<Embed>
List Price: $17.99
Save: $4.81 (27%)
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
Arrives: Wednesday, Dec 9 Details
Fastest delivery: Saturday, Dec 5 Details
Only 18 left in stock (more on the way).
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com

Sold by
Amazon.com

Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2021
For the 2020 holiday season, returnable items shipped between October 1 and December 31 can be returned until January 31, 2021.
The Spy with the Red Ball... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Nice clean copy with no highlighting or writing. We take pride in our accurate descriptions. Satisfaction Guaranteed.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$12.71
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: bargainbookstores-
Add to Cart
$12.72
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Kodiak Booksellers
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Spy with the Red Balloon (The Balloonmakers) Hardcover – October 2, 2018

4.0 out of 5 stars 33 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$13.18
$10.95 $1.98

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Spy with the Red Balloon (The Balloonmakers)
  • +
  • The Girl with the Red Balloon (The Balloonmakers)
  • +
  • Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, 1)
Total price: $36.12
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

“An absorbing blend of historical fiction, mystery, and magical realism.” —Kirkus Reviews on The Girl with the Red Balloon

"One of the most memorable reads of 2017.” —Paste Magazine on The Girl with the Red Balloon

“This sophisticated, unusual work is likely to appeal to fans of World War II and Holocaust fiction, as well as those who like their history with a tinge of romance and magic.” —School Library Journal on The Girl with the Red Balloon

“Locke’s is an enthralling story. It exposes the cruelties inflicted on minority populations under authoritarian regimes, but counterbalances such pain with magic, friendship, and even a little romance.” —Foreword Reviews on The Girl with the Red Balloon

"Ilse is a complicated, fascinating protagonist, and her scientific mind will draw in teens... it has broad appeal for alt-history and urban fantasy readers." —Booklist


"An entertaining and thoughtful sequel." —Foreword Review


"A fast-moving read sure to delight those who enjoy historical fiction." —School Library Journal

About the Author

Katherine Locke lives in a very small town outside of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, with her feline overlords. In addition to fiction, she writes about books and reading and has contributed to The Forward, The GayYA, Teen Librarian Toolbox, and other sites. The Girl with the Red Balloon was her YA debut.

Product details

  • Lexile measure : HL690L
  • Grade level : 6 - 9
  • Item Weight : 1.12 pounds
  • Hardcover : 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0807529346
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0807529348
  • Dimensions : 5.5 x 1.2 x 8.25 inches
  • Publisher : AW Teen (October 2, 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • Reading level : 12 and up
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 33 ratings

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
33 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on January 28, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 22, 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on February 14, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 30, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on November 1, 2018
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

K Craig
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, relentlessly exciting... Magic!
Reviewed in Canada on November 2, 2018
Verified Purchase