Industrial Deals Beauty STEM PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now toystl17_gno Oprah's Book Club nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Wickedly Prime

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 137 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 164 reviews
on October 23, 2015
Guy fakes fight in prison on day his cousin is at prison making delivery. Escapes. Trying to get to gf in Seattle to reclaim the money he hid at her place. Meanwhile the police in Seattle stake out the gf's place watching for the guy to show up. The police are attracted to the woman. One starts sleeping with her while trying to hide from the police staking her place out and the bf. Bf eventually shows up.

I remember this being advertised back then. Looked stupid then and was stupid all these years later. Bunch of frat boy police officers playing pranks on each other when switching shifts while ogling women. Just dumb and dumber stuff. Not my cup of tea.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
This 1987 comedy with three great acting stars; Richard Dreyfuss, Emilio Estevez, and the beautiful Madeleine Stowe probably will disappear in the digital age unless you go looking for it. Being an obscure movie already most do not even know it was made. All the more reason to purchase it for less than a movie ticket these days and make it part of your movie collection. That's what I did. I usually watch it a couple of times per year just for fun. I have shown it to my grown kids and they also like it - so it has a generational appeal which makes this a true classic in my opinion. Totally worth the money. Have fun!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
First saw this movie in theaters when it was released. Just love It as much as when I first saw it, and would watch just to see the love scene between Dreyfuss and Stowe at the end.

Dreyfuss and Emilio Estevez, are very good together as police detective partners, and all the supporting cast is just great, including Aidan Quinn as the villain

Richard Dreyfuss and Madeleine Stowe are a rather unlikely paring. He is quite a bit older than she is, but the audience sees how good the writing and directing and acting are, when the heat that Dreyfuss and Stowe create, shows the genius casting, instead of making Dreyfuss the married guy, and sticking Estevez and Stowe together, since he was quite the hearthrob as part of the "Brat Pack" back then

Dreyfuss has been cast very successfully as a leading man, several times, even though he is only about 5' 6" and not extremely handsome.
However, he has loads of charisma, and the roles he's chosen give him a chance to showcase it.

I am a straight woman, but Stowe is SO beautiful, you almost can't take your eyes off her. And the sensual way SHE was going after Dreyfuss was completely believable, and on FIRE!

AND, what I really liked, was they didn't do any tricks to make Dreyfuss look taller.

At the end of the movie, he is standing next to the FBI agent he had confronted earlier in the film, and he only comes up to the guy's shoulder, but his big personality more than makes up for it.

The way the last scene between Dreyfuss and Stowe is shot and written gives me goose bumps every time I see it, and it was made almost 30 years ago.

The scene starts out shot from behind Dreyfuss, looking at Stowe as he walks toward her.

Then the camera makes a dramatic swing way out behind him, and around over to put a close up on Stowe looking up at Dreyfuss as he arrives standing facing her. That cinematography and direction, and the absolutely exquisite way Dreyfuss delivers his line, when he tells Stowe, she saved his life, is what separates a good movie, from a great one.

The other two movies are "The Abyss". and "Heaven Can Wait"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
This was such a funny movie back in the day. Still a good one for some laughs and a revisit to days gone by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
This has action, comedy, a little off color humor. Two detectives have to watch this woman, her ex-boxfriend just broke out of jail and is on his way to her house to get what he hid, she doesn't know about this. Richard Drefuss and Emello Estevez play the two detectives which have the night shift. Due to circumstances Drefuss gets involved with the woman they are watching. He didn't plan it, but how it happens is a hoot. Then throw in two detectives that are watching the house during the day, they are playing jokes on the night shift,(Drefuss and Estevez) now this means pay back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I loved this and "Another Stakeout" both made me laugh. Richard Dreyfuss is so funny in this movie. I am so glad that I got both. In the first stakeout. They a team and they work nights. They are always doing things to the team on days. Richard decides to get to know the girl that they are doing a stakeout on. He ends up spending the night with her. He over sleeps and head gear on to look like an old lady. He does this so the day team won't thing anything about it. This is a great movie and will make you laugh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2017
Awesome movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Nice DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2013
I remember liking this movie when it came out back in 1987 but that was probably b/c I was going through my Brat Pack/ Emilio Estevez phase. Now watching it over 25 years later it just doesn't have the same appeal. Some of the other buddy cop flicks I've reviewed here have been better, funnier, such as Running Scared. Nighthawks was also good but not really humorous. I like seeing a younger Aidan Quinn in this movie. However, this movie seems a little dated which is too bad but I guess not every movie can stand up under the test of time. Oh well. I like the Mr. Mister song at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
these older movies actually have to use ability rather then affects LOL DreyFuss & Estevez work well together, good movie and clean compared to those of this day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse