Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 89 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 102 reviews
on August 26, 2016
Being a "Cold War", boat sailor myself I found it very accurate with security bounds. Vividly illustrates the stress we operated under. Although as a "Nuke", I do take exception to the accidental "scramming", of the reactor. On the boats I served on, a total of five that never happened once!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
May not have believed every word of the book, but it was a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2017
Truly interesting. I recommend it to anyone interested in Submarine stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
Mediocre at best. In the preface it states that no current secret submarine operation or tactics were divulged or compromised. If that is true why not name the boat and the skipper and get on with the story. As written, it reads too much like a Tom Clancy novel to be subtitled "The True Story of a U.S. Cold War Submarine's Covert Operations Against The Soviet Union." I wish the author would have made up his mind: fiction or non-fiction.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
Fiction with a dust jacket tarted up to look like real life adventure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2017
Interesting, quick read, but a bit disappointing with overall story line....mostly factual, but a bit weak....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2016
The author does a marvelous job in detailed description and knowledgeable narration of the cat and mouse days of U. S. and Soviet covert submarine activities. I just wish he added more suspense to the first half of the book. It was a little droll. Although, submarine life can be quite droll.
Excellent descriptive narration though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2011
This book is a story of a single covert mission performed by a US nuclear submarine. It is a fictional account based on the events of several actual missions during the height of the Cold War. It is certainly interesting, but the mission itself is fairly routine as intelligence is gathered while loitering at periscope depth. The reader learns a small amount about the general operations of a submarine under this specific type of mission; however that knowledge is fairly shallow. The best part of the book is the appendices where actual missions of the past are briefly described.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Although there is a vast amount of information regarding the advanced possibilities of our maintaining our Navel Warfare Protection capabilities that I do not fully understand, after reading this book, I am much more comfortable regarding our continued existence. Unlike " The Hunt for Red October" which I vary much enjoyed, this book is based on fact, rather than fiction. As much as I enjoyed also factual book and movie. "U-571", "Stalking The Red Bear" is top Shelf in my library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Five COMPELLING Stars! In "Stalking the Red Bear", author Peter Sasgen investigates highly-classified U.S. Navy nuclear attack submarine operations that were conducted under the code name "Holystone", which according to the author encompassed clandestine Navy "covert submarine espionage operations against the Soviet Union". It began in the late 1940's and continued through the remainder of the Cold War and beyond. But this book is not a work of documented history, although it addresses incidents like the "Thresher" and the "Scorpion": it takes the reader on a fascinating, sometimes hair-raising journey made up of reconstructed operations, procedures, scenes, and conversations based on unlimited, unclassified access by the author to an actual 'Holystone' attack submarine commander: the payoff is that the reader follows a notional crew on a step-by-step spine-tingling deployment to the Barents Sea. it's a risky literary approach for a real-world book, but as one gets caught up in the undersea action, it works. A prodigious amount of information, 'word pictures', and history is imparted to the reader using this convention. Antisubmarine warfare (ASW) and intelligence gathering are major parts of thls book, but the hardships, tenacity, and dedication of the heroic 'submariner' personnel and their families are the real story. The U.S.S.R. once threatened to "bury" America, this book shows how seriously we took the threat of all-out war and how our un-trackable nuclear subs were the hammer the Soviets feared most of all. You may never forget the experiences of the pseudonymous "Captain Roy Hunter" and the "USS Blackfin". And do read the appendices which are loaded with anecdotes, such as some of the heroic exploits of "Lucky" Fluckey and Street, both Congressional Medal of Honor winners: well worth the time. My Highest Recommendation. Five HUGE Stars! (This review is based on a Kindle download.)
22 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse