Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis hots Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 495 reviews
on March 3, 2016
I have written this review so there are no spoilers to those that haven't ever seen or heard of this movie. While there are many fans of Star Trek (both original & The Next Generation) that have blasted this movie for the death of one of the characters, I wasn't so quick to dismiss it.

I found the writing to be superb and was very surprised that many of the characters we have come to love from TNG undergo a definite maturing process. So it's not just a 2 hr TV episode. I also found that the writers were able to bring the old and the new together in a very pleasing way that doesn't seem to be aimed at irritating one set of fans or the other. However, there is no getting around the fact that the movie was written in such a way as to leave no doubt that Star Trek as a franchise and a universe is moving on from the old.

I hesitate to recommend this movie to someone that isn't familiar with The Next Generation TV series as much of the movie assumes you are familiar with the characters and their personalities. I also don't recommend this movie to someone that likes the original Star Trek series but hates Next Generation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2016
A great film for fans of the original trek and TNG; the idea of the Nexus - a place where you can create your own reality - keeps drawing me back to this film. And one of the most honest and human death scenes of any film. The Amazon Prime version has some wonderful tidbits you can click on, such as information about the historical ship used in the TNG cast's opening scene, the ranch and horses used in Kirk's version of the Nexus, etc. Fun trivia, and a fun watch!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
A kid's review:

This movie is really something; a great plot line, characters from both Star Trek The Original Seriesand The Next Generation.

This movie is full of jokes. It has almost as many jokes in it as Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.

The only downside is it needs more of The Original Series. It only contains Captain James "Jim" Kirk (William Shatner), Lieutenant Commander Montgomery "Scotty" Scott (James Doohan), and Ensign Pavel Chekov (Walter Koenig). It could really do with the other four well-known cast, namely Lieutenant Commander Leonard "Bones" McCoy (DeForest Kelley), Lieutenant Hikaru Sulu (George Takei), Commander Spock (Leonard Nimoy), and Lieutenant Nyota Uhura (Nichelle Nichols).

Great movie, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2016
The cheesy movie where Picard meets Kirk and both get out-acted by Malcolm McDowell as he manages to character act a character that is so thin on details it shouldn't exist. The plot doesn't make sense, the effects are dated, and it somehow still manages to capture the fun of TNG Star Trek in an easily consumable way.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2017
I love the fact that this really is the official hand-off of the old series to the new, even if it is after the actual fact. The story was very well written and weaves together two very different Star Treks, paying homage to one and instilling a blessing on the other. Be sure to watch this on your laptop so you can pull up the trivia easter eggs sprinkled throughout the movie. They will give you back story or perhaps a fact about the actor or the scene or location and can be interesting by themselves.

Until this movie, I never realized what an accomplished horseman Shatner is. In the scene with him and Patrick Stewart, what people don't realize is Shatner is riding his own horse on his own property and did his own jumping over the ditch, something he did often at that time with that horse. Stewart does not ride his own horse in this film but the saddle he grabs is his own, also being an accomplished horseman in his own right. To watch the equestrian interplay between the two actors is lovely if you have a decent grasp of equitation. Shatner's horse is not out of control at any time when he's dancing around. The actor is giving the horse very subtle cues to make the movements that it makes. Stewart is not just sitting there either. It takes an equal amount of horsemanship to keep a mount calm and immobile while another horse circles it that closely. To think they did this while reciting lines and doing scenes is amazing to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2017
It's Star Trek!
Anything less than five stars is Blasphemy...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2017
This is great. Another excellent star trek movie. A great story line. Great action. Was great to see 2 captains (old and new) working together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2006
GENERATIONS is the so-called Passing of the torch in the Star Trek Universe of the time of the movies release.
The movie is basically about getting the two Captains together to fight off an El Aurian Scientist who wants to live forever in the Nexus.The film is a great fun watch.Some of the minor criticisms about the movie really come down to who likes which version best. Well, as someone who thinks that There can be only one, Kirk, for me, is the only Captain, however, I can appreciate what Picard has done, but still my opinion is in favour of Kirk.
The commentary by the two writers of this movie is interesting, but not entirely fulfilling, still, it does live up to its entertaining task, which some informative commentaries never quite achieve.
THIS DVD: Great menus of the various options. Nicely done as well.Great Sections abound. In THE STAR TREK UNIVERSE, the tribute is excellent, and at points very touching. The creation of the Picard Family Album is at turns interesting, at turns funny to the point of silly, but all entertaining.
The Remaining features that cover Production, Visual Effects, Scene deconstruction, and also the Deleted Scenes, are all both entertaining as well as informative. It was informative to see the scenes that prompted the major re-shoot, and revealing to see why it was made necessary.
I now have Three Versions of this Film, Two on VHS, now this one on DVD. It is intersting to see that the cover is the best and clearest on this DVD 2 disc, and the British one has some very rare extras, and is a numbered release which I was very happy to get. Kirk is dead, long live the Captain of the Enterprise, Captain James T Kirk !!! Hopefully the rumours that the next film will have the young Kirk and Spock acted by other actors, but voiced by the originals. Certainly Shatner does some superb voice work... check out his Audio Books.

Please note: the SCE version DOES have the Theatrical trailers, so don't think you will miss that... it says so on the box, and its on the disc set I have.

And thanks again to AMAZON for making good on another USPS mess up where my DVD was damaged.The new copy was great, totally intact, not used as a football, and the quality is superb. KUDOS to Amazon !!!!!!!!
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2017
good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2017
Good movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse