illustrations accompanying excellent contemporary game articles. This is the first team-specific edition published by SI and it is a worthy addition to the canon. It deserves a spot on the bookshelf of every Dallas Cowboys fan.

The book is organized by decade, with more articles devoted to the championship decades of the 70s and 90s. Given the top-flight reporting and photography that SI is known for, it is easy to love this gorgeous volume and hard to find anything to criticize about it. Still . . .

The most obvious question that came to my mind was: what does Mark Cuban in a towel have to do with the Cowboys (photograph on page 166)? Or a 70s-era Southwest Airlines airlines stewardess dressed in hotpants (page 60), or Ann Richards and her shotgun (page 134)? And others too numerous to mention. I suppose in the minds of SI's East Coast editors, these are examples of Texas' popular "culture", and the Cowboys are the most widely known example of Texas culture. And that's fine, except nowhere in the book does anyone explain this. These "cultural" shots are thrown in without explanation and with no obvious tie to the Cowboys, other than the fact that all are from (or represent) Texas. The reader is left to puzzle this out for him (or her) self. It would have been nice if the jacket blurb had at least mentioned why these otherwise unrelated pictures were thrown in (pictures which most likely were never shot by SI photographers, let alone published in its pages).

OK, so how about the pictures that ARE about the Cowboys? As expected, most are stunning. But at least two of them have erroneous captions. On p41 Cowboys QB Eddie LeBaron has saddled a DL identified as Ed Hussman -- but that's not Hussman. According to Cowboys superfan and memorabilia expert Stephen Liskey, the DL is actually Joe Nicely. Later, on p67, a leaping Tom Landry is identified as being in Super Bowl X. But the Cowboy players in the picture are missing the Bicentennial shoulder patch worn by members of both teams. So Tom must've been leaping about something other than the Steel Curtain (hats off to fellow fan Marty Ogelvie for pointing this out).

The articles, while well-written, cannot hope to cover the entire history of this storied franchise, and they don't attempt to. Although it results in uneven coverage of the team's history, these snap-shots in time will give today's fans a valuable and unvarnished glance at how the Cowboys were viewed at the time.

These very minor criticisms don't diminish from an otherwise superb book.

© Copyright Fred Goodwin, Aug 20, 2010
americas_team@hotmail.com
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
This has the perfect amount of verbiage to accompany the perfect amount of photos, providing detailed historical-through-current data on the Dallas Cowboys. I grew up watching them so many memories are tied with sharing TV time with my dad, and so many of the pictures and stories brought back so many moments that I will treasure forever. You simply cannot be disappointed with this one, and I highly recommend it to all true Dallas Cowboy fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2010
Outstanding book--vy well written.
It covers the Cowboy's 'golden years' right up through the Jerry Jones era...excellent story.
Steve Gilbert
Denver
303-521-0520
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2011
The production quality of this is great. But as a longtime Sports Illustrated reader, I've seen most of these pictures before and have read most of the articles. They're available online for free, too. So while it's nice to have them all in one place, I would have preferred more fresh writing. There are other, better 50-year anniversary books on the Cowboys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2014
This book is great for a die hard Cowboy fan like my husband. I bought it for him for Christmas and he was surprised! He seemed to enjoy reading it. Its also a good keepsake book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2014
The book was in great condition the price was fair and it came quickly. It's all good.
I'm not a sports fan so this is for my Son in Law. I'm sure that he'll love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
Wonderful gift for Cowboys fans. It is a beautiful book; my step-son, to whom we gave it for Christmas, loves it! Great quality of text and pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse