Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 241 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 357 reviews
on August 15, 2013
In May 2009, Paramount released Star Trek: Original Motion Picture Collection (Star Trek I, II, III, IV, V, VI + The Captain's Summit Bonus Disc) [Blu-ray], which contained the six Original Crew 'Star Trek' films ('The Motion Picture' - 'The Undiscovered Country') in their theatrical cuts, numerous special features both old and new and a bonus disc of brand new content known as 'Star Trek: The Captains' Summit'. Later that year, in September, the same studio released Star Trek: The Next Generation Motion Picture Collection (First Contact / Generations / Insurrection / Nemesis) [Blu-ray], which contained the four 'Star Trek: The Next Generation' films ('Generations' - 'Nemesis'), with identical special features as their previous DVD editions, along with a bonus disc of varied new featurettes.

Star Trek: The Stardate Collection is simply the consolidation of these two 'Star Trek' boxed sets; nothing more, nothing less. The 12 discs (10 movies and 2 bonus discs) are packaged in two tri-fold cardboard/plastic disc holders, which in turn slide into a sturdy cardboard box, taking up very little shelf space. Somewhat annoyingly, the discs are "stacked" two per plastic casing, so that one has to remove the top disc in order to get at the bottom disc. This is especially annoying considering that, with the 'Star Trek' film franchise's "even-number rule," the discs on the bottom are precisely the ones you're probably going to want to get at more often!

This boxed set is clearly for casual fans as opposed to die-hards, who would have all these movies/bonus materials already. Some fans (on Amazon and elsewhere) have been complaining that Paramount is releasing all the films again, without any added special features, and none in their director's cuts. I ask these fans plainly and simply: Would they rather have the studio re-release all these films just as they were presented in their previous home video editions, or would they have the studio add a few token bonus features so that they, as true fans of the series, would feel obligated to buy all the movies again, thus eating up money and shelf space? I am not saying that this excuses Paramount for not releasing the director's cuts on Blu-ray; I am simply saying that, in my opinion, some fans are missing the point of this release.

The bottom line, as I see it, is as follows: If you are a casual 'Star Trek' fan, or a 'Trek' fan new to Blu-ray, then this is the set for you. If you already have all the films on Blu-ray--especially in the two boxed sets mentioned above--then you will find (both literally and figuratively) nothing added in this collection. Either way, The Stardate Collection represents the best, most complete 'Star Trek' film franchise anthology available to date, although fingers remain crossed for director's cuts in HD.

One final note: This movie compilation has nothing to do whatsoever with the book series of the same name. Star Trek: The Stardate Collection, Volume 1 is, rather, an omnibus of 'Star Trek' comic books, volume one of which is being released this October.
1717 comments| 517 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
This is a great set! The best part of this set is when i have people over who don't really know about Star Trek and i ask them if they want to watch one and then bust out this huge case with like 3246354313651 Star Trek movies inside. Most people don't realize that there are 10 movies. Well, 12 now with the new JJ Abrams reboots. Anyway, this set has been restored and the early movies like "The Motion Picture" and "Wrath of Khan" are well done. They took the grainy film feel out of these versions and cleared up the audio a bit. Overall for the money this is a fantastic set and i would recommend it to anyone who loves Star Trek!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2014
Great reasonably priced collection of the STAR TREK MOVIES from THE MOTION PICTURE to NEMESIS.
MOST of the extras from the Paramount DVDs and great transfers.
One Caveat- The Films that had DIRECTOR'S CUTs are not in this collection. (1,2,& 6)
I could mostly do fine without the DC editions of 2 and 6. (With six, I PREFER THE ORIGINAL, as the DC not only spells stuff out for you, but does some judicious re- editing to do so.) THE MOTION PICTURE I thought was better in the DC version though. Paramount stated that it was not possible to release TMP DC because all the restoration work and finished special effects were only done in STANDARD DEFINITION. Hard to believe, but that's where that stands. So don't sell that used copy of ST:TNP DC just yet...
Otherwise, a great package for the price.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2016
I am a big fan of Star Trek and I am thrilled to have this complete collection of ST I - X. All the movies are in great quality. These are 1080p bluray format, but they all look very good on my 4K TV.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2017
It is what it is. All movies are in blu-ray quality but they're not remastered, so the special effects from 1979 are still exactly as they were back then, just more crisp. Nice collection to have. Has a bunch of extra content as well as a wide range of different languages in both dubbing and subtitles - great for learning languages as you watch your favorite movies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
The movies here are what you would expect: good, high-definition transfers of ten Star Trek films. An important piece of information that you need to know, however, is that you are forced to watch or click through a number of annoying previews and menus before you are able to watch a film. If you lose your place or come back to the film later, you need to go through everything again. That definitely puts a damper on the experience for me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
The quality is excellent, and I found the quality pretty fairly consistent in picture and sound. Some have said the Star Trek II is really the only one remastered in true HD, but I find them all to be of very excellent high quality - much better than the DVDs I have of them. I just don't think you could go wrong, but I do wish they came with ultraviolet downloads.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2007
Every Star Trek fan needs this box set! It contains all 10 ST films in 2-disc Special Editions for about $8.00 a movie! You can't beat that!! I used to have these on VHS, but time has started to take it's toll on them; ST:The Motion Picture was unwatchable because of sound lines that prevented any audio! Well, ST:TMP may be one of the best of the set, which includes some new F/X shots as well as some trims to tighten the film.

STII:The Wrath of Khan is also a Director's Edition with a couple of new scenes added (Did you know the engineer trainee that dies in Scotty's arms was his nephew in the film!?)

OK, I'm not going to list the features on all 10 films are in this set, but just know that all contain audio commentaries (except INSURRECTION), all contain trivia text commentaries (including INSURRECTION) as well as some great behind the scenes stuff and deleted scenes. And all are in Widescreen, which is a bonus because all my VHS tapes were fullscreen; I'm seeing the entire picture on some of these movies for the very first time!

Again, the Amazon price comes to about $8.00 per each 2-Disc Special Edition DVD. Every Star Trek fan needs this box set!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
All I can say is all the Star-Trek Movies all on blue ray in one single package, it doesn't get much better than that. I don't have any of the other previous box collections so this is the best set yet. Thought it might be useful to mention that I do have all of these movies through the I-Tunes store as well and I can see a color difference between Digital Download Movies versus movies on Blu-Ray as in the color on Blu-Ray is more rich and deeper. I played one of the movies on disc side by side with the digital movie on an old 2009 I-Mac and I wear glasses and still was able to see a 2% or 5% difference in color quality. Sharpness was the same. I got mine right after Christmas so glad I got this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 24, 2010
This is the ultimate Star Trek movie DVD set. Its 20 discs contain all ten films in the original (pre-reboot) Star Trek timeline, as well as one disc of special features for each film. Obviously, not all movies in this set are masterpieces. Some fans will say that Star Trek: The Motion Picture is too long and drawn out, Star Trek V was bad all around, and that Insurrection seems more like a long TV episode than a movie. These criticisms are more or less accurate. However, no Star Trek collection can be complete with only a couple of the movies. This particular set may be showing its age a little bit now that many of the films have been re-released on Blu-Ray, but it's still quite a collection nonetheless.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse