Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning britboxlaunch britboxlaunch britboxlaunch  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 60 reviews
Clone Wars Gambit is a two-book series relating some of the adventures of Obi-Wan, Anakin, and company during the Clone Wars. Stealth was the first book, and Siege is the second. The series is set in a time when the Separatist Alliance is winning the war. Separatist agents have succeeded in infiltrating Republic forces, obtaining sensitive information, and planting bugs in communications systems. Count Dooku's troops always seem to be a step ahead. One of the results has been to create significant doubt and worry in the Republic. Even the Jedi are worried.

In this atmosphere, a new concern creeps in to the Republic leaders and gradually turns out to be a massive problem that Anakin and Obi-Wan have been sent to deal with personally despite serious misgivings from Yoda and Bail Organa. Word has come from the apparently insignificant planet of Lanteeb that something on the planet has drawn intense interest from the Separatists. Our two Jedi heroes are assigned the task of finding out what is going on at Lanteeb. To their rising dismay, they find that a scientist enslaved by General Lok Durd is attempting to use Lanteeb's only natural resource to develop a devastating bioweapon. Anakin and Obi-Wan don disguises, make their way onto the planet, succeed in getting a rough idea about what is going on, and then are exposed as everything begins to go wrong. At the end of Stealth, they are on the run, the bioweapon research is still proceeding, and things are not going well.

When Siege takes over, the two Jedi are on the run from Lok Durd's droid army and end up trying to hide in the mining village of Torbel. They gradually win the trust of the locals and are put to work in the mines where just about everybody works. Their predicament is dire. They have no ready means of communicating with the Jedi Council in Coruscant. The work on the bioweapon is proceeding, and they have no real way of knowing whether any aid is being sent to them or not. Things look bad, and then they get worse when the droid army learns where they are hiding.

At this point, thanks mainly to Anakin's amazing technical prowess, the village is able to deploy an energy shield that the droids cannot penetrate. The trouble is that they have been forced to jury-rig the shield by using whatever resources they can find. The resultant siege is described very well, and it really seems to be endless.

The story itself in Siege is fine. I enjoyed reading about Anakin and Obi-Wan and the siege of Tarbell. The villagers do the best they can, and the two Jedi are heroic. However, as was true in Stealth, I think that Ms Miller gets carried away with introspection. We are bombarded with a steady stream of the characters' innermost thoughts. Plus, the siege goes on too long. I did find Anakin's emotions to be particularly interesting when he discovered that Obi-Wan had years ago had a relationship with Taria Damsin, a female Jedi Master. You can imagine his feelings when you remember all of the discussions he has had with Obi-Wan about the need for Jedi to avoid attachments.

Clone Wars Gambit: Siege is a good tale with a lot of ups and downs. It has two of our favorite characters in the main roles, and some others like Ahsoka arrive late in the story to offer invaluable assistance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2017
I did not care for this book much at all. I've read about 30+ Star Wars novels and this was by far my least favorite. The conflict between Kenobi and Anakin was disruptive and out of character, and the underlying storyline was dull and contrived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2011
After seeing the Clone Wars show on television, and always wishing there were good Clone Wars-era books, I'm so glad I happened on Karen Miller's wonderful works! I read Wild Space first and absolutely adored the insight into all the characters, especially Obi-Wan and Bail Organa who starred in that book. In this one, Star Wars: Clone Wars Gambit: Siege, the relationship featured the most was definitely Obi-Wan and Anakin -- and who doesn't want more of that!? I made the mistake of buying this book before the Gambit: Stealth book which I understand is the preceding book and tells the tale of what is referenced at the beginning of this one, but even having not read that one first this book was easy to understand and amazing in every way.

I'm a sucker for Obi-Wan/Anakin scenes and so this book was right up my alley. Obi-Wan's time healing the local people, the little girl, the power plant scenes, the rush of the action and the descriptions of the inaction were all wonderful.

I have not been disappointed by a Karen Miller Clone Wars novel yet and this one was definitely a great read. I've since ordered Gambit: Stealth and can't wait to read it. I sincerely hope Ms. Miller continues these amazing books and gives us more insight into the Clone Wars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2017
this book was ordered by my Fiance. He is a HUGE star wars fan. he seems to like all the books so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2010
This is the last adult CW tie-in book and it satisfied. I'm sorry there won't be any more books other than the 6-8 year-old range of reader, as the projected 5 year span of the show ought to generate at least 2 more. Miller continues to handle the really big characters well, and now her original characters I like, too. Poor Lanteeb is struggling as a Sep-controlled planet and the Jedi help, to the best of their considerable ability. A really good point was the distrust the Lanteebans had for the Jedi, especially regarding their mind tricks. And they were right to distrust! All in all, though, this is a fine and pro-Jedi book, handling the Anakin and Obi-Wan relationship as its basic theme neatly. A large cast delivers a good deal of action within the limits of a book entitled 'Siege,' and if you want space action, there was more in Stealth *the first part of this duology*, yet Mace and Ahsoka come in at the last of Siege for a mopping-up space battle, and I was surprised to read of a cobbled-together civilian fleet gathered by Bail and Padme. It was a neat plot point that opened up the story. It was disappointing that Anakin and Obi-Wan didn't hash out the effects of Obi-Wan's Zigoola mission on Obi-Wan, as Anakin's desire to do just that came up in both Wild Space and Stealth, but the issue was dropped. As a side note, I've listened to the AudioBooks unabridged versions of the three Miller CW books, and they are superbly produced. Jeff Gurner does fine voices, British RP *well, Coruscanti* accents, Australian and now, on Lanteeb, a sort of Lancashire *or Yorkshire?* accent. And the special effects of the audio version are, needless to say, state of the art.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2010
Siege is the concluding book in Karen Miller's Clone Wars Gambit duology, picking up several hours after the climactic battle of Stealth. There is no discernible difference in tone or focus from the first book to the second: it's simply a longer (by Star Wars standards) story split into two. The strengths of the top-notch character scenes, including the interactions between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker, carry over from book one, as do the weaknesses of a slow pace and the rather bleak tone (again, by Star Wars standards). There are some excellent sequences written from Palpatine's POV, and Ms. Miller lets us know what exactly the concealed Sith Lord is thinking and plotting. Good stuff.

Rather than summarize the plot, there is one scene I'll comment on. Anakin and Obi-Wan get stuck out in a remote damotite mining village for most of the novel. They integrate themselves into the community by posing as natives of Lanteeb (the planet they're on), but as time passes and the action ramps up, they are forced to drop their disguises and defend the people as Jedi are charged with. The village is protected by an energy shield, which depends on some ill-maintained equipment to keep it active. The scene that knocked my socks off is when the shield fails and Anakin starts to hold it in place single-handedly, using the Force like a supernova to save the innocents nearby. THIS is how a Jedi should feel: heroic, selfless, powerful, and doing anything necessary to help others. Perhaps it was just something in me that needed a scene like this at the time I read it, but it really struck me deeply, as did the tension of the entire action sequence that follows.

Ms. Miller truly does some excellent work with the familiar film characters and is also adept at introducing new ones of her own. At points I was sorely tempted to give this book five stars, but there were still some pacing and tonal points that held me back. I do hope she will continue to write in the Star Wars Expanded Universe and would look forward to any future contributions she should make.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2010
I was thoroughly impressed with Karen Miller's depth of characterization in her debut Star Wars novel Wild Space. However, I found the portion of the story featuring Obi-Wan Kenobi and Bail Organa endlessly slogging through space and then across the surface of Zigoola drawn-out and rather tedious. So I was curious to see if Ms. Miller would be able to build upon her strong portrayal of the film characters while reducing the repetitiveness in her follow-up novels, the Clone Wars Gambit duology.

For my taste, she succeeded. Although making this story a two-parter does cause things to drag out too long, the pace is brisker and she shines in the multitude of scenes highlighting Obi-Wan and Anakin Skywalker's relationship and viewpoints. Rarely has the Expanded Universe (or arguably the films themselves) made these two seem like close friends, the "brothers" that Obi-Wan speaks of on the Mustafar lava ridge. Ms. Miller devotes a great deal of space to the emotions, beliefs, insights, and personalities these two developed over the years together, and since they are so central to the entire saga, the focus on the duo is worthwhile.

Lok Durd returns from his Clone Wars first season two-parter as the primary adversary. This Durd is considerably more diabolical than what we saw on the cartoon: sure, he PLANNED to wipe out entire species with his doomsday weapon, but we didn't actually see that happen. The Durd of Clone Wars Gambit is a loathsome, malevolent, vile creature, delighting in pain and suffering. He makes a good villain but I did get weary of his scenes about halfway through the story.

Clone Wars Gambit: Stealth is a very solid if somewhat overblown set-up for the conclusion in book two. If you are more interested in the action-packed galactic space opera side of Star Wars, these books probably won't be a great pick, but if you're intrigued by a more emotions-centered exploration of two primary Star Wars characters along with some nice sequences from the supporting cast, give this one a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2017
Great work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
This book is probably one of the most precious possessions I have, it's beautifully written and every word is a puzzle with deep meaning behind it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
It's nice to finally fill in some of the clone war background. Some areas got slow but overall the story flowed well. Worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse