Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$35.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 697 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 989 reviews
on February 8, 2017
Season 7 of "Star Trek: The Next Generation" begins with the conclusion to the two-part episode "Descent", which ended season 6, and continues through several of the series' best episodes. Many focus on one or two characters in particular. For example, "Gambit" parts I and II focus on Captain Picard and Commander Riker, "Dark Page" on Counselor Troi, "Inheritance" on Lieutenant Commander Data, and "Parallels" on Lieutenant Worf. My only complaint about season 7 is the relationship between Worf and Troi, which seems to come out of nowhere as they'd never been more than friends and co-workers before. The writers must have realized the fans did not want it, as the films that follow never address it and focus instead on Riker and Troi's relationship, which various writers focused on since the beginning of the series. The finale, "All Good Things...", remains one of the best Star Trek episodes to date and nicely bookends what began in the pilot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
Star trek is the cure for the troubled mind, it soothes the soul but unfortunately it won't do the house work! There's nothing closer to Heaven than taking the phone off the hook, pulling the drapes, popping some buttery corn and throwing on the mindmelding entertainment show of the century Star Trek The Next Generation...happiness and contentment abound! I never thought that the story lines and special effects could ever be out done until out comes Avatar and Prometheus. I have watched this series so many times I can fore-speak the dialogue word for word but I never tire of it and will watch them over and over. It keeps me off my Harley and out of fist fights as well as reducing the need for more steroids and Viagra, if you know what I mean. One day when I get out of this hospital I'm going to get a drivers license and a hog, I'll show you! Fun and wholesome entertainment for all ages and lifestyles. An alien a day keeps the Prozac away so add this season to your burgeoning collection it's worth every penny!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
I was afraid that, because this was a "region-free" blu-ray set that I might have some trouble playing it on my USA made player or that I would end up being able to watch it only with English subtitles but none of this became an issue. It's as if I bought a Region One edition, (USA/Canada) but paid a whole lot less for it! I will not hesitate to buy any region free blu rays again! As for the item itself, what more do I need to say? This was "ST:TNG"'s final season and they went out with a bang! Rather than turning to doing theatrically released movies every couple of years, (which just got progressively more banal and dull after "First Contact" but Paramount thought they could ride the coattails of the series and make more money which is ALL they ever think about), they should have given the series at least one or two more years as a weekly series. Now, Paramount has come out with "The Roddenberry Vault" which presents only a tiny percentage of the unused footage from The Original Series,(and comes with a big price tag, surprise, surprise), on three blu ray discs, all of which are in standard definition with the discs being padded out with episodes that I already own and a LOT of talking heads. I'm guessing that Paramount will present more of these clips from THEIR vaults, (as I'm sure the Roddenberry family doesn't own or control them but Paramount is capitalizing on the fan recognition of the name to sell their product), over the next few years, parceling out the clips like breadcrumbs to the all-too-willing-to-pay-top-dollar-fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
I am a Star Trek follower from the 70s I love all the Star Trek series and movies
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
Wow! How did they do it? I had STNG on dvd and it was nothing like this. Instead of watching STNG, I am now experiencing it “on the bridge of the Enterprise.” A must to fully enjoy this “experience” is a good quality sound system because what is on these Blu-ray discs is phenomenal both video wise and sound wise. The realism level is astonishing. I have all 7 seasons on Bluray and they are prized possessions and oh so well worth the price which is quite reasonable actually if you shop around a little. I found the best deal on Season 7 as a brand new release was on Amazon.com. For best results, I recommend a large flat screen tv (more than 40 inches) and a high quality sound system either Home theater or a very good 2-channel sound system. The remastering job for this production is magnificent. The detail that they were able to extract from the original FILM and not tape, is staggering. See you on the bridge number one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
I didn't know what I was missing for so many years until my wife got me to watch this. I am one of those (sometimes annoying) people who likes to try and guess the plot of a movie or television program. However, most of these episodes are very difficult to predict. The plots are wonderfully creative. There were several episodes each season that our family declined to watch due to objectionable subject matter (immorality, spiritism, etc.). However, most of the episodes we were able to enjoy.

We particularly loved how the episodes are cumulative. This feature truly makes you embrace the characters as you learn about who they are, and as their past experiences really come to life in future episodes. It really immerses you into the Star Trek world. Plus, the ideas that they come up with are brilliant. It is wonderful to watch these brave explorers.

