Industrial Deals Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on January 18, 2015
I have to say I have never sat down and read this book in the normal way. Instead I tend to read it by browsing through and choosing a particular section and then just enjoying that section. The way it is set up, this kind of periodic enjoyment is perfect, as there are many different sections and each has a distinct topic. In particular I enjoyed the archived correspondence and the technical details of the film planning -- budgets, camera plans, cast logistics. There are relatively few studies of large film productions from this era, so even though this film was never made, the details are fascinating to read.

Be warned, this is a huge and heavy book. It is hard to hold on your lap and really needs a horizontal place of honor for storage. I hate to suggest a coffee table but maybe a Napoleonic cabinet would work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 3, 2018
nice unopened copy, huge book. the formatting takes some getting used to but well worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2013
I found no better definition than this: "You have to see it to believe it, which is appropriate when you consider Kubrick's obsession... it could be that the project has found its perfect home as the most grandiose book ever made." (New York Magazine)"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 19, 2013
An enormous compendium of the encyclopedic research Kubrick did for his unmade film. What a fantastic project this book must have been, to retrace the research steps taken by that master Kubrick and then to present them in such a beautiful and rich form. Heirloom quality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2011
I agree with the last reviewer in that, design wise, they could've made some improvements. Blank back pages of binders, tiny pictures, etc. Either make it less pages or make the pictures larger! I haven't yet logged into the database with 150000 or so images. This is probably cool, though.

Bottom line is this...for 50 bucks (including shipping) you can spend hours pouring through all the research stuff in here. It's awesome, and being a Kubrick fan I am overwhelmed with the information here.

This movie should've been made sometime in his life. We see that after 2001 it was postponed, but why not made after A Clockwork Orange, instead of Barry Lyndon (which I love)? I'm still trying to find the answer, but it comes down to that it would cost too much. Too bad. Buy the book if you have room for it!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2017
Beyond my expectations!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 5, 2013
great book,great photos and behind the scenes content. got it for my fiancé as a Christmas present, and he loves it
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2014
Absolutely stunning book. Delivery wasn't exactly speedy, but whaddya expect if you're ordering something from Germany.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 7, 2013
HUGE volume. Plenty of material to read. Contains a lot of art work he clipped from books for reference as to how sets should look,,etc.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2014
If you like Kubrick's work - then this is a book to read - I read the script once and was astounded- this gives all the details and background. A lot of what went into Barry Lyndon would have been used for Napoleon.This was a work in progress and obviously would have changed as it was filmed- but it would have been exceptional.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse