Bubble Witch Saga 3 Check out Santa's new ride Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Plus  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

Star Trek - Insurrection
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 31, 2017
This film feels like a great episode of TNG. For some franchises, that would imply that the movie was underwhelming. However, in the case of ST:TNG, it simply serves as a testament to the quality of the stories throughout the series. I enjoyed this quite a bit. I will refrain from details in order to avoid spoilers. The cast reprises their roles effectively and the writers have presented an interesting ethical dilemma for the audience. Enjoy the ride. ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2017
This has got everything you want in a good Star Trek: TNG experience: corn, corn and more corn! Data sings a Gilbert & Sullivan duet with Picard, Worf gets Klingon acne, there's a weird kinky beard-shaving bathtub scene with Troi and Riker, and we even get to see Picard cut loose and do a little dance at one point! The only downside is Picard's alien love interest in this movie. Booooring! She has NO personality and never so much as cracks a smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2017
Love the movie. It is touching and full of action. Nice to see the captain in charge over taking orders.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Good movie, interesting story, but is Donna Murphy the worst actress on the planet? I've never seen anybody so one-dimensional and lifeless on screen before. Ugh. After awhile I just skipped through the scenes she was in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2016
When I saw this in the theaters back when I was 16 ( wow that was a long long time ago..) I didn't particularly like it. It didn't have the dynamics of First Contact (the best TNG film, hands down.). But when I watched Insurrection last night as an adult, I appreciated the storytelling. I appreciated the parallels it draws to questions about our own society today. My opinion of it is much higher now than it was back then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
My favorite movie of next generation. Shows that man does think of living forever. And it can be possible!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2016
This is my favorite Star Trek film of all time, after First Contact. What I find most fascinating about this story is the reminder that governments, even the Federation, can be corrupted from time to time by greed and act in an unethical manner at the expense of innocent people. The film was released in 1998 and could have serves a warning to America, especially after 9/11 and the fraudulent war on terror, to not abandon its liberal and constitutional principles to an unethical government seeking to suspend liberties in exchange for a false security state. In the case of Insurrection, we see Picard willing to give up his career to do what he believes is the right thing to do: expose a conspiracy to relocate a peaceful people out of a planet that they had inhabited for hundreds of years. The story is a reminder that people with conscience should not just go along with corruption but should take a stand to do the right thing, even if it means the potential end of your career. If only America had a Picard and company that could help expose the lies and corruption of the deep state that is engaged in overt and covert wars around the world and the destruction of civil liberties at home for the last 15 years, spanning Republican and Democrat administrations alike. This is what Star Trek is supposed to be about - questioning authority when it goes against your conscience and not just blindly following orders when you know you are right. Some would argue that the Federation would never succumb to such greed and tactics. However, Star Trek plots are often a mix of science fiction and real life allegories that teach a moral lesson. Also, maybe those criticizers forget that Kirk and company violated some Star Fleet and Federation orders to save Spock in Star Trek 3 and went so far as to steal or hijack the Enterprise to do what they believed was the right thing to do. Insurrection matches the same spirit of moral rebellion in that sense as the officers follow Picard to the planet in defiance of Federation orders. The film was directed and written very well, combining humor and and beautiful cinematography. All of the characters that faithful Trek fans grew up loving were at their peak in this film. What more can be said. Just very well done. Too bad JJ Abrams has ruined the spirit and brand of Star Trek with "Beyond." Star Trek should pick up where Insurrection and Deep Space Nine left off.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2016
I gave it five stars because it's one of the best Star Trek movies. For some reason, it's also one of the hardest to find on the Internet. Seems like the competition always leaves this one out of their Star Trek line up.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
I'm going to say it: I like this movie. I know many trekkies don't like it, but I'm glad that Riker and Troi finally get things worked out, after years of sexual frustration, culminating in an ill-fated romance with Worf. Why this had to be resolved in the movie, and not in the series, I will never know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2016
Love Star Trek (TNG) series and if all the movies, this is my favorite... Although I really enjoyed the newest Star Trek series (with Chris Pine) and looking forward to Star Trek Beyond! Trekkie for life!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse