Kindle Price: $9.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Starters by [Price, Lissa]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Starters Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 424 customer reviews
Book 1 of 2 in Starters (2 Book Series)

See all 19 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$9.99
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"
$39.44

Length: 350 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $8.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Age Level: 12 and up
Grade Level: 7 and up

click to open popover

Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 7 Up-Following the Spore Wars, 16-year-old Callie struggles to carve an existence for herself and her younger brother, Tyler, in a California where everyone between the ages of 20 and 60 has perished. Although many in this near-future society eke out meager, hopeless existences, an elderly, wealthy Beverly Hills population and their grandchildren continue their lavish lifestyles. Medical advances ensure that entitled adults live beyond the century mark, creating a self-absorbed, controlling "Ender"class. Too young to work, Callie is a "Starter" on the run, in constant danger of arrest by the marshals and attack by renegades. Adding to her desperation is Tyler's rare lung disorder, making finding a stable home environment imperative. Unable to legally earn money, Callie registers with Prime Destinations, a clandestine service where Enders can re-experience youth by renting the bodies of teenage Starters via brain implants and computer interfaces. Although Callie's instincts scream danger, several rentals of her body proceed smoothly. But a malfunction during a third rental causes Callie to regain consciousness while being inhabited, immersing her in the lives of the rich and powerful, providing a love interest, and propelling her to the center of the sinister schemes unfolding at Prime Destinations. Lissa Price's intriguing, fast-paced tale (Delacorte, 2012) is enhanced by Rebecca Lowman's flawless voicing of each character and perfect timing. Fans of dystopian novels will be completely engaged and clamoring for the sequel.-Rebecca James, Currey Ingram Academy, Brentwood, TNα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Review

"The only thing better than a terrific concept is one that is as well executed as Starters. Readers who have been waiting for a worthy successor to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games will find it here. Dystopian sci-fi at its best, Starters is terrific series kickoff with a didn't-see-that-coming conclusion that will leave readers on the edges of their seats."
Los Angeles Times

"Built up to a dramatic climax and a stunning twist, Starters is an addictive and alluring tale about human nature's darker side, and how far we'll go to get what we want. Readers everywhere will want to dive right in, and Hunger Games fans especially will find themselves hooked."
Examiner.com

"This story of those who are not what they seem twists along with multiple-identity switcheroos and chase scenes worthy of a Hollywood blockbuster . . . The inevitable sequel can’t appear soon enough."
Booklist
 
"Constantly rising stakes keep this debut intense."
Kirkus Reviews

“Newcomer Price launches a dystopian series that offers . . . a notable command of technique . . . Raising questions about class, property, and body/mind separation, Price's thriller features well-crafted tension, believable villains, and moments of stolen sweetness.”
Publishers Weekly

“This action-packed novel is set in a twisted, hostile world and is a must-read for fans of The Hunger Games and Legend. Fast paced, romantic, and thought provoking, the jaw-dropping ending left us starving for a sequel.”
Justine Magazine

“Starters is a dystopian read you'll want to snatch up for yourself . . . With its intriguing plot-twists and dash of romance, Lissa's novel is a bona fide pageturner that proves you can't take anything—or anyone—at face value.”
— MTV.com’s Hollywood Crush Blog

Product details

  • File Size: 3496 KB
  • Print Length: 350 pages
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press (March 13, 2012)
  • Publication Date: March 13, 2012
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005DXOPMS
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #370,860 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Related media


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on January 7, 2014
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2012
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Starters
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Starters