Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi (1983 & 2004 Versions, Two-Disc Widescreen Edition)
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 11, 2006
So after waiting 11 years or so, we finally get a re-release of the original version of Return of the Jedi in all it's unaltered glory. Just as fans have been dreaming about since the advent of DVD.

Well, um...I don't think any fan was dreaming about this particular release.

The original release version of Return of the Jedi (the only reason to buy this set as most all fans will already have one of the previous Special Edition releases) is relegated to bonus material on disc two. Ouch! But wait, it gets worse.

George Lucas, the champion of pristine presentation in the theatre and at home has released the film that made him a legend in the state of the art of technology circa 1993.

Yes, that's right. This transfer is from the laserdisc release of '93. Even worse the film is not anamorphic like just about every other modern day DVD. What does that mean? Well a non-anamorphic DVD has a low visual clarity and the image won't fill a widescreen TV. To make a movie anamorphic takes very little time and money. That Jedi is not anamorphic shows a disregard for the film that is disturbing.

Star Wars fans expect these landmark films to be treated just like many other films (Vertigo, Gone with the Wind, Citizen Kane, Snow White, etc.) that have gotten detailed restorations that cleaned up dirt, grime and audio ticks and presented the films in today's state of the art. This is the release most fans were dreaming of. A release that showed the film some modicrum of respect.

George, the fan base you have worked so hard to woo over the years is fed up with your shoddy treatment of these films.
99 comments| 273 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2006
This could very easily be an ecstatic 5-star review. The original, unaltered Star Wars trilogy, finally on DVD with no droid & alien cartoon antics, no Hayden Christensen's face on Sebastian Shaw's body, no videogame-quality Jabba the Hutt, the original Academy Award-winning special effects, the music we remember... This should be a red-letter DVD release for Star Wars fans. Sadly, it is not.

Here's why you should boycott this release:

1. The picture & sound are intentionally presented in mediocre quality. These DVD's are transferred from the exact same videotape used to create the laserdisc release in 1993. That means a non-anamorphic, muddy, letterboxed picture that will have to be zoomed in to fill widescreen TVs or computer monitors. Lucasfilm refuses to fulfill the basic minimum standards of a current DVD release and make a new transfer. The quality of this DVD presentation will not live up to that of such timeless classics as Caddyshack II & Ishtar.

2. It's overpriced. If Lucasfilm is only willing to toss out these beloved films in this shoddy version, and they are unwilling to spend any time or money at all on their release, that is their right. They should charge accordingly. As bootleg-quality laserdisc transfers, these DVD's should sell for $5-$10, tops. Incredibly, Lucasfilm is charging $90 retail for these three movies! That's almost twice the cost of the (still available) box set with the exact same Special Edition discs!

They're trying to justify the cost by bundling the unaltered movies (the only reason to buy this version) with the Special Edition movies, but they must know it's a sham. Anybody who is willing to pay $90 ($60 @ Amazon) for the Special Edition DVD's has already bought the existing box sets. The Special Edition discs in this set are a complete waste of plastic, and they do not justify the outrageous cost.

If, for some reason, you have not yet purchased Star Wars on DVD, this set may be an adequate value. For anyone else, this set plus the existing box set you already have will run you a total of $160 retail ($110 @ Amazon). Is that a fair price to pay for an intentionally mediocre release of the movie that made Lucas' empire possible? Is it right to release this classic piece of cinematic history with picture and sound quality far below the latest releases of Buckaroo Banzai or Barbarella? I'll leave that for you to decide.
44 comments| 169 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2011
After the events of "Empire Strikes Back", it seems that Han Solo (Harrison Ford) has been sent to Luke's former home known as Tatoonie where infamous space gangster who is a slug-like creature named Jabba The Hutt has him placed in freezing. Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamil) with Leia (Carrie Fisher), Chewbacca (Peter Mayhew), C-3PO (Voiced by Anthony Daniels) and R2-D2 (Kenny Baker) rescue Han as Darth Vader (Voiced by James Earl Jones and played by David Prowse)is reconstructing the Death Star to a new level and his master The Emperor (Ian McDairmad) wants to seduce Luke to the dark side of the force. The gang head off to the planet Endor where they befriend a tribe of teddy bear-like humanoids called Ewoks where they help them fight against the empire but can Luke confront his father and learn other secrets of his past?

A brilliant final installment of the electrifying Star Wars saga and it went out with a bang on this one. Directed by Richard Marquand (The original director was going to be David Lynch) and written by Lawrence Kasdan and George Lucas with a story from Lucas, this one has been considered the weakest of the classic SW trilogy and i don't see how. Sure the Ewoks went there to be cute and cuddly but are quite likable critters they are, i love how it introduces Jabba The Hutt which is a fan favorite and how it brings back cool characters like Yoda (Voiced by Frank Oz), Lando (Billy Dee Williams) and more as it's a visual effects feast for the soul and eyes that brings the galactic civil war to an end and who can't resist Leia in that bikini? Yowser.

This 2-Disc DVD contains the same audio commentary from the boxset on the remastered 2004 special edition and finally the unaltered theatrical cut of ROTJ with no changes and the original sequences as intended for the theatrical release. Kudos to Lucas for listening to his fans for having the un-special editions on DVD.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2006
First off, I already have the special/altered movies on dvd. IF I bought this latest release, it would only be to obtain the ORIGINAL theatrical release (with all the matte lines/primitive technology). The original version is all that I'm missing from my dvd collection & my only motive to purchase a new release.

DVD has a maximum resolution of 720x480 dots on the screen; did Lucas take advantage of that improved hi-res technology for this "first time on dvd" original theater version?? NO of course not. He's giving us the original movie in laserdisc resolution:

540x320

(analog letterboxed). That's only *50%* the pixel resolution that DVD can offer!!! What a royal ripoff. Are we fans supposed to be happy about getting an inferior-quality print of the original movie? Fat chance. The original movie was recorded with 6-track surround & on hi-resolution 70mm film <---- THAT'S what we want, not some inferior 540x320 blurry picture from an old 1980s laserdisc.

Get with the program George.
You should have released the originals in hi-resolution 720x480. You should have taken advantage of DVD's full potential, not dump some inferior/blurry/lo-resolution video on us.
33 comments| 232 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2015
This review is for the downloaded HD "Disney Movies Anywhere" version.

What can I say - it's Return of the Jedi! I was afraid after reading some reviews that the video quality would be poor, but apparently folks were writing about a DVD version. The HD downloaded version is flawless, HD, and with Disney Movies Anywhere we can watch this streaming on any device (it syncs to Amazon, iTunes, and Disney's proprietary app on iPad).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2006
Disc 1 - 2004 "Enhanced" DVD Release

Audio Is Dolby Digital EX With Optional Commentary

Disc 2 - Original 1977 Theatrical Widescreen Release

Audio Is Dolby Digital 2.0

Video Transfer Source Is From The Non-Anamorphic Laserdisc Transfer Master To The 1993 "Star Wars Trilogy" Definitive Edition Box Set

This description says it all, two discs, one you probably already own and one made from "cutting edge" video technology from 1993. If you are mainly buying this release for the original versions, please be aware that they do not use the full resolution of the dvd format. They are merely copies of the Laser Discs from the early 1990's. I wish I could give this release less than one star.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2006
As a newer Star Wars fan inducted in the early 90's, it's been a couple of years since I've seen the original Ewok celebration song. And I barely remember the original non 'Jedi-Rocks' musical number from Jabba's palace. I'd love to see these again in widescreen, and I'd love to own them on dvd.

But I really don't feel like shelling out another wad of cash for them now that I know the original theatrical versions are non-anamorphic, and by extension not future-proofed. The laserdisc transfers here won't hold in 2-3 years when we all have hi-def televisions. It'll be like VHS vs. DVD quality all over again.

Lucasfilm and Fox can do so much better than this. With HD-DVD and blu-ray coming around the corner, anyone else feel they're dumping these on us now so they can get us again with the next format? Heck, the 30th anniversary is next year. There's a whole lot more chances to spring 'limited edition' theatrical prints on us.

And maybe, somewhere down the line, they'll get it right.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2011
This review is for the two-disc, Limited Edition, widescreen edition of Star Wars Episode VI. The set includes both the original and "enhanced" theatrical releases of this sci-fi classic. The enhanced theatrical version is on Disc #1 and original version is provided on Disc #2, the bonus disc. Both versions are presented in a letter-boxed format, which I prefer because the entire scene is preserved. The soundtrack and video quality on Disc #1 are first-rate. The aspect ratio displayed on my 65" TV is 2.35:1.

The "original" version on Disc #2 is a disappointment. The video quality is poor by comparison - the star images are blurry and the overall appearance is very grainy. I suspect that this was a video transfer, as opposed to a remastered edition. I measured the aspect ratio at 3:1, which I found unusual.

I am a diehard Star Wars fan. I bought this because I liked having both releases of the movie. Although the quality of the material on Disc #2 leaves a lot to be desired, the stuff on Disc #1 is outstanding.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2015
GARRY HIXON SHOWS PHOTO OF HERSELF TO WORLD...here she is to be in star wars episode vii the force awakens as padme green...a photo of the new girl....when garry hixon goes down the street or into a supermarket .....people will say i saw your photo on amazon your beautiful and still see you on you tube....now amazon gave me a photo of you...god bless amazon
review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2011
Among the Star Wars community, the endless argument persists regarding the proper viewing order of all six films. After watching this installment just recently, however, it become very clear to me that "Return of the Jedi" needs to be in that sixth slot due to the fact that it provides such a proper ending to the saga.

For a basic plot summary, "Jedi" focuses on two primary plots: the final "all in" battle between the Rebels and the Empire, and the epic confrontation between father (Darth Vader) and son (Luke Skywalker).

To be sure, there are some things that this movie struggles at: the Ewok characters are an odd choice, the Rebel battle is utterly predictable, and none of the auxiliary characters get much development. However, the Vader/Luke/Emperor scenes are so emotionally gripping and intense that they more than make up for any lag elsewhere. I consider those scenes to be the best of the entire saga (and that includes the incredible ending of "Revenge of the Sith"). You will be cheering, crying, thinking, and remembering all in the span of minutes.

Thus, I firmly believe that "Return of the Jedi" is the film that definitively ends the epic saga. Everything comes together in an emotionally gripping finale that closes out perhaps the most incredible film series ever created. George Lucas makes a few questionable moves here and there, but what he does right far outdoes anything else.
44 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse