Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop now Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 199 reviews
on January 11, 2015
While this album is just a bit above average for STP, it's still one of the top rock albums of this decade. It has some great and memorable harmony, solid lyrics and amazing musicianship.
Dean's guitars on Take A Load Off and Huckleberry Crumble are novel and impressive. His slide guitar on Hickory Dichotomy and Maver are killer. The latter has beautiful melodic touch and the former has the fiery, open G barrage of slide licks. Bagman is so infectious. Its rhythm is a gas! Peacoat is a ball breaking rocker.
Bassist Robert is amazing as always, and he also wrote the music for Maver, Cinnamon and Between The Lines. The drumming is great, as always with Eric Kretz.
I would rank this record 4th in the group's canon, slightly above No.4, which is tough because there is no mega-hit like Sour Girl, but has more solid work overall. Plus I give it points for being a comeback record and the fabulous slide guitar.
I rank em this way: Purple, Tiny Music, Core, STP, No.4, Shangri La Dee Da.
review image
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2010
Although many tunes may have similarities to other artists, the album is truly one of a kind. People who complain that it may have been influenced by other artists should think about the other bands who have done the same. The Beatles even sounded a bit like their predecessors, and during their later years were influenced by the new bands of that era.

If you liked their later albums like Shangri-La Dee Da and No.4, you will definitely like this album. If you are looking for a lot of Core type stuff, you might be disappointed. This is a band that is growing musically. They are not going to put out songs and albums with sophomoric lyrics. Silverchair grew up, too.

Like all new albums from any artist, it may take a few listens to really get into it, so don't pass judgment until you listen to it for a while. There are, however, some tunes that are really catchy right away, one being Cinnamon.

By the way, I saw them in concert last month and they rocked.

UPDATE:
2.27.14
Seven dollars! This album is now seven dollars! Wtf! I paid over sixteen dollars when this thing came out. Who wants to be a musician these days? Not me. I'd rather be a plumber.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2016
I just read somewhere that Scott Weiland is dead to my shock and horror; what a talented vocalist and musician. Having said that, STP was not always consistent in their career but this last album they did was extremely well done. It doesn't really surpass their older stuff in my opinion but songs like "Between the Lines", "Cinammon", and "Bagman" show that they definitely haven't lost their greatness. In some ways it sounds like a grown up version of Core or Purple but like the majority of STP albums, there are some songs that you'll most likely forget or are good but they remind you of a better song that's on a better album. This was the last record from the band and that's a shame because Scott Weiland could've done alot more with these guys had they resolved their issues (it really surprises me that they replaced Scott with Chester Bennington of Linkin Park after this and still kept the STP name but bands break-up and re-form all the time case in point). While this isn't their best album, it's a reminder that STP and Scott Weiland were truly significant in the 90's and were still kicking it into the new millenium. RIP Scott.
How I would rank their albums: 1. Tiny Music, 2. Shangri La Dee Da (tied with Purple), 3. Core, 4. Number 4, 5. (this one)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Stone Temple pilots have never been able to please everyone. From their first album "Core" in 1992 when the critics bashed them (but the fans got it!) to their groundbreaking "Tiny Music.." and the style change, STP have been naturally progressing as a band.
I submit that this new record is an awesome next phase in their development as a band. Do I long for the harder edge sound from Core, Purple, and No. 4? Sure, I love the tunes from those cds. But at the same time it's not like I disliked Tiny Music... or Shangri-La Dee Da. Still there is something brave about the guys doing a 70s rock inspired record. It's bold. It's loud, and it's fresh.
Let's break it down:

Between the Lines (5/5) Excellent lead single from the record. Lyrics are meaningful if you know what kind of past Scott has had. Video is cool too.

Take a Load Off (5/5) Another fun 70s rock tune amd the second single. The chorus is jangly and poppy. By this time in the record you realize they are going to have a theme going...

Huckleberry Crumble (4/5) I can see Aerosmith writing this song. Has a dirty southern rock vibe. Excellent song.

Hickory Dichotomy (5/5) Another great bluesy rock tune. I agree with the other reviewer, could have easily been a single.

Dare If You Dare (3/5) A bit forgettable in my opinion. Not that it's bad or anything. Just a bit of a letdown after the first four tracks. Still a great chorus though.

Cinnamon (4/5) The third single off the record. People are split on this song, and rightfully so. On one hand it is a masterfully crafted sugary, poppy sounding song. Some people hate it, and would say this is why STP isn't very good anymore. I don't agree with that camp. While I don't normally like songs like this, it completely works. Sounds like a tune STP would have written if they had been a band in the 60s. And it's so darn catchy too! I give it two thumbs up myself.

Hazy Daze (5/5) Another dirty rock song in the vein of Huckleberry and Hickory. Love the sound of the guitar in this one. One of my favorite tracks on the album.

Bagman (4/5) It would surprise me if this song doesn't become a concert staple. I love the swagger in this song.

Peacoat (5/5) This song could easily have been a hard rocking song. The guitar riff that opens the song sounds so menacing. The chorus is a bit poppy, but I think it is a solid rock tune. Worth listening to 50 or more times.

Fast As I Can (3/5) One of the weakest tunes on the cd in my opinion. It's just a rock tune. Slightly boring even.

First Kiss On Mars (5/5) Love Weiland's vocals on this one. Another heavily inspired classic rock sounding song.

Maver (4/5) Solid song. Slower.

BONUS TRACKS from the deluxe edition:

Samba Nova (1/5) Ugh. I know why this song didn't make the regular edition of the album. In my opinion it might be the weakest song STP have ever made. Trippy sounding, and yet boring.

Vasoline - Live (5/5) I'm normally not a huge fan of live tracks. But it's such a good song, and the band sounds spot on. Good addition.

Hickory Dichotomy - Live (5/5) Being live only adds to how awesome this tune is!

Between the Lines - Live (5/5) They hit this song hard! Sounds great.

OVER ALL SCORE: 68/80. Pretty good. Definitely a 5 star cd. Don't listen to all the haters. They are the people who hate when a band evolves. And if you hate a band's sound evolving, it makes me wonder why you would be a Stone Temple Pilot fan anyway. Worth picking up.
For the next record I do hope they add a little more punch to it. But even if they made another just like this one, I would still love it. Good job guys. Thanks for the new album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
I will keep this short and not so sweet... This album by STP should have been an EP, as only a few songs have any real value to offer the listener. "Between The Lines" "Take A Load Off" "Hickory Dichotomy" and the obvious Aerosmith influenced "Huckleberry Crumble" are the only songs for me that warranted any real attention. The live bonus tracks were ok, but I think you would get better milage from a bootleg live recording from earlier in their career, but again, all of these songs would have worked better in my view as an EP release. I gave it three stars because it did spawn an STP tour which I was able to catch a show in Louisville Ky, and was also fortunate to see the band in good form. However, I think the next best move for this band is to move on...
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 1, 2010
It is so good to have these guys back together again...hope they can all keep it together. Scott Weiland, brothers Robert DeLeo & Dean DeLeo and Eric Kretz have put out some classic songs with STP since 1992. These classic songs can mostly be found interspersed among their first 3 releases going all the way back to Core.

Interestingly, none of STP's previous 5 releases--especially the latter two--No. 4 and Shangri-La Dee Da--could be called an album that has great songs from start to finish. With an average of 10+ songs per disk, STP typically would have between 1 and 5 songs that really stood out and made each disk worth the purchase. On this self titled 2010 release EVERY song is good. So in that respect shouldn't I have given this a 5-star 'classic' rating?

Well, no. The difference is that while every song on this disk is good where you don't feel the need to skip over any of the songs, there really aren't big standouts (you know, like Sex Type Thing, Vasoline or Trippin on a Hole in a Paper Heart). I mean, I am tremendously enjoying this disk, but I see a future where I will soon tire of it and perhaps not be compelled to keep any of the songs in my media player's random rotation.

The first 4 songs are very STP. When you hear these songs you'll say, "Wow, that is STP and they are back!" Like on many of STP's latter career tunes, you can hear The Beatles and Led Zep influences mixed in with STP's own unique sound on this disk. There are even three songs that sound like 3 separate generations of David Bowie sat in on...you'll know 'em when you hear 'em; I think that this is STP's first disk where the Bowie influence was so loud and clear.

But again...no big standouts. Why is that? Perhaps the missing element is the camaraderie that makes all great bands...well...great. In an interview on The Howard Stern Show during May 2010, the boys admitted that the album was not really recorded as a band...or should I say that Weiland recorded his vocals in sessions outside of where the band recorded their parts. That's not very "bandlike".

Overall, like I said, the entire disk is really good. If you're an STP fan you generally should be pretty happy and absolutely add this to your cart.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2010
What would it sound like if David Bowie, Aerosmith, Led Zepplin, and Peter Frampton all recorded an album together? Surprisingly enough, it might sound a lot like the 2010 self-titled Stone Temple Pilots album. More than half a decade after deciding to ultimately break up, STP is "back in the saddle" with a fresh take on their favorite 70's hard rock/glam rock influences. Stone Temple Pilots new sound is not only catchy, its more "hip" than ever.

So why does this album deserve 5 stars? Allow me to explain in a breakdown of all the songs(and bonus songs)from the Stone Temple Pilots album and Deluxe Edition...

"STONE TEMPLE PILOTS" ALBUM SONG BREAKDOWN:

1.BETWEEN the LINES- The First single off of STP's newest album. A 70's hard rock song with punchy guitar/bass riffs at a moderately fast tempo. A very Joe Perry-esque solo towards the ending.
5/5

2.TAKE a LOAD OFF- Another hard rocker set in the spirit of the 70's, only this time, in a slightly slower tempo. The vocals in this song are somewhat droney and overly sustained, as well as overly duplicated, giving the song an interesting trippy effect. The song makes social commentary on recent stresses, such as modern day media and the swine flu.
6/5

3.HUCKLEBERRY CRUMBLE- One of the best tracks on this album, if not THE best. A fast-paced, southern-blues rock, extravaganza. Its extremely evident that the Aerosmith song "Same Old Song and Dance" played a MAJOR influence during the writing of this song. This guitar riffs and vocals are extremely memorable, yet may border what constitutes the word "plagiarism".
6/5 (for having the cajones to practically copy an Aerosmith song and actually get away with it...so far)

4.HICKORY DICHOTOMY- Scott Weiland channels the great David Bowie with this instant 70's glam rock hit. This song features very choppy/ mechanical and repetitious guitar riffs for the verses. The riffs are extremely simple, yet effective. The chorus and guitar solo, however, sound as if they were perhaps taken from the pages of Jimmy Page or again, Joe Perry.
6/5

5.DARE IF YOU DARE- Plain and simple. This is an epic, 70's glam rock ballad. Musically, another Bowie inspired, instant hit. The vocals during the chorus sound very typical of the those heard in Queen or David Bowie songs. Think "Glide" from STP's album No. 4. Very catchy.
6/5

6.CINNAMON- Probably my least favorite track on this album. A very fluffy, very feminine 70's rock song. Imagine if Frampton's "Signed, Sealed, Delivered", Led Zepplin's "D'yer Maker" and David Bowie's "Rebel, Rebel" had a baby.
3/5

7.HAZY DAZE- A half-decently fast, 70's hard rocker that pays serious homage to the likes of Peter Framptom and a little band named Led Zepplin as well.
5/5

8.BAGMAN- A short, simplistic, glam rock song. Once again, Scott Weiland channels Bowie-inspired vocals and lyrics. Think of something, lets say, along the lines of Bowie's "Diamond Dogs" or "The Jean Genie"
5/5

9.PEACOAT- Another Bowie-esque glam rock song that, at the same time, sounds reminiscent of STP before they broke up. Probably my second favorite track on this album. A slower, moody rock song with hooks so catchy, they rival the Doors and Queen.
6/5

10.FAST as I CAN- Yet another great example of the synergy of STP's older sound combined with vintage 70's hard rock. A very fast, yet groovy song with the kind of catchy choruses and hooks you would expect to hear from the prolific Stone Temple Pilots of the 90's. Features an amazing guitar solo that once again, sounds as if it were taught by Jimmy Page or Joe Perry.
6/5

11.FIRST KISS on MARS- A glam rock song once again channeling Bowie. At times the guitar sounds a little like Led Zepplin, but during the verses is mostly just fast, repetitive and simple, like so many glam rock song verses.
5/5

12.MAVER- An easy-listening, slower, piano laden song. If there were anymore guitar in it, it might be mistaken for a country song. The guitar parts, vocals and overall tempo of the song remind me of a really old song called "The Weight" by a band named The Band, of all things.
4/5

BONUS TRACKS (Stone Temple Pilots DELUXE EDITION ONLY):

13.SAMBA NOVA (b-SIDE)- A b-side that easily could have been an a-side. A slower rock song, with lots of clean guitar chime and delay/reverb(think sitar) and trippy voice effects to really give you a sense of India meets rock psychedelia. It may have been a more interesting record had this song been swapped for possibly Maver or Cinnamon.
5/5

14.VASOLINE (Live from Chicago)- Exactly what is says. STP's beloved fan favorite from Purple, live. Probably not the best live version I've ever heard of this song, but definitely not bad.
4/5

15. HICKORY DICHOTOMY (Live from Chicago)- Again, not a bad live version of this song. Although, recently the band has got a lot better at preforming this song in concert.
4/5

16. BETWEEN the LINES (Live from Chicago) The same rule applies for this live song. There are better live versions out there. Go to an upcoming STP concert and you will see what I mean.
4/5

So there you are folks. STP melded some of the grooviest acts from the 70s, combined it with their own sound and made one of their most exciting and impressive records to date. My average score for the Stone Temple Pilots album technically falls somewhere between 4.5 and a 5.0 stars, but since Amazon only allows rating by whole numbers, I have rounded it up to 5 stars.

Is it worth getting the (Bonus Tracks) Deluxe Edition?

Well, the bottom line is yes and no. If you are a big STP fan then yes, you will want it. What major fan wouldn't want as many fancy STP extras as possible? Besides the 4 bonus tracks, the Deluxe Edition includes a booklet with extra artwork, a two-sided poster, and is all housed inside gold foil packaging.

If you are a newcomer to STP or just a casual fan, the answer will probably be "no" to getting the Deluxe Edition. All of the Deluxe Edition extras (as cool as they sound) probably won't mean a whole lot to you, besides costing you more money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
I'm very pleased with this release from STP. The last two albums had a few immature songs. This one's solid however.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
After owning and enjoying the rest of STP's collection, this album certainly delivered yet another collection of great songs.
I would say this album sounds most like Shangri-La Dee Da, but it has a sort of unique, laid back sound to it. It doesn't feel like there is much filler, and each song has a unique feel. I rarely skip tracks.
Out of this album, I enjoy Huckleberry Crumble, Hickory Dichotomy, Hazy Daze, and First Kiss on Mars. The sounds are mostly solid rock, with the last two tracks on the album being relatively softer, yet just as enjoyable.
Fans of STP will enjoy this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2010
Cuando los Stone Temple Pilots debutaron con Core (1992), la prensa musical los acusó de ser copias de Pearl Jam y Alice In Chains, pero gran parte del público los consideró como una de las mejores propuestas de toda aquella explosión musical noventera que se conoció como grunge. Con los años los STP demostraron que su música no obedecía a ninguna moda o circunstancia y que su amor por el rock clásico era el derrotero de su música. Ahora, después de nueve años del Shangri-La Dee Da (2001), los tenemos de vuelta con nuevo material discográfico, el sexto en su carrera, su álbum epónimo.

Stone Temple Pilots no es solo el típico álbum del retorno. Se llama así porque este cuarteto quiere convencerse (y convencernos) de que aún sigue siendo una banda de rock a pesar de su actual modus operandi: cuatro tipos que dejaron atrás sus riñas y que saben que la convivencia no es como antaño, ahora graban en estudios separados y cuando se juntan para los conciertos se muestran los avances de las nuevas canciones en los camerinos, en formato acústico. Este "juntos pero no revueltos" es mejor que andar en problemas. Sobre todo por Scott Weiland (cantante y letrista), cuya fuerte personalidad marcada por el abuso de la heroína (ahora ya rehabilitado) fue el principal obstáculo de que la banda alcanzará la estratósfera en sus mejores momentos. ¿Y funciona o no? ¿Convencen las nuevas canciones o se escuchan forzadas y sin la magia de antes?

Para empezar, la producción estuvo a cargo de los hermanos Robert y Dean Deleo (bajista y guitarrista). Por primera vez prescinden de los servicios del productor Brendan O'Brien. El resultado: muchas canciones hard rock deudoras del rock setentero ("Bagman", "Hazy Daze"), la sicodelia ("Hickory Dichotomy"), también algo de los 60's (la pegadiza "Cinnamon" o "Maver", que sabe a The Beatles con guitarra harrisoniana incluida), y otras de melodías más reposadas y con aires country ("First Kiss on Mars"), algunas mejor arregladas que otras.

Al no haber un productor que los "obligue" a estar juntos en el proceso creativo, las canciones se han construido de acuerdo a la buena voluntad y disposición de cada miembro, quizá la única manera de hacer que fluyan y suenen natural, pero que no ha impedido que algunas de ellas se parezcan a los proyectos alternativos que han tenido antes del reencuentro; por ejemplo "Take a Load Off" y "Huckleburry Crumble" recuerdan a Velvet Revolver (banda que tuvo Weiland con algunos ex Guns N' Roses) y muchos riffs dispersos en el disco nos llevan a Army Of One y Talk Show (combos que formaron los Deleo con el baterista Kretz). Estos proyectos en su momento gozaron de saludable actividad artística y comercial pero nunca convencieron del todo. Quizá Stone Temple Pilots también sirva para el drenaje de antiguos efluentes creativos y se convierta en el álbum bisagra de una banda que ha renacido para reivindicarse de un pasado víctima del "fuego amigo". Y si también ayuda a pagar las cuentas en casa, mucho mejor.
HENRY FLORES
([...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.99
$5.98
$8.63
$10.83

Need customer service? Click here