Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Nina Nesbitt PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
30
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on December 24, 2016
This Chuck Wicks CD has a few gems on it from Playing Cinderella to Starting Now and What If You Stay. I'm a huge fan of ballads and Chuck has a voice that fits those well. If you want more upbeat songs Chuck has them on this album too including She's Gonna Hurt Somebody. Chuck is one of those artists that believes "less is more" and he doesn't try to blow your ears off with an overwhelmingly loud and overpowering band. An easy to listen to CD and well worth your time and money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
I first heard this song "Stealing Cinderella" the day after my grandson proposed to his love so I bought the CD. Enjoyed all the songs on the CD. It will be one of the songs played at the wedding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2008
Prime Cuts: When You're Single, Stealing Cinderella, Man of the House

Wicks' debut CD reminds us why country music is so enthralling. While other genres are content to settle on the peripheral and abstract, country music dives right into the marrow of emotions via its engaging use of narrative plotlines and its jumping out of the speakers real life characters. Wicks' RCA Nashville record is a prime example. This Smyrna, DE native took chutzpah when he tackles themes like singleness, broken homes and ill-fated romances, but Wicks holds himself well when he shows through his intricate and heartfelt story songs that he comes across as an acutely wise observer of relationships. Vocally, Wicks has a fine gristly tenor that calls to mind Jason Michael Carroll and perhaps Brad Paisley without the superstar's witty inflexions. Truth be told, though Wicks sing well, he does not possess a distinct vocal to set him apart from the Michaels, Tomlinsons and Paisleys. So, the calling shots here are the songs.

For those who cannot get enough of those tasty treats for the heart, there are many of those big ballads that will cause Kleenex boxes to run out in record time. A future favorite will be "Man of the House," a moving tale of a ten year-old who had to wash dishes for his mom, wakes his sister p every morning, prepares breakfast simply because he is "the man of the house." With an ability that could pierce the hardest of hearts, this gorgeous ballad with its close attention paid to details, describes what goes on across single-parent homes all across the country. Just when you thought Wicks has hit the tier of emotionally driven songs, take a listen to current single "Stealing Cinderella." Going behind the galore of flowers, veils and rings, "Stealing Cinderella" steals a glance at the emotions a dad would feel seeing his daughter given in marriage. On the other hand, "When You're Single" introduced by the gentle strumming of the guitar artfully starts off with the façade of the joys of singleness before giving in to a mournful treatise of the ensuing loneliness.

The title cut, "Starting Now," coming from the pens of Jim Collins and Craig Wiseman, has such a commercial charm that ought to be embraced by radio with affecting longevity. A rhythmic pop-country anthem of a man determined to pull up his bootstraps at making his relationship work again. Despite his wanderlust at emotional issues, Wicks also demonstrates he has a more congenial side: "Good Time Coming On" has that honky tonk Friday night fun that reminds us that Wicks is also one of the good ole' boys too. However, a few of the kickers and midtempoes such as "All I Ever Wanted," "What If We Loved," and "Mine All Mine" are listenable but they don't register with the same depth as the ballads

Albumwide, "Starting Now" allows Wicks to commence on a sure footing. Unlike many men who are afraid of dealing with the inner mechanics of the heart, Wicks does examine them in a way that is not mawkish or pretentious. Also, as far as storytelling goes, with Wicks co-penning 9 out of the 11 cuts, he's truly is on top of the game. Wicks knows where the strings of the heart are and he strikes them well.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
If you enjoy country music, you should totally like the CD. (Especially "Stealing Cinderella") My personal favorite.
Not only a wonderful singer, but great entertainer as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
ENJOYED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2009
I don't really listen to much country music, but I bought Darius Rucker
here, and Amazon recommended this one so I tried it too...and its great! Don't know what else to say except that if you like modern sounding, non-twangy country music then you will like this one. Enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2013
All of the songs come from the heart and are so meaningful. This is the second copy of this CD that I have purchased. I really miss hearing Chuck Wicks on the radio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2013
I bought this after I heard "Hold That Thought", and wasn't disappointed. I plan to buy more of his music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2014
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
I saw Chuck perform at a CT state fair this past Fall and had to have a CD of his music. I couldn't be more pleased!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here