YED Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 STEM nav_sap_shop_all_hm_cal Shop now Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Go Explore Outdoor Recreation on Amazon NYNN

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$24.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews(5 star, Verified Purchases). Show all reviews
on April 13, 2015
Steven Universe is the single best show on American television. I'm glad people are finally starting to realize it. I can't put into words how amazing this show is. Just watch it. Series creator Rebecca Sugar is the greatest person ever.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
This is now 5 stars! It took a few weeks, but I am happy to see that all the episodes are now here for us to enjoy! This is a fantastic series made by an astounding woman! I think that everyone will enjoy this show, adults and children alike
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
Fantastic show all around. This is what cartoons should strive to be!

+ Great characters full of depth and emotion
+ Ongoing story line - great to see how what happens in one episode carries on to affect future episodes. EX: One character receives a scar from protecting her friends. Over the next two or three episodes, the scar is shown to be healing.
+ Fantastic art and music
+ Full of heart and lessons to be learned
+ Mature take on concepts such as same-sex relationships, death, parenthood
+ Funny and appropriate for all ages

Only con: Wishing each episode was a bit longer :)
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
I can't wait for the new episodes to completely ruin me :-)
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
Great characters with very different personalities that many can relate to. The mythology building around the alien crystal gems and Steven's friends and family continues to intrigue and impress!

I hope the writers keep it up.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
This show is one of the best cartoons I have had the distinct pleasure to enjoy. Despite the low tones of childhood this series deals with a lot of issues. Such as lose and the importance of innocence. Great show. Just... Just great.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
The storytelling is amazing, the character interactions are great, and the music is excellent. I cannot recommend this show enough. That said, Amazon goofed a little with the episode placement; Reformed is supposed to come between Love Letters and Sworn to the Sword. A change does happen in Reformed that is evident in the subsequent episodes, and Reformed was the last episode with the original opening, with every episode since using the new opening. That said, I'm not docking the season for an error Amazon made, as while it would have been preferable for it to be put up on the correct order, the episodes are still all there, and with just a little effort they can be watched as intended. And trust me, this show makes all the effort you put in so worth it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
Steven Universe starts off looking like a standard screwball cartoon with some superhero action thrown in, but it grows (by late in season 1) into a story of tremendous proportion. All the characters have strengths and weaknesses, and fascinating backstory, from the four main character "crystal gems" all the way down to the mailman, the mayor, the town's conspiracy theorist, and the nonverbal enemies that they battle. Your understanding of each one deepens over time as Steven gets to know them and as the characters grow.

This show seems to relish flipping gender stereotypes on its head. For example, it prominently features female warriors (of all body sizes and a variety of different strengths), while the men (especially Steven) tend to take more supportive roles (in family structure) or defensive roles (in battle).

The show also does throw in a number of nods to homosexuality, so if you prefer not to let your kids watch that, just be aware.

As for Amazon's delivery method: I loved that I could download episodes that I purchased onto my iPhone (using the Amazon Video app) ahead of time, for watching on flights or in other poor-network conditions! I also often watch on the website directly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2015
(Note: I've only bought a couple episodes on Amazon, but this review is for the series as a whole)

Steven Universe is such a sweet, genuine show. Watching it in release order is rewarding because the series introduces you slowly to a version of our Earth that's familiar but not quite the same, because of the presence of the Crystal Gems - rebel aliens who are the only survivors of a war fought thousands of years ago, who now do their best to protect the Earth. Meeting the gems - and Steven! - and learning about them through Steven's POV is great. Characters are generally kind and genuine, but with realistic flaws and emotional reactions.

The music is top notch. Character designs are nice, and the show as a whole is well animated. Really strong color schemes at play - I'm wicked impressed by the lighting in certain scenes. Certain elements of the show call back to 80's nostalgia, but the show is of infinitely better quality in terms of visuals when compared to most anything from that era. Voice acting is great.

I don't know, man, it's a kid's cartoon but it's super great and I enjoy it immensely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
Steven Universe is, hands down, the best show I've seen in ages. There are a lot of great shows on TV these days, both animated and live action, but Steven Universe stands apart.

In this third volume, Steven Universe continues to deliver what it has consistently given from the start of the show - a gorgeous world filled with people who, while often completely crazy (looking at you, Onion), still feel real and wonderful. Many side character's get a chance to shine in this box set - Sadie in particular gets a very heartfelt episode. The plot of the show is quietly thickening as well - the strange Peridot's appearance is explained by the end and promises to deliver some very interesting things in the future.

I would recommend this show to:
- Those who love cartoons and/or gorgeous art
- Those who enjoy shows that focus on developing characters as well as delivering overarching plot advances
- Those who enjoy shows in the genres of sci-fi/fantasy, slice of life, comedy, action, drama ... I give up, this show has a little something for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse