Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Fergie PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 79 reviews
on December 23, 2012
This is a true classic early rockumentary (or I suppose jazz-rockumentary). Younger kids of today may think everything was always shot in "reality" style, but it was not. That said, it is quite amazing how pretentious it is compared to something you'd expect to see today. Sting came up from a humble background to create a persona that developed into that of a modern day self made Prince or Lord of sorts and self proclaimed Champion of Worthy Causes. So why not have a vanity piece for your new project shot in a French chateau? Thankfully, his musical brilliance made this precious behavior tolerable and this video covers his arguably best solo album (his first), which was a very bold and brave departure from his starring role in the biggest band in the world just before this (The Police). It is fun to watch the powerhouse band develop songs during practice jams and the self importance of the between segment chatter (including Miles Copeland's frenetic rants, themselves worthy of a Spinal Tap style parody) is all forgiven as soon as Sting hits the stage and belts out fantastic versions of his songs in concert.

Any Sting fan must have this! I find the audio and video quality of the DVD to be excellent, and from looking at the reviews here, it doesn't seem like the Bluray version represents much of an improvement, so I am content. This is Sting at the height of his creativity and in a great period of discovery, something fans will watch again many times over the years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
This is a wonderful film plus concert that show a young Sting in perhaps the second phase of his career after The Police. It takes place in Paris where Sting introduces a new group of African-American musicians he's put together for this special film, achieving a new, unique sound.

For anyone who's followed Sting's career, this is an important look into his musical evolution. He sings many of his well know classics, but reinterpreted. And all are great.

There's lots of humor in this film/concert. And also included are several very personal segments with his wife Trudy Styler. But I don't want to give the best part of it away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2005
It is about time that this ground-breaking video finally made it to DVD, making it even more of an audio and video treasure. I can still remember the first time I saw the special on A & E almost 20 years ago. I had lost track of Sting and his wanderings after he had left the Police, and wasn't quite sure I wanted to find him anyway given the negative publicity (and my own disappointment) surrounding his departure from what is still regarded as one of the best rock groups of all time. Unsuspecting, while lounging on my back porch I flipped through the cable channels and stumbled onto the program as it had just begun. For the next 2 hours I became mesmerized.

The project was an unprecedented undertaking at the time, recording a band not only in live concert but through the whole process from inception to rehearsal to performance. The concept was as risky as it was revolutionary, especially for Sting who had everything to lose by not only gambling on a solo project, but by making this effort so accessible in such a unique manner to the viewing public. In its form and feature, it was also a prototype for what would become "reality" TV, long before there was such a category.

Beginning with location shots of the band in rehearsal at a French castle just outside Paris, we get an impressive portrait of Sting shaping a new musical ensemble: he lays out the rudimentary form of his original compositions, then brings them to life, gently but confidently directing his very talented charges, mostly accomplished African-American jazz players, through the complex arrangements, allowing for their contributions along the way. What becomes abundantly obvious, beyond his now-and-again reserve and arrogance, is Sting's finely-tuned sense of artistic expression, complemented by his technical knowledge of the medium. He knows what he wants and how to articulate it. In addition to the picture of music and musicians coming together, there are unpredictable and insightful interviews with Sting and other members of the band spliced strategically into the body of the video. Apted's editing is excellent in these instances and rather spectacular overall. At times he even synthesizes the scenes from the concert performance of a song with those at practice, the two segments pieced together as one without missing a note or beat. We also are provided usually unseen glimpses of the band's manager, Miles Copeland, ensuring that peace reigns among the musicians while securing the preparations and publicity for their debut. We are fortunately not subjected to tantrums, petty arguments or catty exchanges, so typical of today's reality TV content, but we do see banter among the members and several spontaneous moments. The camera also, perhaps dubiously, follows Trudy, Sting's wife, to the hospital where we witness her giving birth to their son Jake. The event actually occurred while this was being made, and it is still part of the footage.

The "Bring On the Night" video culminates in the live concert. Not surprisingly, despite playing unfamiliar music with an unorthodox mix of instrumentalists in front of an SRO French (that's non-English) audience in Paris, Sting brings the house down. The finished songs are both well-polished and exciting as is their performance, which is near flawless. He finishes the evening with an encore of a few selected Police songs, including "Message In a Bottle" which he sings alone on stage - while final credits roll. The show removed any lingering doubts in my mind, low those many years ago, that the lad from Newcastle is indeed a musical genius. Now in this digitized format, it sounds and looks better than ever and is as inspiring as it was two decades before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2005
...the best dvd-release of Sting (so far anyway) besides, of course, the fabolous and fan-dedicated "All This Time" from 2001. They share some similarities, the behind the stage/the performance-"mixed" footage, or easier said; we are invited to see parts of the rehearsal, parts of the show, and there are interviews with all the musicians with Sting in the lead. The main difference is; this whole consept behind the 1985-release (and tour) of the "Blue Turtles"-material was the big risk Sting was taking being a settled artist, but with this new sound, style and (not least) the musicians he'd hired things indeed could have ruined his reputation and carreer. As you very well know, it didn't! He recieved standing ovations from audiences all over, and became a hit also as a solo-artist. Me myself, well, being a Sting-fan mainly, and not of Police -let's just say that I'm not surprised. Sting is one, if not the one, of the most talented composers and performers (including the musician he has and still works with) in the world today, and this release is another proof of that. I am so happy "Bring On The Night" finally has been released in this format. The sound is superb, the picture too -so let's throw away the old tapes now and really enjoy this!

If you have a capable system, see it in DTS -the drum-opening on "If you love somebody...", it's like being there!

Sting somehow becomes, ironically, an "early" Eminem (not that I compare them at all, they far from share much of anything else, but) the fact that they were both the only white in their black groups and collegues, Eminem with rappers. Sting theming up with these talented jazz-musicians, and of course, this inspired his composings and performances. Not that it's jazz, actually it is hard to catogorize any of Stings' music. It's kind of "continental". But a lot of the improvisings naturally goes over into jazz. And in 1985 the band was facing a lot of shared opinions about their project. (like Eminem had to face until he convinced his audiences, and that's the similarity I find.) But this was before the final result. Sting convinced as well, and from here it has mostly been "going uphills" for my favorite artist.

Let me add to this that Stings' early influences take roots in jazz, and he was playing with jazz-musicians in the early days of his life. You can read about this in his biography "Broken Music". Recommended by the way!

"Bring On The Night" is very inspiring, and interesting that way. Sting is not the only reason for this, the interviews and opinions and presentation of the band is also "very new", and presents the project in a way I'd never thought of it before. You get respect for they opininons on the music business none of them see themselves as a part of, it's all about the performing and the love of the music. You realize this, and I especially enjoyed the interviews with Branford Marsalis. Also it is funny to see their unserious sides between the rehearsals, and the way they make fun of Sting in friendly ways.

This is the kind of release that makes you wish you could be the artist if just for a day, and it puts a smile on your face long before the credits start to roll.

Here's another reason why I am a fan!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2005
Finally, those of us who have waited for the better part of a decade will have the great satisfaction of seeing and hearing one of the best inside-view videos on DVD. This is a landmark video - a reality video before the genre took off- and a very telling effort that relates the drama that unfolds behind the curtain for one of the most influencial rock musicians of the last couple of decades. An all-star line-up that features some of the jazz world's greatest young lions of the time: Omar Hakim (drums), Kenny Kirkland (piano), Darryl Jones (bass) and the venerable Branford Marsalis (sax). A truly stellar band playing some of the most progressive music of the time. The cd features different versions of the songs from the video release, which, most people who have seen the video will agree, was one of the most heinous crimes in the history of soundtrack releases. Be sure to check out the blazing solos in many of the songs; Kenny Kirkland's solo in the title track, Omar Hakim's drum solo - which seems to disrupt the fabric of time and space - in "I Burn for You," and Branford's smoldering-to-full-on-scorching solos throughout.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
Honestly, is there anything Sting can't do and make it look so cool? Sting's first post Police project was a risk in 1986 and the result was amazing. Sting shows that he is not just a 1980's New Wave guy but a clever fellow with many ideas worth listening to. As with any artist, Sting is always testing himself and changing ideas of how he interprets old songs and newer material.
Sting fans will love this DVD as we see how he began to grow away from his Roxanne arrival to become the man who gave us the great "Desert Rose" and " If On a Winter's Night".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
Amazing and stunning clear view of a bunch of well gifted musicians. The picture transfer and sound quality (5.1 surround sound) are five stars. Another example of the smart, talent, confidence and brilliant genius of Sting. A must have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
I have owned this video on VHS for years! It is such a great video, I decided to upgrade to the DVD! The bonus features are exactly that: A bonus! This is one of the all-time best music documentaries, including lots of concert footage and complete song performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2017
I saw this band live, and later worked in a Philadelphia recording studio as a second engineer where Omar Hakim was playing drums on a session. I got to place mics on his drums while he was warming up. Too good...Unforgettable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2012
I had taped this off of Bravo or another channel back in the day, but have not watched it for years, especially since I haven't owned a VHS player since 1998 or thereabouts. It's as good or better than I remember, especially in our modern world of 5.1 sound. Definitely an interesting look into the making of an album and the controversial (at the time) change in direction for Sting. The person who decided that the credits should roll OVER Sting while he does a solo performance of Message In A Bottle during the encore should be locked in a room with one donut and Rosie O'Donnell. Seriously?? There's not enough space on this flipping DVD to roll the credits on a black screen?? You gotta do it over arguably the most iconic song in modern pop history? Good looking out, producers...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse