Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on December 11, 2017
This book has totally 216 pages of written text and only 9 pages are dedicated to stallion education... A bit sad. Stallion good behaviour and their good management are for me the most important things well before the teasing or covering technics. Absolutelly useless book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2015
Would have liked more info on handling stallions but a good read for all stallion owners
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2012
McCall gives a solid look at the breeding business and outlines what a stallion handler might encounter. His opinions and directives aren't always pretty but they're sound.

This book is a good "heads up" for those considering standing stallions. For those seasoned in the business, it can lead to an evening of, "Hey, remember that (expletive deleted) bay down in Ocala...?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2009
It gives a good idea on what to expect with a stallion. Also funny stories and good advice. The only negative is he doesn't take other breeds in consideration. Andalucian stallions are in general very well behaved for example. But still a good book that a would recommend to anybody dealing with stallions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 17, 2005
It is indeed true that this author doesn't talk about how to raise a mannerly stallion. The book doesn't make any promise of that. The stated purpose of the book is to educate people who own or deal with mature stallions at stud, and are thus beyond the early, formative years.

It is also true that he mentions instances when he dealt with dangerous stallions. In one of those instances, it took force to get the stallion to mind his manners. It would not be fair to mention this without saying that this horses's sire was the extremely aggressive Native Dancer. A dangerous horse, as the book details, but also a very valuable Thrououghbred and almost priceless at stud as a sire of racers. Therefore, certain behaviors were overlooked, then corrected at great risk. The process reads like a great battle. Not all stallions need this sort of correction, but the necessity existed under the circumstances. In nature, a mare would discipline a rude stallion, but many modern hand-breeding techniques rob her of the ability to do so. The handler must protect her and reprimand a stallion who tries to take advantage of her. In terms of harshness, a mare is capable of inflicting great harm with a kick, and she would not be looked upon as cruel. The author does not believe that stallions should be abused. He believes that handling should be firm and decisive, but for the sake of obedience and safety rather than cruelty. Even a hot-blooded horse can be controlled if proper horsemanship is employed.

The author's anecdotes are interesting, amusing, and relevant. The chapters included recommendations on teasing, horse selection, adequate facilities, artificial insemination, and breeding contracts. There is a wealth of information in these pages for the prospective stallion owner or handler. I would highly recommend it for those purposes.

The first portion of the book deals with handling stallions. In this section, the author offers sound advice, as well as sobering situations that he has faced. I wholeheartedly approve of it, because people ought not enter into stallion ownership or handling without knowing what can go wrong. As beautiful and vital as these animals are, romanticizing about them without accepting their potential for danger is an extremely unwise thing to do. If it discourages some people from being involved with these horses, then maybe it is for the best.

The sobering realities in this book are tempered with a lot humor and good information for people who have a sincere interest in working with stallions. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2005
Dr. Jim shows he has 30 yrs+ of experience with stallions. This is not a training book, more of a warning. This is a very good management book for commerical ventures. He follows the laws of nature with stallion behavior. Has good examples of breeding problems and solutions. Overall this is a good, fair and realistic book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2004
Dr. Jim doesn't sugar coat anything in this book. It allows the potential stallion owner to take a good look at the entire picture of stallion ownership...from dangers associated with handling stallions, to collection, to an in depth profit/loss review. I found it very informative, and it gave me a good foundation of things I hadn't thought of in regard to owning my own stallion. Dr. Jim has a very light way of writing. I appreciate him sharing his years of expertise in this area.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 1, 2001
This book is very usefull to some one who is considering or has purchased a stallion. It shows that it does take good judgement and hard work. It's not all glamored up to make it seem like a breeze, and an impossible task.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2001
At first glance, this book seemed like an even-handed, objective look at the stallion's role in horse breeding. What it turned out to be was more of a successive list of reasons to never go near a stallion!
The book's opening remarks are that you should never trust a stallion. Whilst I can appreciate the author's own point of view on this matter, I have to disagree with it. The most basic foundation for a good, working relationship with any horse is trust, and it needs to be two-way. Shortly after this, a paragraph heading is "When it comes to discipline a stallion, knock the hell out of him". If I saw anyone doing this to a stallion, or any horse for that matter, I'd would probably knock the hell out of THEM! Again, I understand the author's point and he is right, inasmuch as it is often necessary to deal firmly with a stallion if they step out of line, but there are very few offences I can think of that would warrant a beating.
Beyond the first chapter, the book enters into more details about the breeding routines of the stallion, appropriate techniques for artificial insemination, sample collection and teasing. The author also cites economic data referring to the drawing up of stud contracts, and the financial implications of owning a stallion, all of which was accurate and concise. This part of the book was extremely well written, and was structured in a more objective manner than the introductory chapter was.
Overall, if I ignore the first chapter, this book is extremely interesting. The author is clear and to the point in each example used, and the diagrams and drawing are all accurately represented. However, I cannot get past the overtone set by the introduction, and I sincerely believe that there are better ways to live and work with a stallion than the author has portrayed in this book. Experienced owners and breeders will find the book informative, and beginners will also find the book very useful. A recommended read, but caution is advised should you attempt to replicate the authors' somewhat brutal approach to handling your stallion.
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2001
I found this book shocking in the cruelness that is "necessary" to control a stallion. If a stallion is so mean to require the harshness in the book, then the stallion should be gelded or put down. Human life over animal everytime. The book goes into detail about how to control a mean stallion, but falls short at teaching how easy it is to prevent such bad behavior. Some of the restraints the author uses made me sick. I recommend The Horse Owner's Veterinary Handbook, by James Giffin M.D., and Tom Gore, D.V.M.,; there is a section on stallions that is very helpful (the whole book is great). I also recommend any of John Lyon's books (video's), particulary Lyon's on Horses. By establishing boundaries early and being consistent there will be no need for harsh physical restraints/abuse that is described in this book.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here