Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 105 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 254 reviews
on March 20, 2017
The remaster sounds real lush. Totally worth getting! It's tough to top that original RCA Bowie vinyl. But this is awesome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
Breakthrough Album For Bowie. Pivotal Period in his life. Short but Sweet and Dark Must have for your Bowie Music Collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2016
Station to station is wonderful, loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2017
Two copies of the Feb 2017 returned for skips on tracks one and four. It is a shame because the songs Station to Station and TVC15 are incredible and I wasnt willing to keep a copy with more that 5 skips on each song.
As far as packaging I wish there was a lyric sheet but it is nice that they included one sgget
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
I understand it's place in Bowie's development and for that it is important, but it is not by any means great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2010
as another reviewer mentions there is no need to comment further on the album itself - this is surely one of Bowie's best and serves as the all important transition into the Berlin years - so I will stick to the package itself. It is fantastic in the amount of material provided to the purchaser, everything from all the versions of the album, the additional Nassau show, the singles CD and all the little goodies (pins, numbered ticket, press kits) and including the giant poster. In that respect my only complaint is the lack of video of the 1976 tour - no Dinah Shore video for instance, none of the video from the tour rehearsal that every Bowie fan knows exists and no live footage from any of the '76 shows - to me that is a HUGE omission - but given everything else in the set I'll still give it five stars. Obviously the variations in the current and future reviews are probably gonna center on how one perceives the various mixes of the album. I have always been a big fan of the original vinyl analog mix and it sounds awesome on the lp included in this set, probably the best it is ever going to sound for that matter - same goes for the Nassau vinyl - since there was no 'official' release to compare this to, I will just have to say it's probably the best Bowie live album I have (And I have plenty) - the band is awesome, the song selection is great and the STS songs here might be the best live versions of any Bowie tour. So, let me address what seems to be the biggest complaint by other reviews - the 5.1 mix. Yes, it IS different, especially on TVC15, which is almost a different song because of what the mix does to the sound (more reverb for instance, especially on the chorus); but, given the subject of the song, it works for me - Station To Station, I think, comes out best because there is just a plethora of new, previously unheard sounds - Golden Years suffers the most - it was kind of a sparse song to begin with and the 5.1 manages to separate the individual instruments SO much that it sounds tinny and distant compared to the analog version. I completely understand the complaints of others - however, I am paying the extra money specially for these all of the various versions and I am happy with what I got - yes, they are different, and some songs work, some songs don't but based on previous experiences with these types of rereleases I knew that going in - the huge variety of EVERYTHING included in the package and the pleasure (and some disappointments) of listening to this wonderful album in all of its iterations make it a worthy purchase. And this IS, to some degree, a cold and distant album, so the 5.1 mix compliments that (although sometimes to the extreme). Does it improve the analog mix? No. But it does give you a different way to experience it and that's what I wanted. If you are basing your purchase solely on the 5.1 mix then perhaps the 3-cd or single cd versions might be a better (and considerably cheaper) option. However, if you are more of a completist and willing to accept that not everything is going to meet your highest expectations then I recommend this package for the opportunity to hear Station To Station in so many different ways.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2016
The last song of only three was incredibly good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 1, 2010
Station to Station is one of the best albums of all time, in my opinion. It was the album that made me a huge David Bowie fan, and it's never lost an iota of its hold on me all these years later. The songs can be upbeat but emotional, open yet often sinister. There always seems to be something bubbling under the surface, giving the songs a power that was at times lacking on an album like Young Americans.

I've never had any problem with the sound of the original CD release, so I probably would not have opted for this reissue if it weren't for the Nassau Coliseum concert. The album sounds great, and the concert is absolutely tremendous. He plays songs spanning almost his entire career thus far, but (as Bowie so often did) with his new 1976 style. Suffragette City, for instance, doesn't just rock here - it also glides along on an almost-disco beat.

Sometimes, reissues come with a little padding to trick the consumer into shelling out for something they already have. This concert isn't just padding - it's the real reason to buy this set. The improved mix of the proper album is just the icing on the cake.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
A wonderful album! It's interesting to note that while making this album Bowie was so out of his mind from excessive cocaine abuse he had no memory of it. He said later that listening to it was like hearing some other artist using his voice. There is a photo of him in the notes where he looks crazed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2010
This is how classic albums should be re-released:

Remixed for killer sound, in a tasty box with excellent photos, and a bonuse live concert disc of the Thin White Duke and his crack band in their prime.

If you don't know mid-70's Bowie, this is the place to start. From the opening guitar train wreck of "Station To Station" to Bowie's cover of "Wild is the Wind" (perhaps his most haunting and amazing vocal ever), this is a classic in every sense of the word.

If you're a fan and you already have an earlier version of this CD, well worth your while to upgrade to this new set.

If you're not a fan, why are you reading this?

A must-have for all Bowie-philes. Period.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.49
$9.49

Need customer service? Click here