Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Today only: Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
Stories To Tell
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$12.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 16, 2017
How many copies of Stories To Tell have I purchased over the years? At least 5- very exciting to find and purchase here the definitive compact disc version!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2012
Flora Purim is a gift to us in the U S from Brazil. Orignal is an under statment, her delivery is strong and very poetic all at once. Flora's interpretation of now classic MPB tunes from Edu Lobo, Tom Jobim, Milton Nascimento and American 'Jazz' pieces are only to be heard. Add Airto's rythmic drive, a stellar band, even Carlos Santana on one song and you have a great piece of timeless music...enjoy!
T'omas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2008
This was Flora's second solo album, after "Butterfly Dreams." Where the first album had a more overtly jazz orientation (albeit with mostly electric piano and some funk), "Stories to Tell" shows Flora starting to spread her wings a bit and get away from both traditional jazz and the lighter sound of Return to Forever v.1, of which she was a part. With this album, I hear Flora starting to become more creative and original with the use of her voice, and bolder in her willingness to combine jazz, synthesizers, modern Brazilian pop, and rock/funk guitar into a truly new sound.

The problem is, this album doesn't get all the way there and feels transitional and hesitant to me. Her later albums for Milestone, such as "Open Your Eyes You Can Fly" and "That's What She Said" are truly where she found her place as a unique artist, in my opinion. More traditional jazz listeners would probably prefer "Butterfly Dreams" or Return to Forever's "Light As a Feather".

That said, the album is worth getting for those who've fallen under Flora's musical spell.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 4, 2016
Good, one of her bests.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 18, 2010
It's not her very best work (I'd have to give that nod to Open Your Eyes, and her two albums w/ Chick Corea) but it is a very good release indeed. Many fine tunes, with excellent support from top notch fusion/latin musicians. But it's Flora's remarkable and unique singing that makes it great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2015
Early 70's jazz vocalist.She's great and it's a great cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2015
One of the very best from Flora.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2012
IMHO this is Flora's finest effort. a great balance between her jazzier inclinations, her brazillian roots, her early involvement in fusion.... the backing band (w/ well placed guests) is also well balanced between the brillant and insistent drumming and percussion of Airto, the acoustic and electric keys of George Duke and Ron Carter's always spot on bass... to my ear, as Flora pursued a heavier 'fusion' sound on her later work her strengths as a singer were ill served.... the delicacy and baby breath, the risk taking and yearning all came to the fore on this recording.... there is a looseness to this recording that was never to return.... plus, she looks just great on that cover... a bodily position that somehow reflects the sensitive AND creative music within.... this IS THE PLACE TO START w/ Flora.... saw her and Airto at the Roxy in 77.... GREAT SHOW!!!!! curtain comes up slowly to double drum kit by Airto and Chester Thompson.... burnin' samba.... Raul De Souza on trombone.... and Jack Nicholson and Julie Christy sitting at the next table... great night....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 2, 2008
Great album. It doesn't hurt that it has Ron Carter on bass and Airto on drums. Flora will break your heart with "To Say Goodbye." This recording was originally released in 1974 and I have enjoyed it ever since. The arrangements feature a variety of colorful combinations, full of Brazilian percussion, flute arrangements, synthesizer, and a roaring trombone solo for tonal variety. This is group of friends playing together as if they've been with each other for years. Santana takes a blistering guitar solo on "Silver Sword." Plus, the performances are not over-produced. There's a wonderful feeling of spontaneity and in-the-moment playing that gives it a live-performance feel. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2001
I wish I could give this CD collection TEN stars. "Stories To Tell" is my favorite Flora Purim album, by far. Many claim "Butterfly Dreams" is her best but my favorite is "Stories To Tell". Flora was at the top of her career when this album was made and her work is simply outstanding....OUTSTANDING!! The cast of musicians on this CD will startle you. Absolutely the best Latin jazz musicians in the world played with her. I will leave you guessing as to who they are. (OK, just one hint, Carlos Santana does some of his best work ever on "Silver Sword".)

If you buy just one Flora Purim CD, this MUST be it. I repeat: THIS IS THE BEST FLORA ALBUM EVER MADE (in my humble opinion of course)!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here