If you are like me and have never watched star trek before, give this series a try - you may be like me and find yourself pleasantly surprised!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
I see that some have had issues with a couple of the discs. I'm assuming it's an isolated problem. I've watched the entire season from start to finish and played all the extras at this point and I've had no problems. I'm sure Amazon will work with anyone who has issues.

When Season Seven aired from 1993-1994 I was a sophomore in high school. I remember not liking it as much as I loved the sixth season. I've avoided watching reruns of TNG on Netflix because the colors are so washed out and the picture just seems muted somehow. As Blu-Rays of TNG and ENT have been released I've removed those shows from my Netflix queue, leaving only TOS (which I've yet to purchase), DS9, and VOY. Other than the occasional television rerun I've not seen most of these episodes in years.

As with previous seasons, the full HD restoration has made some of the episodes I once considered unwatchable a new experience. "Masks," for example, can be better appreciated now because the restored colors of the episode actually make it interesting and give a new depth. I even enjoyed watching the laughable "Sub Rosa," even though I was disappointed the newly-recorded commentary for the episode that was supposed to occur did not. As with other sets you get a three-part, newly filmed HD documentary called "The Skies the Limit: The Eclipse of Star Trek: TNG" as well as another new HD documentary called "In Conversation: Lensing Star Trek: TNG.' There are a plethora of deleted scenes spread through the six discs, as well as newly recorded audio commentary on two episodes, a home movie from Mike Okuda, a new HD gag reel, and the 1994 television special "Journey's End: The Saga of Star Trek: TNG.'

This set is worth every penny and just as enjoyable as the previous six restored seasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
I've mostly laid off Star Trek for the last 10+ years but have recently come back to view some of my favorite episodes again. It truly is quality television, more about ideas than most common entertainment.

This comment may only apply only to Amazon streaming. There is a scene missing in the final episode. After the scene where Beverly admonishes Picard for questioning her orders, there should be a scene where Picard is confronted by Q as an old man. It's quite memorable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2016
“Where No One Has Gone Before”

And so it goes…not much of an official editorial review here from Amazon. But then again what else is there really left to add. Star Trek has given so much throughout the decades, and 29 years after this series premiered it’s still immensely enjoyable. The episodes never get old and with Christmas sales I was able to finish the run. The inserts to this 7–disc DVD release offer the following product description;
----------
“In the seventh season of Star Trek: The Next Generation the series concluded – but not before airing some of its most unforgettable episodes. Data (Brent Spiner) feels emotion at last, but the quest has made him easy prey for a faction of Borg. Worf (Michael Dorn) finds himself in conflict with his human foster brother. And Captain Jean–Luc Picard (Patrick Stewart) discovers that he is trapped between his future and his past in a final trial involving the mysterious Q. For every beginning, there is an end. One chapter of the Star Trek saga was closing…but the mission of discovery would live on.”

Disc One: Descent, Part II – Liaisons – Interface – Gambit, Part I

Disc Two: Gambit, Part II – Phantasms – Dark Page – Attached

Disc Three: Force of Nature – In heritance – Parallels – The Pegasus

Disc Four: Homeward – Sub Rosa – Lower Decks – Thine Own self

Disc Five: Masks – Eye of the Beholder – Genesis – Journey’s End

Disc Six: First Born – Bloodlines – Emergence – Preemptive Strike

Disc Seven: All Good Things…

Special Features / Mission Logs;
* Mission Overview
* A Captain’s Tribute
* Departmental Briefing: Production
* Starfleet Moments & Memories
* The Making of “All Good Things…”

1993–94 / DVD / Region: 1 / NTSC / Color / Dolby Digital / Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0 Surround / Subtitles: English / Run Time: Approx. 19 Hrs. 34 Min. / Aspect Ratio: 4x3 / US: NOT RATED – Canada: PG / CC / © 2013 CBS Studios Inc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2016
I have always liked Star Trek from its inception. It always seemed to me, even at its worst, to be better than most scifi because of mostly good writing and intellectual content. It has been noted that the first series almost did not get scheduled because of this latter point, but eventually became an enduring production, of which the Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager and Enterprise spun off. Certainly they all have their merits, but of these the Next Generation is my personal favorite, with the original and Voyager close behind. The seventh season has a lot to recommend it, with new twists and ethical dilemmas enough for all. In the center of this is Patrick Stewart's remarkable performance as Captain Jean-Luc Pickard, but the other members of the cast are for the most part quite good. In depth and complex characterization is, in my opinion, this last season's great strength. I recommend it highly for all who like the original and the earlier seasons of Next Generation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse