BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Stir Of Echoes
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 16, 2015
This is an excellent film for fans of horror and suspense. Kevin Bacon is terrific in his role as Tom Witzky, a regular joe who wants to be better than his normal "boring life" with his wife Maggie and his son Jake. Well, he certainly gets a life-changing event when his sister-in-law Lisa hypnotizes him at a party, opening a door in Tom's mind he was unaware of which leads to a series of visions and strange happenings involving a young girl who went missing from their Chicago neighborhood a few months before.

The film is a mystery entangled with a horror story and provides plenty of suspense and creepiness along the way as Bacon, Kathryn Erbe and Zachary David Cope provide exquisite performances as a family in serious jeopardy of being torn apart in the face of evil. The special features include a nice featurette where the actors, director and writer of the film-inspiring novel give their takes on this project which never fails to send shivers up the spine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2016
This movie is not scary, but it features two outstanding lead performances by Kathryn Erbe and Kevin Bacon. This performances are enabled by David Koepp's excellent dialogue. The first ten minutes of the movie focus on Bacon and Erbe sharing joy and concern over her unexpected pregnancy. Their comments and reactions seem very real, and they make very clear the stresses on working-class couples. You wouldn't expect this kind of writing in a horror picture. It's a welcome change.

The movie sags after its strong start and features a slew of horror movie clichés--séances, visions, and sudden loud noises. Critics say that similarities between The Sixth Sense and this movie are coincidental, but like me you'll probably wonder how much Koepp and Shamalyan might have stolen from each other. You will notice that Shamalayan had the stronger child actor, which may have resulted in The Sixth Sense's better box office success.

The movie picks up during its last half hour and features some very impressive plot twists that are completely unpredictable.

Expect a working-class drama that happens to have a ghost in it and you'll enjoy Stir of Echoes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2016
Well done supernatural crime thriller with great acting and an interesting mystery. I don't find this similar to the 6th sense at all. This is an original story with it's own vibe. The third act is thrilling and powerful as the wronged get their revenge and evil gets what's coming to them, satisfyingly. Recommended for fans of the supernatural. A great Prime included find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
Kevin Bacon leads a good cast in a working class neighborhood haunted house thriller. Not an eerie mansion or even a fancy NYC apartment building but ordinary folk who find strange things happening to them. It all starts when the little boy starts talking to somebody who isn't there. Soon the father joins in seeing things that aren't there and falling apart as a consequence.
The script is a tight one, the neighborhood atmosphere well done, the surprises are surprises, with the result that the viewer is carried along into ever more perplexing situations until a denouement which may or may not be a surprise. Hopefully, the viewer will not know in advance what is coming up.
One of the not so secret secrets of the success (as a movie, don't know about the box office) is the very ordinariness of the people involved as well as the setting. Don't find out what is coming to get the real impact.
Recommended for anyone who has a taste for a classy version of what is available in many a cheap movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2011
This movie is about a man living in Chicago (Kevin Bacon) whose psychic ability wakes up after a hypnosis session. I thought this movie was different because the psychic person was a man. More often than not we tend to associate psychics with women.

The story line about a murder mystery and what Kevin's character was experiencing (discovering his psychic ability late in life) was all very entertaining. I watch this movie from time to time and still enjoy it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2014
This film came out along with The Sixth sense and so I believe it got overlooked by many. This is a crime, because this film stands up and wins! The cast, the acting, the story, all great! Kevin Bacon becomes whoever he plays. So does Katherine Erbe, who, along with Illeana Douglas doesn't appear to age! I am NOT a film reviewer, so this 'review' may not help, but this is a very good film with excellent acting, atmosphere and story. Lastly, I have to say it: Illeana Douglas is an underrated actress who, in all the scenes she plays here, steals every scene she's in. I love her! You can't go wrong with this film and price!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Wasn't even aware of it until researching movies in Amazon prime. My husband and I stumbled upon this movie as we were desperately looking for something that to watch that we can both agree upon. Well, this sounded interesting and we are glad that we watched it. It sure kept us interested enough. Always liked Kevin Bacon, other cast members were great. Overall a great movie that's worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
One of the creepest movies I've ever seen in my life very underrated til this day I refuse to watch this film by myself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
Interesting movie.
But like other horror movies, people, especially the main characters, become dumber as the movie gets closer to the climax.
For instance, not calling the police out of "kindness" is really dumb.
Not running away from a bunch of unfriendly people, when you have the chance, is also dumb.
Still, considering all other horror movies, this one is above average.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2017
One of my favorite scary films. Great HD Transfer and great sound!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse