Oil month Automotive Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Start your Baby Registry

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9

on June 4, 2011
For those of you out there who are football purists this is a must read. Although a lot of the information is "common knowledge" to ardent Steeler fans, you can never get enough of it. I have found that in all of the Steeler Dynasty books I've read each one is unique in its presentation of the story of the '70's. Buy this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2014
Great book for any and every Steeler fan, or even any fan of the NFL during the 70's. There is lots of informative information regarding key Steeler opponents during the 70's, such as the Dallas Cowboys, Oakland Raiders, Denver Broncos, and Houston Oiliers. A very good read for all football fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2006
I am a lifelong Steelers fan and enjoyed reminiscing and reliving my 1970's Steelers experience through this book. It is well-written, utilizing interviews from players (Steelers and opponents), coaches, and front office personnel, to create an candid first-hand impression. Along the way, I learned lots of things I did not before know or understand about the game of football, the history of the "Stillers", and the Super Steelers of the 1970's. Great read and highly recommended!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2007
Steel Dynasty will help anyone a fan of the Pittsburgh Steelers relive the glory days of the 1970s. But don't take any statement of fact in this book as - well, fact.

Page 34 - "Three Rivers [Stadium] also sat on a Delaware Indian burial ground where General George Washington fought many battles while protecting nearby Fort Duquesne." I don't know anything about a Delaware burial ground, but I lived in Pittsburgh for over 30 years and never even head such a claim. George Washington passed by the forks of the Ohio once in 1758 when he was in his 20s. No fighting involved. Later, George Washington did fight one battle about 8 miles upriver, where the Turtle Creek empties in to the Monongahela. He was then Aide-de-Camp to General Braddock who was killed there. George Washington did not become a General until the American Revolutionary War which kept him far away from a fort of any kind in what was then the country's interior. If this isn't convincing enough, consider that no matter what war or skirmish he was involved in, he never would have defended Fort Duquesne. Fort Duquesne was a French fort, and George Washington of Virginia, as an English subject, or an American, would have fought to protect Fort Pitt.

Page 34 is pretty early in the book. The book one just paid for and wants so badly to read - so one keeps on. Then comes some commentary on the pass that Lynn Swann caught in Super Bowl X. The one that everybody remembers, not only because it was a fantastic play, but because it's been immortalized by NFL Films, just like author Chastain says. Except that he's describing a different catch. He discusses also that very acrobatic, indelible catch, but speaks of it like just another play.

The remainder of the book is therefore suspect in its credibility. It becomes a nostalgia of the four Super Bowl seasons without enough on the league's rule changes to merit the subtitle: The Team That Changed the NFL.

Bill Chastain is not too bad of a writer, and somewhat hard working, but not hard enough. This book should be written by a Pittsburgher.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 2, 2016
Great book - Fast shipper!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2013
A must have for any Steelers fan. Rich in history and great information on the legendary players. Must have for Steelers fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2016
Thanks - Great Story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2007
Pretty good just for a relatively few pages. Covers it fairly well, but what would you expect for this price and number of pages. Would be nice to mention the 80s, since had same coach, were generally competitive. but not a major factor. Overall, a very good job. A lot of people, especially pittsburgh fans didn't live this, so its hard to describe just what it was really like. This does a pretty good job. Maybe some of the movies out there will also be good - haven't reviewed yet. BUT ,THEY WERE REALLY SOMETHING, let me assure you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 13, 2006
I loved this book. I have been a die hard Steeler fan for 40 years, so I remember all the bad times & good times. This book was very well written, & I even learned a few things I did not know. I would refer this book to all my friends I relatives.

Susan Pritt
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here