Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Static Prevails
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.50+ $3.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 12, 2001
if you like to listen to music as more than just a passive hobby, meaning if you regularly sit down and do nothing but listen to an album all the way through, taking note of exactly what it contains, then this album is your holy grail. this is honestly the best album i have ever heard, it is the most amazing piece of art i have ever experienced, in fact. from the raw, powerful yet powerless "thinking... thats all", with its exquisite screams and builds, to the beautifully sad and touching "anderson mesa", that will chill you to your very soul, this album is brilliant. the earliness of this album combined with JEW's inherent talent for the intense makes it more incredible than any of their other stuff, but also make it a difficult listen at first. watch the way each song fades or rises into the next, each piece setting the stage for the next... no one has made an album flow like this since the beatles with "sgt. pepper". listen to it once and you will be hooked by "rockstar" and "seventeen", they are the highest point of punk/pop... listen to it twice and others gain luster, "claire", perhaps the best combination of quiet beauty and rock n' roll on the cd... "caveman", with the tiny sound of crickets and a forlorn harmonica or accordian in the end, "world is static" which provides the title... and eventually all of them. this album is a must have for anyone who ever liked punk, pop, and especially emo. please buy it for your own sake, it is magical.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2001
This cd is phenomenal. It's completely different from anything you may have heard before, in that it's so original. You listen to the radio and you get the same songs played over and over again, with most of the songs seeming so fake it's not even funny. Then a friend introduced me to Jimmy Eat World. I have since stopped listening to anything else.

All of the songs on this cd are awesome, and that's an amazing accomplishment by itself. Many groups will release a cd full of crap with one song they know is bankable, just so they can cash in. Not so here. It's hard to put into words how good this stuff is. The first time I heard "rockstar", i felt that I was home lol. "Episode IV" is an extremely powerful song that starts slow and builds in power as you go. "Seventeen" is an angst filled song that radiates raw power. The amount of vareity you get is stunning, with all of it being GOOD.
In short, Jimmy Eat World has instantly become my favorite band, and this cd is quite possibly the best cd I have ever listened to. It's that good. Very Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2005
Jimmy Eat World have never put out a bad album. By far my favourite band of all-time. These guys have a knack for writing like I've never seen since the pop sensibilities of Weezer, or the brilliance of Radiohead. I, admittedly, became a fan of the band when I heard Sweetness(which, to date, is still my favourite JEW song from the first time I heard it). So I guess I was a little late, and didn't pick up until many of the Bleed American bandwagoners did, but I've done my research and Static Prevails is probably only topped by Clarity as far as my favourite Jimmy albums go. Now, listen, it's a little unfair to have everybody judging Jimmy Eat World based solely on Bleed American(and, more recently, Futures.) Don't get me wrong, Bleed American is an awesome album. Thing is, it has a little more of a tighter, poppier feel. While this is by no means a bad thing, especially when done right, the problem is that both fans and haters alike attribute this sound to Jimmy Eat World entirely. In fact, most mainstream fans and haters all seem to think Jimmy Eat World are a "pop-punk" band and don't even know that Static Prevails and Clarity exist. Clarity is one of the most beautiful pieces of art ever created. This baby, Static Prevails, is a lot different than the more contemporary JEW sound. The production(or lack thereof) allows the album to have room to breathe and makes it a lot more raw and edgy. Some could even categorize this as a "punk" sound. However, even on this earlier record, Jimmy Eat World still display their undeniable gift of songwriting and making music.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2000
Through the album Static Prevails, Jimmy Eat World have a crafted a true masterpiece.
It is difficult to accurately categorize Jimmy Eat World, as it is with most exceptional groups. The members of J.E.W. form a synthesis of post-punk rock taken to a rather sophisticated level, melodies which at any one given moment make you want to fall into a solitary slumber, and the next inspire you to erupt in a burst of exalted energy. They then combine this incredibly powerful music with thoughtful lyrics recalling regret, the importance of now, love and life. All while harmonize like no other through the albums' entirety.
It begins with a rush of adrenaline and structured, melodic chaos through the opening track "Thinking, That's All" and proceeds to bring out another good handful of superbly crafted modern ballads. Midway through the album appears the song "Digits" where it begins as lonely rumble meandering through the heart of a lost person. Only to explode into an uplifting movement which seems to catapult you to the next extreme, and then ending with a simple yet beautiful melody with a drawn out minor chord. It's like witnessing the transformation of a persons' stance on life with in the span of seven and a half minutes. The album continues to roll along fluidly. Filled to the brim with rolling drums, driving guitar and swooping melodies all the way to the very last note.
Static Prevails is one of those albums which has an immortal quality to it. It's a work of art which simply had to come to fruition. It takes you from one emotional extreme to the next, showing you darkness and pure light, and reminding you that in the end only static prevails, and that that's beautiful.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2007
THE BAND: Tom Linton (vocals, guitars), Jim Adkins (vocals, guitars), Rick Burch (bass), Zach Lind (drums & percussion). Origin - Mesa, AZ.

