Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Nina Nesbitt PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 58 reviews
on June 13, 2015
The author does an excellent job harmonizing history with the letters of St. Patrick. He brings in noteworthy, historical data that really fill in some of the gaps missing from the historical accounts of St. Patrick's life...given that the details of St. Patrick's life are largely shrouded in mystery.

This book was not so much a biography…as it was a historical accounting of the church, that happened to lean on the story of St. Patrick (really only his letters and what the man himself wrote of his life).

My one criticism of this work is that it was wrought with speculation. Well the author doesn't excellent job unpacking the details that are known of Patrick's life…he consistently filled in historical details with his own speculations about what Patrick, his family, and others may have been thinking throughout the book. It was highly distracting, in an otherwise well-written book.

That said… I rated it four stars for a reason. It was a well-composed work, easy to read, and chock-full of accurate historical data verified by multiple sources. Definitely worth your time as a student of history. Further…the translations of St. Patrick's letters in the back of the book, are worth the price of admission alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2017
I am enjoying this book because at the end he has a translation of one of St. Patrick's lasting letters and his Confessions. But I truly find it a little arrogant that he went to the trouble of translating these himself. I was surprised that he was able to fill a book this size about St. Patrick. It is said over and over throughout the book about how little is truly known about him. With a Title like "St. Patrick of Ireland," I had anticipated finding out so many of the beautiful truths about the story of this saints life. And all in all I am disappointed. In my estimation, the miracle that he is remembered at all and that the conversion of Ireland is accredited to him; and, in the liklihood of the power and nature of sainthood, he did convert the mind and Soul of Ireland to Catholicism, helping to create the strong Irish Catholic identity we have in America. However, he did not do this, by allowing us to truly know about him... we simply know his baseline. A man was enslaved, converted by Christ, redeemed, and accepted enslavement of Christ to convert those who had enslaved him. For learning the beauty of this mystery I am giving this three stars, because truly this is a feat to be followed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
This is a well-researched, non-fiction book about St. Patrick and late fourth century Ireland. Learn about Irish tribes, choosing a new King, druid magic, superstitions, and more! All told with a sense of humor.

This book is 165 pages long.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2012
In this work Mr. Freeman has presented a very lucid and well thought out accounting of the famous saint. Being of half Irish descent, I was naturally drawn to learn more about this illustrious figure of the distant past. I imagine that he may well have set my ancestors on the straight and narrow path of Christianity but, irregardless of that, his great and honorable role in helping moderate and humanize a people famed for their wild and uncivilized behavior may have also contributed to the fact that so many of America's ablest and most successful political leaders claim Ireland as their (or part of their) ancestral home. I feel that the author not only communicated with his readers in a very intimate and entertaining fashion but also obviously researched the subject thoroughly before composing his book. All in all, St. Patrick of Ireland is, in my humble opinion, a superior piece of authorship illuminating an often little understood icon of piety and religious dedication (who has long been celebrated at festivals worldwide in a most un-pious way) by helping the reader through careful and thorough research to seperate the man from the legend. This book, as such, should be recommended reading for high school and college students (to help temper their future celebratory revels, ofcourse).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2015
Excellent book! I am reading it for a class assignment, but would recommend it for personal reading too. It is very well written and extremely interesting. Philip Freeman makes history come alive and be real.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
I thought very highly of this book. I very much appreciated that the author focused almost exclusively on the actual facts known about St. Patrick, which isn't as much as most of us think. The book is fleshed out by the authors additional historical information about life in Ireland during the time of Patrick's ministry. Finally, the last section of the book contains the complete text of Patrick's two letters on which the book is based. I'd recommend this to anyone interested in Patrick, the roots of Christianity in Ireland (and England) at that time, and early Irish history and society.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2016
I enjoyed the biography, but I had to rate it less than 5 stars because of an inaccuracy I found. The author says there was no High King during Patrick's early Times in Ireland, but the respected scholars on the Irish high kingship would disagree. This slight oversight made me question the rigor of research that went into the claims made as fact throughout the book.
I assume it to be accurate overall and perhaps there is just a few mistake like the one I noticed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
Great book. This part of the history of the Christian religion is brought to life. This book uses two letters wtitten by Patrick to show his faith and commitment to Christ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2017
Very easy read. Was interesting and pertinent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2017
fantastic biography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse