Lyft Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$22.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on May 31, 2013
Title says it all. If you've ever done story boards or have an interest in them pick this book up, it's amazing. I've done story boards in the past and this really hit home. Also if you're interested in concept design this is great because some of the panels really show off character development and how the story evolved over time.

One of the only regrets I have is that some of these ideas were so much better than what actually happened in the movies. I found myself actually saying "why did they change that!?!". Some panels have appeared in the other "art of" books, but overall this a gem to have in your collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2013
This book is essential to any artist arsenal of books. If you want to see how "real" storyboards are done, look to the Lucas team. Some of these look like finished pieces of artwork and not just concept drawings if you ask me. One of the King's of story telling Iain McCaig not only writes the introduction but also displays his storyboards from the projects. This is such a keeper!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2014
Ive been a fan of star wars since a kid, but never a collector of stuff beside the movies.
This got me intrested when i got Word of its reléase, so i preordered, and oh man this thing is amazing.
This book weights like 5 pounds alone, its really big, each page have storyboard of the movies, and in perfect postion to fully appreciate it.
The paper use for printing is of excelent quiality, and i think 25 dollars for it is a real deal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
This book is SUCH a bargain for the price. A huge glossy hardback packed full of gorgeous storyboard after gorgeous storyboard, with a sprinkling of commentary thrown in by the board artists to keep things fun and interesting. Even if you aren't a filmmaker, or you weren't a big fan of the prequels, it's worth having this just to be inspired by the dynamic linework and the cinematic power of 2D imagery drawn by the best in the business.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
this is the 1st of a series. If you like star wars and want to know how they did it. this is the book to get. I bought one and gave one to my buddy who is a storyboard artist in the industry and she was amazed at how well they presented the material. This is the behind the scenes you must see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
Amazing book to add to the Star Wars collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2013
I like this book because sometimes you see alternate ideas of what was originally going to be filmed. Especially the scene at the end of Episode 3 with Anakin and Padme is much more violent than what you see in the actual movie. This book is a collector's piece for Star Wars fans, in my opinion. It's big and heavy, the paper is a great quality and the art in the book does not look like it was simply printed to the page. It looks as if it was drawn on the pages themselves that you are looking at. High quality product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2016
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2014
Very nice edition: an appropriated thematic dust jacket but a little disappointing cover design. The interior matte printing over high quality but flexible paper gives the aspect of having the original storyboards on your hands while in a readable format.
The content is very interesting and shows you scene by scene the movie stories; nevertheless, as far as I can tell, it doesn't have any deleted scene or deleted relevant character. It also gives you a complete perspective of the original art concepts for hairs and costumes, but with some particular exceptions it lack of surprises respect to creatures, buildings, ships or weapons.
The drawing styles and techniques are very wide: Ink, stylograph, colored pencil, graphite pencil, charcoal, etc. But don't hope for more than 2 colors (eventually 3) per panel. Also, there are a some of them (a very very few of them) that seem to have lost some quality during the re-sizing to fit the pages.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse