Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
116
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 116 reviews
on August 13, 2013
In the middle of buying thumbtacks and writing paper in prep for a new semester, I ordered "How to Stay Christian in College." It's been a convicting, practical, and refreshing read. Everything a fresh-from-high-school graduate (or, in fact, anyone who comes into contact with non-Christians in the workplace, home front, or classroom) needs to know about living a passionate, Christ-centered life in a secular setting. Evangelism, lifestyles, influences, campus social life, campus religious life, how to deal with vehemently non-Christian professors, how to answer questions, and other practical things like studying and relationships are all covered.
Most importantly, though, J. Budziszewski is very clear that our lives are meant to glorify God in every aspect. He takes time to illustrate who God is, what He thinks of us as His children, and that His power alone will bring His glory on the earth. Budziszewski details how we can bring God's glory to our college campus, and I really benefited from reading his suggestions. Honestly, this book will be one of the best preparations you can undertake to get ready for college anywhere (Christian campuses included). Highly recommended!

(The book is hardcover, sturdy, with an easy-to-read font and clearly-marked chapters and sections)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
This is a fantastic gem of a book which I highly recommend to anyone in high school or entering college (or their parents or youth group leaders).

The book contains:
- clear and knowledgeable theology
- great insights about what average college/university life is like for Christians
- great answers to those inevitable attacks on Christianity
- incredibly practical suggestions on how to handle the all the anti-Christian pressure

Thank you Mr Budziszewski for this invaluable resource!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2016
This book is an excellent one for Christian students (and their parents) heading off to college--especially secular colleges where they will be exposed to ideas antithetical to their beliefs. This book covers subjects that students ought to think about before they get to college, like politics, love & sex, campus life, interacting with unbelieving friends and professors. The author lays out the issues and provides practical ways to interact with others. And it gives good advice about how to become more mature in Christian faith.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
excellent book. second purchase for college students as gift. not too long. excellent points and realistic examples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2017
gift for grandchildren entering college it helped me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
How to Stay Christian in College is beautifully written in an entertaining style. The Author, a college professor, offers practical tips on navigating most every aspect of living on a college campus including dating, sex, and roommate issues. He is a philosopher and skilled at explaining in a logical way how to stand firm in your faith and how to defend your faith in a secular environment where it may be questioned. Though this book is written for young people, parents and grandparents should read it also. I gave it to my grandson last summer before he went off to college - and read it through wishing I had a copy to mark up! It's very thought provoking and should help many students hang on to their faith while in college.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2012
I cannot recommend this book highly enough. First of all, the author has a great sense of humor and an engaging writing style. He speaks out of his own college experience and helps to prepare students for the assault of their Christian beliefs in the classroom that's sure to come, and how to deal with it. I read this out loud with my high school daugters over the summer, and my oldest is now in college. I feel she is well-equipped for any attacks on her faith she may encounter. This book is worth every cent you'll pay for it!.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
We use these for our high school graduates each year. The product was used yet in perfect condition. Will keep ordering each year. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
College is a tough time in the best of circumstances. But throw in that most students cannot afford to attend at a Christian college so it gets much tougher.

This book will help the student and or parent deal with the challenge of attending college in America today.

There is no dispute that the majority of professors are very liberal. They are also very aggressive at pushing their liberal views onto to students. In many circumstances, students who do not agree are out right abused for not embracing atheism.

I am only touching on one challenge that students face. This book is a helpful dose of wisdom for much more challenges that a student will be left o deal with. It is a MUST have for the student.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
I gave this copy to my granddaughter, a high school junior. I read it before, and gave a former copy to my older granddaughter. It gives me guidance in counseling young people about to leave home and town and going into a non--Christian and/or anti-Christian culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse