BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 25, 2016
This book gives insight to every Star Trek TV show and movie made. Be aware, though, that if you have purchased any of the many companion books available for any of the Star Trek series, this book is nothing like them. The only reason I purchased it was this was the only book that had any type of information on the last Star Trek series, "Enterprise". It lists nothing as far as any guest stars who appear on any episode or when the original episode aired, and any trivial items from each episode. The book could use more information to be more in depth, but then it would probably be at least twice as long and cost twice as much. For the information contained in it, it is useful, but most Star Trek fans would find it severely lacking in details. I would recommend purchasing any of the various companions that exist for certain Star Trek series before deciding on this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 5, 2016
This is a primer for the entire Star Trek franchise - as such, there is only room to skim the surface since there are so many shows and movies to address. I was really looking just for a behind the scenes look at TOS (The Original Series) but there are only 39 pages that cover TOS.

Even at that, the coverage is light - a paragraph summary of each episode, a few paragraphs for each star - again, all very surface. If you want more information on each series, continue looking. If you want a detailed history of TOS, I'd suggest Inside Star Trek: The Real Story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
Great read to any new Star Trek fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
A step-by-step (episode-by-episode) guide to every Star Trek episode. Well done, concise and on-point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2008
extremely interesting book which rates each of the known items of star trek (tos, tng, animated, ds9, voy, enterprise, and movies) with interesting tidbits and side notes for each series and even gives reviews for each of the shows episodes (with exception of the movies) in a serious but light hearted review of jockularity for each part of the franchise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
I don't really have a real review for this since I bought this for my boyfriend but when I gave it to him he looked through it and all the components from every show was there he said so he loved it....If that helps at all....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2016
The Title of this book suggests that this ought to be a college-level course with regards to all things related to 'Star Trek'. This is a great book, and an absolute 'must' for any Trekkie to own, and add to their collections. Perhaps the author should consider releasing an updated edition of this book to include the other two sequels of the 2009 'revamped' Star Trek film from director J.J. Abrams, as well as information pertaining to the brand-new TV series debuting in May of 2017, - 'Star Trek: Discovery'. Overall, 'Star Trek #101' is the definitive guide to read with regards to Gene Roddenberry's Classic Science Fiction TV series that has grown and in the course of 50 years, has left an indelible mark on American Pop Culture! Thank you Gene Roddenberry for giving us a look into the future, and creating the world of 'Star Trek'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
Star Trek 101 seems to be a very basic book that skims the surface and is perhaps aimed mostly at people who were introduced to Star Trek through J.J. Abrams reboot of the film franchise. While Star Trek 101 does cover every episode of every series and film, the episode descriptions are simply a descriptive paragraph without any commentary. The character descriptions seem quite simplistic, almost like caricatures. If you want a book that has episode and film descriptions with commentary, then take a look at an overlooked unauthorized episode guide by UK authors Mark Jones and Lance Parkin titled - Beyond the Final Frontier: An Unauthorised Review of the Trek Universe on Television and Film (http://www.amazon.com/dp/1843570807). Beyond the Final Frontier covers the Original Series, the Animated Series, all the original films (1-10), the Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager and the first two seasons of Enterprise. Although clearly missing Seasons 3 and 4 of Enterprise, Beyond the Final Frontier offers analysis of series, episodes and films and while I may not always agree the authors' opinions, they offer much information on Star Trek series and episodes, which are simply lacking in Star Trek 101.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2011
First of all, I am not a hardcore Star Trek fan, so if I say something wrong forgive me. I'm a supportive spouse of Star Trek fan.
I got this for my husband for Christmas. I don't know what he considers himself on the grand scheme of Star Trek Fandom. He like and enjoys Star Trek, and used to have quite a collection through his teen years which he gave the majority of it up. Now we have 2 little boys and out of nowhere (from my standpoint) Star Trek started appearing in our home and we have all of the episodes from the Original Series, Deep Space Nine and Voyager... Others are seeping in. Anyway... on to the review...

This is a good episode guide. I'm not sure what it was intended to be but it is much less comprhensive than the The Star Trek Encyclopedia which we also own. It is good for finding an episode or to remember what happened in a particular episode. It has some interesting commentary in the biographies that will give you a laugh. It doesn't contain information about every obscurity that is encountered in the Star Trek universe, but is pretty good to flip through and get an idea of what is going on. I found it useful as a supportive spouse to get an idea of what the heck is going on (especially if we are watching an episode and I fell asleep during the previous episode and don't quite know what happened).

I've come to appreciate Star Trek and enjoy many of their storylines over the last few years. This is a good book for someone who likes Star Trek, but might not want necessarily require having the encylopedia, technical manuals, and Star Charts in their collection. However, I'm sure it would also offer a good bit of information to a die-hard Trekkie if only because they want to have a handy episode guide (if they don't already have them all committed to heart). :-)
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2008
I have been a Star Trek fan for only five years, but I still don't know everything there is to know about Star Trek. The franchise is so huge, it is nice to have this book as a reminder on certain things. This book gives you the basics, but also has a nice episode guide and some great pictures. It also gives a top 10 must see episode list for each series, most of which I agree with. With that, it also tells you what the worst episode of the series is. It's all opinion when it comes to that, but the chosen episodes are what most Trekkies would agree with.

Another cool thing about the book is that it gives 3 episodes that it recommends you watch that focuses on all of the main characters. For example, after the bio of Picard, it gives you 3 must see episodes where the main focus is that character. It is full of recommendations, obviously for new fans that don't know what to watch.

That's not all, it also has a section that tells you about all ten movies and pics of the movie posters. Overall, I would say that this is a very cool book that Trekkies new and old will enjoy. From the cover, you wouldn't think this book would be that fun but it is. I even have someone else wanting to borrow it after I told them about it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here