THE DISC: (1996) Originally 12 tracks clocking in at approximately 52 minutes. The remastered 2007 version adds 2 bonus tracks bringing the total listen to approximately 57 minutes. Included with the disc is a 6-page booklet containing song titles/credits (no song lyrics), band photos, and thank you's. This is Burch's first album on bass (he replaces Mitch Porter). Recorded at Sound City (Los Angeles) and Big Fish (Encinitas, CA). This is the band's 2nd release. Label - Capital Records.

COMMENTS: Back before Jimmy Eat World's commercial breakthrough (check out 2001's "Bleed American" for that), was and perhaps still is, my favorite album of theirs... "Static Prevails". The album is tucked somewhere nicely between rock, alternative, and a newer softer punk. Heavy on fast guitar licks and emotion, this albums flat out rocks. It also features pretty close to a 50/50 split on singing duties between Linton and Adkins (future albums would showcase Adkins much more so). This was a nice trade off vocally - between Linton's deeper voice and Adkins poppy higher tone. Highlights for me have always been the fast and slow, soft and heavy "Rockstar" with the highlight being Lind's drumming; the fast paced "Call It In The Air" with layers upon layers of guitars and vocals; the melodic "Seventeen"; the dreamy and calming "Episode IV"; "Digits" with it's soothing intro and powerful ending; and finally the original album closer "Anderson Mesa" - another up and down song with gentle moments side by side with heavier emotional ones - complete with violin strings. The bonus tracks are decent... both upbeat faster tracks that fit nicely on the disc. Years later "Static Prevails" is still my favorite album cover of theirs. I always though it look like knobs on a piece of stereo or recording equipment. However, if you turn the cover on it's side it looks like snow capped bar stools. For me, "Static Prevails" was always about a talented young band that hadn't truly made it yet. The sound was fresh and original... JEW had something to prove. Great tunes here - no filler - a complete album that I can listen to anytime (5 stars).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2000
They might sound a bit like this.
"Thinking, That's All" is probably one of the best opening tracks on any album in a long while. Jimmy Eat World rocks a lot harder than some of these tracks (and "Clarity") would lead you to beleive and "Thinking..." provides proof. There's hints of the direction the band would take on "Clarity" in other tracks particularly "World is Static" and "Episode IV." "In The Same Room" and "Anderson Mesa" manage to skilfully blend balad style pop with post-punk guitar rock. A little bit of J.E.W. trivia: "Seventeen" ended up in part of what was an otherwise perfectly awful Drew Barrymore movie.
A good sign at how much I like this was that the original CD was stollen out of my car with about 4 others. This one got replaced within days. By all means, buy this CD. But if you get a chance to see J.E.W., DO IT!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2001
Ever since I stopped listening to Green Day, I've had a major problem with punk rock. Whether it was the Offspring, Sum 41, or Blink 182 didn't matter. They all sounded the same, and all their songs sounded the same. This viewpoint changed after I bought Static Prevails. This is punk rock that isn't stale like the bands I listed above, but progressive like Tool and Radiohead. With an approach sounding like Far and old Sunny Day Real Estate (Diary, LP2), Jimmy successfully devours the world in a progressive gulp that would shatter the state of punk rock today if more people knew about him.
"Digits" especially is a masterpiece, starting with a quiet acoustic guitar, then destroying the tranquility with a full blast punk riff, and a cry to "pay attention." After a few minutes of this punk heaven, the pace slows to acoustic once again, ending with a whisper of crickets that transforms into "Caveman." There is no possible way a song like this could exist on any other punk rock album. From the muted riffs on "Thinking, That's All" to the violins on "Anderson Mesa," Jimmy Eat World delivers a potent cure to the stagnation of punk rock today. Any rock lover would enjoy this CD thoroughly.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2015
In order to understand this album one must understand the age in which it was made. Being recorded in the 1995-96 era, the mid nineties experienced a low-key explosion of musical creativity that manifested itself in, well, low-key ways. The lo-fi, DIY scene was emerging in DC in the forms of post-core and hardcore, an off shoot and direct reaction to the overbearing punk of the eighties, and was typified by bands like Fugazi and Rites of Spring. These "emotionally" adept bands featured harsh guitar sounds and a penchant for honest lyrics. It was this sound that crept its way across the country, in the form of Drive like Jehu, and eventually landed in Denver and Arizona. This is where Jimmy Eat World drew much of their sound from for their first album, Static Prevails.

Now that our history lesson is over, it's easy to see why Static Prevails sounds the way it does compared to the most recent of JEW fare. What makes JEW so great is that they manage to stay aware of the music scenes around them, implement pieces of it, and still maintain their over all Jimmy sound. While critics found Static hard to embrace, I would argue that if anything, JEW was in the process of perfecting their thoughtful craft of drawing from surrounding scenes and adding it to their overall sound. Static is not a bad record, in fact it is overall very enjoyable, but what prevents it from five stars is that at this point in time, JEW were simply in the process of becoming the band they wanted to be. Static, at times, seems to blend in a little too much with the musical scene around it. Even so, every track, and literally every track, is masterfully done by the at-the-time young band. And if you don't believe me, then consider the fact that the band recorded these songs when they were, at most, 21 years old. Static offers a wide array of sounds that foreshadows the burgeoning genius of Jim and co. Some standout tracks follow:

Thinking, thats all--features typical shouts and moody guitar work of the mid nineties post core scene; Adkins' vocals are some of the strongest on the record.

Claire--if any one song on the record could hint at what the band would turn into, it would be this song. Its melancholic riff which explodes into JEW's tried-and-true drop-D power chord frenzy sits right below the almost airy vocals of Jim Adkins. Some of his best lyrics "one last goodbye may last the rest of your life" aren't so much sung as they are breathed. And people wonder why they are considered emo.

Episode IV--how could Tom not get a mention on this? Aside from Tom being an all around pleasant and funny guy, his songwriting was not limited to his typically loud sound. Here, episode iv is a brooding track that prompted Blink 182 member to ask JEW to play this song at his wedding.

World is static, robot factory--you just have to love old JEW

Anderson mesa--the perfect palate cleanser; slow burning, somewhat anthemic, wistful, and melodically beautiful. Jimmy has always been good at closing albums and on top of Anderson Mesa being a great closer, it pays homage to a landmark in JEW's native Arizona. Also, it has been said that the opening track of Clarity--table for glasses--picks up where Anderson Mesa leaves off, both serving as a palate cleanser and a springboard of new ideas amidst dominant music scenes and old influences.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2016
I repeat, it's a re-release! Would've saved me a near heart attack listening to this. With that context in mind, yeah, it's not so bad, but it's definitely not the polished rock-pop melodic awesomeness that they are today. Buy if you're a die-hard, don't bother if you're just the average rabid fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2003
This is the first cd I ever heard of Jimmy Eat World. I was a little 15 year old kid who loved Weezer and Smashing Pumpkins. My sister who worked for Capitol Records (their first label, who didn't give them the time of day, but that isn't important..) gave me this cd. ...weird name, I thought. This album blew me away. The 12 songs on this album helped shape my teenage years. The third song,"Claire," still remains the song I scream for them to play when I see them live. This is a record you roll the windows down and blast in your car. Every song is amazing. If you only know Jimmy Eat World for the pop of Bleed American (self-titled to the ultra trendy kids), then please PLEASE!! do yourself the utmost favor of getting into Jimmy Eat World's earlier cds. You'll be a better person for it. This is a jewel of a find=)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.12

Need customer service? Click here