Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Price:$24.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 513 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 524 reviews
Worked well when I used it. Then my dog wanted to measure jaw angle or something. And doggone it, the thing STILL works. I like that.
* Scale is easier to read than some other protractors.
* The friction between the movable legs is just right--easy to move but stays where you put it.
* Perfect size for a miter saw.

After using this protractor for more than a year, I'm still pleased with it.

I'm posting this review because I bought the protractor and have something to say. I hope you find this helpful.
review image
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
this is a nice tool , it figures out the correct angle need for miter joints , it takes out the old (2) part (2) tool method , i recently saw a contractor use the larger version to make a unknown angle miter cut , with no effort , the miter was correct no gaps , no need to caulk the joint excessively , some times these unknown miter cuts take a few trips back n forth to the saw , if you actually have a conscious about your work , even if it is getting painted , some guys would probably laugh @ someone using this protractor , but really wishing they had 1 ! unless you have a laser protractor installed in your eye , doing crown moulding can be a little tricky , that is if a caulking tube isnt one of your most used tools
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
I've used this protractor several times so far. I'm new to Woodworking, but gaining more skill and knowledge daily. I've invested in quite a few measuring tools, so I can make sure I have accurate guidance when it comes to cutting :) Reading the dial originally was a bit tricky. Once you learn how to read it, its quite an accurate tool

A few positives:
** Great size. Works well with my dewalt 12" dual bevel miter saw
** Rotates quite easy and its incredibly easy to read!
** If you plan to cut any sort of trim ~ GET THIS PROTRACTOR!

I wish all my tools were built this well ... Plan to look at other Starrett measuring tools in the future since I like this protractor so much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2016
Yeah, Baby! For someone who is poor at Math, Geometry, Angles, Numbers, Fractions, and general Calculations, this is a god-send. It will make me look smarter with my sympathetic and doubting family and friends. And isn't that what it's all about? This will save me hours of head-scratching and a LOT of money on wasted wood. The first time I used it I knew I would be hiding it from my neighbor, as that scoundrel will surely borrow it and forget where he got it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
It does the job but its all plastic and overpriced for what it is. In my opinion it should be about $10. I assume it's accurate but there is no way to verify it.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
Since every corner is not an exact 90 degree this protractor gives you the exact degree to make you inside and outside corner a perfect fit . Its even better when you have an odd angle wall . Easy to understand and use . Just put it over your outside wall or push it in to your inside wall and you have the exact degrees to set your miter at or just lay it next to your miter saw and line it up with the blade . Cut and nail
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
It rotates smoothly, angles are easily read. It easily resolves to half of one degree, which is more fine than I have the need to measure a window casing.

I bought it for a particular job and won't use it much, but it's nice to have on hand.

Nicely made. Reasonably priced. A metal tool is likely better suited to an active woodworker. For occasional use, this tool gets the job done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
This does a good job of finding angles in both inside and outside corners. Reading the dial can be a bit confusing at first, but once you figure it out, no problems. Good quality construction. I used it to measure corners for new baseboards, and the results were great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2016
This protractor is designed for installing ceiling molding. My use intended use is for measuring odd angles in doing property diagrams.
I selected this particular model because (1) it accurate enough for my purposes, and (2) does NOT have electronics or need a battery,
which makes for unpredictable tool life, that is, without the fancy gizmos, it is not likely to go bad in the middle of a project, therefore
a much better long range value. A well constructed and well designed tool made for increasing productivity. It does pay to read instructions
if using it for molding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2016
This is a great tool. I tried to do wall trim before and it did not end well. Yesterday I used this Starrett 505p-7, and all the cuts looked very professional. It took about 20 minutes to finish the trim inside the sky light! It is perfect size for small places and very accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse